Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 1, 2011, 03:42 PM   #1
betamax
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Since Sandy Bridge Imac's are coming on Tues, will a Mac Pro refresh soon follow?

So, I have been saving for a dual quad core MP since November. I had been foolishly squandering all of my free money on synthesizers, other instruments and scotch, when what i really needed was a new desktop for audio recording.

I am currently running a 2006 Macbook Pro (1st generation). Its on its last legs and I've needed a new computer for months, if not years.

I have been reading these forums trying to decide what to do when i finally had the money. everyone kept saying sandy bridge wouldnt be out until 2012 but here we are, less than 48 hours until the imac has it.

will the mac pro use the same architecture or will it require something different for an upgrade. if so, do you think the new MP will coincide with the lion release?

I desperately need a new computer but i dont want to squander it on a computer that will be out of date very soon. I have been at a recording standstill for months and its killing me
betamax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2011, 03:44 PM   #2
beto2k7
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ::1
Short answer: NO
__________________
2010 Mac Pro | 2 x 2.40 GHz| 24Gb RAM | 3x2TB RAID0 | GTX 570 | 27" ALCD |
iPad 2 16Gb wifi+3G |
iPhone 4S 32Gb Unlocked |
beto2k7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2011, 04:00 PM   #3
alust2013
macrumors 68040
 
alust2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the fence
No, the new MP will not likely be out until late this summer at the earliest. If you need a new computer, the current models are very powerful, and will be viable for many years, so it wouldn't be a terrible idea to buy now. As far as the being out of date bit, tech is out of date the second you open the box, that's just how it works.
__________________
a computer with some GHz and a few GB, some stuff to play music.
-witty comment here-
alust2013 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2011, 04:22 PM   #4
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
The simple answer is No, as already mentioned.

The reason for this, is that SB parts are split over 3 different sockets. The currently available parts, are LGA1155 parts, which is the consumer/mobile socket. The others, LGA1356 and LGA2011, are enterprise, and aren't due to ship until Q4 of this year (seems all have been shifted to Q4 from what I'm seeing). System vendors also need time to manufacture the systems once they get the chips (and hopefully do some final validation testing on the finished product) before they ship them out for sales.

So realistically, March 2012 is the earliest we could expect an SB based MP, and it may take longer than that (did with the Nehalem based MP's, as Apple was ~ one quarter behind Dell and HP).
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2011, 04:36 PM   #5
saulinpa
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
So does that mean that the only option Apple has for a mac pro refresh is a speed bump?
saulinpa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2011, 04:44 PM   #6
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by saulinpa View Post
So does that mean that the only option Apple has for a mac pro refresh is a speed bump?
That's possible (i.e. offer newer CPU's), but it's more likely IMO that they'll wait for the SB based Xeons to release.
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2011, 05:46 PM   #7
Garamond
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
I have to say I'm a bit perplexed about how many threads there are about this exact question - and now I'm only talking about page 1.

How difficult is it to use the search function or just read through the thread titles?
__________________
MacPro 5,1: 12 x 2.93 GHz / 64 GB RAM / ATI 5870 / 5 x 2TB (internal) / ACD 30" + 20"
Garamond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2011, 08:00 PM   #8
betamax
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
thanks guys. i kinda had a gut feeling that this was going to be the answer. i was just confused about the imac update
betamax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2011, 09:45 PM   #9
superpalmtree
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Dakota
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garamond View Post
I have to say I'm a bit perplexed about how many threads there are about this exact question - and now I'm only talking about page 1.

How difficult is it to use the search function or just read through the thread titles?
I'm perplexed at why you took the time to respond to this. Very perplexed.
__________________
rMBP 15" 2.3 i7, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD
iMac 27 (i7 3.4, 16GB RAM, OCZ V3)
iPad 2 16GB White / iPad 2 32GB Black
iPhone 4 White
superpalmtree is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2011, 06:40 PM   #10
ekwipt
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
No but the top end imac will out perform most macpros anyway
ekwipt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2011, 07:06 PM   #11
jetjaguar
macrumors 68000
 
jetjaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: new jersey
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8G4 Safari/6533.18.5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ekwipt
No but the top end imac will out perform most macpros anyway
Which makes me sad
__________________
Bunch of Apple products
jetjaguar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2011, 07:45 PM   #12
beto2k7
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ::1
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekwipt View Post
No but the top end imac will out perform most macpros anyway
What? no.
__________________
2010 Mac Pro | 2 x 2.40 GHz| 24Gb RAM | 3x2TB RAID0 | GTX 570 | 27" ALCD |
iPad 2 16Gb wifi+3G |
iPhone 4S 32Gb Unlocked |
beto2k7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2011, 07:50 PM   #13
CrAkD
macrumors 68030
 
CrAkD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Boston, MA
just get an imac for audio recording thats what im doing. if the MBPs are any indication of how powerful sandybridge is its very possible the top of the line imac will blow the currrent entry level MP out of the water. if youve been using a laptop up until now it will still feel like night and day.
__________________
iPhone 5S 64GB Macbook Air TV iPad Mini Retina 16gb LTE Hackintosh i7 920
CrAkD is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2011, 07:55 PM   #14
JeepGuy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Barrie
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garamond View Post
I have to say I'm a bit perplexed about how many threads there are about this exact question - and now I'm only talking about page 1.

How difficult is it to use the search function or just read through the thread titles?
There are a lot of newbies/switchers signing up, and they may not know all the ins and outs yet, the OP just signed up.
__________________
home - 2008 iMac 24" (2.8 4gb), 2010 mac pro (quad 2.8 16gb), 2009 13" macbook pro (2.53 8gb), iPad 2 (64gb 3g) - work 2010 mac pro (hex 32gb) nVidia quadro 4000
JeepGuy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2011, 07:58 PM   #15
neilhu
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
The truth is, no one here knows anything - everything you read is based on personal opinion or supposition.
Will the Mac Pro see a refresh before Sandy Bridge?

Possibly - Thunderbolt, graphics card, Westmere processor refresh.
Would Apple has signed a 1 year exclusive with Intel for Thunderbolt (admittedly, they did help develop it), only not to use it on all their products?

Possibly not - any change/refresh demands 100's hours of qualification, supply change changes, etc. Would Apple do this for a product that sells smaller numbers (note: I didn't say lowest) than the rest of it's product?

As noted at the top - this is my personal opinion and not rooted in fact.
neilhu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2011, 08:02 PM   #16
0815
macrumors 65816
 
0815's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: here and there
http://buyersguide.macrumors.com/
__________________
sent from my computer
0815 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2011, 08:03 PM   #17
JeepGuy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Barrie
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekwipt View Post
No but the top end imac will out perform most macpros anyway
Quote:
Originally Posted by from JFK
Theoretical physics can prove an elephant can hang from a cliff with his tail tied to a daisy.
When you can put a pro level graphics card in an iMac maybe I will believe it.
__________________
home - 2008 iMac 24" (2.8 4gb), 2010 mac pro (quad 2.8 16gb), 2009 13" macbook pro (2.53 8gb), iPad 2 (64gb 3g) - work 2010 mac pro (hex 32gb) nVidia quadro 4000
JeepGuy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2011, 11:26 PM   #18
betamax
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekwipt View Post
No but the top end imac will out perform most macpros anyway
HA! not for what i need it to do. I need a Separate boot drive, record drive, and sample drive. I dont feel like doing that externally either
betamax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2011, 11:56 PM   #19
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
But the only thing that matters is GEEKBENCH! C'mon. I fully expect it to rub shoulders with the 3.33GHz hex. It will not beat a recent Dual socket Mac Pro at the Geekbench. It has already been seen with i7-2600 hackintoshes. That's the best chip you could hope for. And iMac will still suck at graphics. So I forget my point.
Audio will be great if you use an Mbox or similar trash and alternate your busses for sample libraries. But expandability is not there. Once you throw an interface on a USB or FW bus it's terminated unless you record with 256+ samples and 20ms delay's, then by all means put a HDD on the bus. With the pro you can of course separate and add busses via PCI. That's just me tho. It'll be fast but it wont be pro (no pun).
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333

Last edited by derbothaus; May 3, 2011 at 12:02 AM.
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2011, 03:21 AM   #20
ekwipt
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by betamax View Post
HA! not for what i need it to do. I need a Separate boot drive, record drive, and sample drive. I don't feel like doing that externally either
For sheer processing power the iMac Intel Core i7 2600 will beat most if not all the quads and get pretty close to the 6 core. Even the low end 12 Cores will have similar performance.

That's a lot of bang for buck, I'm guessing you use audio programs, so do I (AbletonLive, Logic Pro 9, Numerology, Maschine). I have a 2008 MacPro and love it, but the new iMacs are looking very promising.

Imagine this setup:

iMac with SSD
Firewire/USB soundcard
UAD Satellite
Thunderbolt Storage solution

There's no reason to have sample and recording drives separate on Thunderbolt (There's not much point anyway unless you're multi-tracking a massive band), audio doesn't take up that much bandwidth.

Logic, Cubase, ableton Live will eat this thing up, it will be beautiful.

If you need internal cards, you'll buy a MacPro in the future otherwise, the iMac is looking like a great option, especially for audio.
ekwipt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2011, 04:43 AM   #21
iamthedudeman
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekwipt View Post
For sheer processing power the iMac Intel Core i7 2600 will beat most if not all the quads and get pretty close to the 6 core. Even the low end 12 Cores will have similar performance.

That's a lot of bang for buck, I'm guessing you use audio programs, so do I (AbletonLive, Logic Pro 9, Numerology, Maschine). I have a 2008 MacPro and love it, but the new iMacs are looking very promising.

Imagine this setup:

iMac with SSD
Firewire/USB soundcard
UAD Satellite
Thunderbolt Storage solution

There's no reason to have sample and recording drives separate on Thunderbolt (There's not much point anyway unless you're multi-tracking a massive band), audio doesn't take up that much bandwidth.

Logic, Cubase, ableton Live will eat this thing up, it will be beautiful.

If you need internal cards, you'll buy a MacPro in the future otherwise, the iMac is looking like a great option, especially for audio.

I own both. They are good and the new ones are(will)be great, but expandability alone is good enough reason to buy a Mac Pro over any imac even a sandybridge.

Here is a good indicaton of performance. The six cores still rule, 12 forget it.

http://www.cpubenchmark.net/high_end_cpus.html

SSD, Sata 3, SSD, better GPU and the list goes on. We shall see.
iamthedudeman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2011, 09:57 AM   #22
Concorde Rules
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamthedudeman View Post
I own both. They are good and the new ones are(will)be great, but expandability alone is good enough reason to buy a Mac Pro over any imac even a sandybridge.

Here is a good indicaton of performance. The six cores still rule, 12 forget it.

http://www.cpubenchmark.net/high_end_cpus.html

SSD, Sata 3, SSD, better GPU and the list goes on. We shall see.
That website is rubbish.

At no point what so ever is a W3520 13% slower than a Core i7 920. It's the same CPU bar ECC ffs.

Given that fact the rest of the data could be rubbish as well.

Take that site a pinch of salt, personally.


Tom's Hardware - Benchmark Video Editing: Adobe After Effects CS5

2600K beats all the quad core CPUs in the Intel lineup and gets very close to the 6-core, and in some cases, beating that as well thanks to clock for clock improvements.

Intel need to release the Sandy Bridge-E chips ASAP, as this is silly!

250 chip beating 500+ chips is ridiculous, especially for a year!
Concorde Rules is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2011, 10:42 AM   #23
mrblack927
macrumors 6502a
 
mrblack927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0815 View Post
It says "Don't Buy - Updates soon". Then why all the speculation that it's still a whole year off?
mrblack927 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2011, 10:49 AM   #24
sjordan
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrblack927 View Post
It says "Don't Buy - Updates soon". Then why all the speculation that it's still a whole year off?
Most people here are going by Intel's roadmap which puts the new Xeon's to Q4. With that thought people here are speculating that the Mac Pro will not be updated until q4 or q1 2012.

Unless Intel gives Apple a 2-3 months advantage of releasing the chips early to them I don't see the Mac Pro's getting updated before q4. Apple does have Thunderbolt way earlier then anyone else....heck I don't think you can get it for anything else....something to think about but very unlikely.
sjordan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2011, 10:50 AM   #25
Transporteur
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrblack927 View Post
It says "Don't Buy - Updates soon". Then why all the speculation that it's still a whole year off?
Did you even read this thread? Given your message, I suppose not. Read at least post #4. That should clear things up.
Transporteur is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2012 sandy bridge MacBook Pro upgrade to retina worth it? jjahshik32 MacBook Pro 2 Mar 27, 2013 09:16 AM
Ivy Bridge E alot like Sandy Bridge E deconstruct60 Mac Pro 18 Nov 5, 2012 12:28 PM
Ivy Bridge v/s Sandy Bridge & why Apple might skip Ivy for iMac ? mjoshi123 iMac 6 Sep 15, 2012 11:27 AM
Ivy Bridge vrs Sandy Bridge macbook pro smeeg128 MacBook Pro 5 Jul 6, 2012 12:58 AM
2.8 i7 2011 (Sandy Bridge) or 2.5 i5 (2012) Ivy Bridge Trvlngnrs MacBook Pro 6 Jun 29, 2012 08:55 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC