Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 12, 2010, 01:26 AM   #1
techfreak85
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
The Megatron and its Fold Systems (The first step is admitting there is a problem)

So, as mentioned in the other thread, my i7 Hackintosh has been folding rather slowly. I seem to have my OC nice and stable (so far at least...*fingers crossed*) at 3.8ghz, but am still getting a TPF of 55 mins for a 6900 bigadv in OS X. Jav6454 said he was getting a little over 30 mins a frame. I booted in to Windows 7 on my machine and got similar results as him.
Of course, I don't wanna use Windows.
From what I have read, the Linux client is supposed to be the fastest client. Since I'm guessing the OS X client and the Linux client are not that different, I would be surprised that the OS X client would be slower than the Windows client.

So my question is whether the OS X client is really THAT much slower or do I have a problem? Is there something I can do to fix this? I really am wanting to help our team out!

Using the 6.29 OS X console client with
Code:
-bigadv -smp 8 -verbosity 9
Cpu is running full on all 8 threads, but only using a gig of ram. (What happened to 0.5 gig per core?)
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.

Last edited by techfreak85; Dec 12, 2010 at 01:35 AM. Reason: spelling... way past my bed time...
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2010, 10:43 AM   #2
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
well i can't comment on the OS X client vs. the windows client. but my gut feeling is that they shouldn't be that much different. but you say that you did try the windows client, and you did get below 40 min a frame?

the other to possibly discuss is your overclock. what motherboard do you have? what did you set your voltages to?
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2010, 12:00 PM   #3
techfreak85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
well i can't comment on the OS X client vs. the windows client. but my gut feeling is that they shouldn't be that much different. but you say that you did try the windows client, and you did get below 40 min a frame?
yes. 34 mins for a 2686 in Windows.(which is tougher than a 6900 no?).
Quote:
the other to possibly discuss is your overclock. what motherboard do you have? what did you set your voltages to?
I have a gigabyte ex58-ud5, and I think I'm at 1.28 vcore. I think my OC is fine, hence my fast frame times in Windows. I sounds like it might be a problem with either my OS X install or my client. Maybe I'll install OS X on another partition and see if i am still getting the same slow frame times.
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2010, 02:04 PM   #4
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
yes. 34 mins for a 2686 in Windows.(which is tougher than a 6900 no?).

I have a gigabyte ex58-ud5, and I think I'm at 1.28 vcore. I think my OC is fine, hence my fast frame times in Windows. I sounds like it might be a problem with either my OS X install or my client. Maybe I'll install OS X on another partition and see if i am still getting the same slow frame times.
well if the OC is fine, then we need to see what other people are getting with the OS X client
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2010, 06:30 PM   #5
techfreak85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Just noticed (and by noticed I mean I just decided to pay attention to it) a message when I run a unit that says
Code:
NOTE: Turning on dynamic load balancing
Turning on CPU affinity lock does not get rid of the message(read some where that it might). Could this be why I am folding so slow?
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2010, 09:16 PM   #6
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
Just noticed (and by noticed I mean I just decided to pay attention to it) a message when I run a unit that says
Code:
NOTE: Turning on dynamic load balancing
Turning on CPU affinity lock does not get rid of the message(read some where that it might). Could this be why I am folding so slow?
it's possible. i'm not sure. but you only get that message in OS X?
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2010, 04:26 PM   #7
techfreak85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
it's possible. i'm not sure. but you only get that message in OS X?
Just booted into Windows, and don't see it.
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2010, 04:33 PM   #8
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
Just booted into Windows, and don't see it.
Must be a OS X bug in the Folding handling client.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2010, 04:47 PM   #9
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
Just booted into Windows, and don't see it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
Must be a OS X bug in the Folding handling client.
hmm, it could be. i'm really not sure what to tell you.
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2010, 04:47 PM   #10
techfreak85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
I'm installing OS X on another partition and gonna try it there. If it is at full speed, I guess I'm gonna reinstall.
EDIT: Not seeing the load balancing message. Good sign? Will update with TPF in a little bit.
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.

Last edited by techfreak85; Dec 21, 2010 at 05:22 PM.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2010, 06:00 PM   #11
techfreak85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
On a fresh install....

...much better.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2010-12-21 at 3.54.46 PM.png
Views:	37
Size:	101.1 KB
ID:	264903  
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2010, 08:46 PM   #12
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
yes that is much better. glad you got it working
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad Mini: Confronting mortality and admitting rmini too small for me rajpatel iPad 62 Dec 17, 2013 11:58 AM
Step by step guide from SSD upgrade in 2010 15" MacBook Pro iChopSticks MacBook Pro 23 Feb 24, 2013 02:32 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC