Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 14, 2011, 07:40 AM   #76
schneiderinho
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
I wrote a german Guide on how to add the SSD to an 2011 iMac 27". Whoever needs a german guide or just needs some more picutres feel free to visit:

HWLuxx: Nachrüsten einer SSD in einem 2011 iMac 27"
schneiderinho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 10:21 AM   #77
zephonic
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: LA
Wow, so OWC really dropped the ball on this one huh?

Hope they rectify that.
zephonic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 11:01 AM   #78
pcguru83
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Seems Hardmac.com has figured it out:

http://www.hardmac.com/news/2011/05/...-the-2011-imac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardmac.com


It is the solution provided by Apple on the models coming with an SSD: short-circuit pins 2 and 7 on the power supply cable.

Here is also an explanation of the reasons that pushed Apple to introduce that system in the 2009 iMac. As we sais earlier, the iMac checks very often the temperature of the hard drive. If it was doing so with the SMART system, it would shrink the disk bandwidth and would freeze the disk for a very short time at every check.
Therefore Apple decided to do it with an Out of Bandwidth system, outside of the data channels of the disks. At first the company used connectors added to most hard drives and used for programming and testing the disk. That solution had one drawback as each manufacturer had its own connector. The 2011 model uses a new system. All the information now goes through pin 11 of the power supply connector, which is normally used to light-up a LED during disk activity. In prodder to change the use of that pin, a specific firmware was needed, which explains the reason that only disks sold by Apple in the iMac don't have any problem.
OWC has also posted a follow-up post, but it still doesn't address this discovery from Hardmac.com:

http://blog.macsales.com/10206-furth...ons#more-10206
__________________
2011 27" iMac, 3.1 Ghz Quad i5, 16GB RAM
Black iPhone 5 32GB
Black iPad Mini 16GB
pcguru83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 12:17 PM   #79
Alkohol
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hecro View Post
I'm gonna put in the same OCZ Vertex 3 SSD as you. Is it an easy install?
Im gonna follow the ChargedPC guide:
http://blog.chargedpc.com/2011/05/20...all-guide.html

As I can see I just need to do the first 3 steps and then I have access to the internal HD. Can I just then swap it out directly without touching the logicboard?
No you wont have to do anything with the motherboard. Just remove the two screws holding the harddrive, then you use the 3,5" adaptor for the Vertex 3. Unfortunately the adaptor isnt long enough, so you wont be able to use both scews thats holding the harddrive when youre mounting the ssd, but thats fine, just put some tape around the ssd/its adaptor and the metalpiece that was mounted on the original HDD.
Hope my explanation was good enough.
Good luck!
Alkohol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 03:33 PM   #80
Hecro
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denmark
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alkohol View Post
No you wont have to do anything with the motherboard. Just remove the two screws holding the harddrive, then you use the 3,5" adaptor for the Vertex 3. Unfortunately the adaptor isnt long enough, so you wont be able to use both scews thats holding the harddrive when youre mounting the ssd, but thats fine, just put some tape around the ssd/its adaptor and the metalpiece that was mounted on the original HDD.
Hope my explanation was good enough.
Good luck!
Thank you!
I will be upgrading my iMac with SSD during the next week. If I experience any fan issues, I will just use the software method (HDDFanControl).
__________________
iMac 27" (Early 2011): Intel i7 3,4Ghz, 12GB DDR3 1333Mhz, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD, 750GB WD Black Scorpio FW800 & AMD Radeon HD 6970M 2GB
Hecro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 08:06 PM   #81
ecstacy2012
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
I wanted to know if anyone that has gotten the imac 27 inch 2011 model has gotten the sdd and hdd and then tried to replace both with ssd's such as sata III and another question, did they try to software raid them?
ecstacy2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 10:28 PM   #82
Dresevski
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minnesnowda
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecstacy2012 View Post
I wanted to know if anyone that has gotten the imac 27 inch 2011 model has gotten the sdd and hdd and then tried to replace both with ssd's such as sata III and another question, did they try to software raid them?
Apple hasn't shipped the iMacs with BTO SSD's yet...should happen in a month
__________________
13" MBA, 1.7Ghz, 4GB RAM - mid 2011
27" iMac, 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, 120GB Vertex 3, 2TB Seagate HDD - mid 2011
Dresevski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2011, 10:26 PM   #83
ecstacy2012
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
yea either way, is it possible to do it with no ssd shipped ones and has anyone tried it?
ecstacy2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 02:07 AM   #84
Frostywinter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I just finished installing a 240Gig Vertex 3 SSD and also upgraded the factory 1TB WD Black Hard Drive to a 2TB WD Black Hard Drive in may brand new 27" i7 2011 iMac.
Took about 2 1/2 hours to get it all in place.

Just reinstalling OSX now and so far so good..

Frosty
Australia
Frostywinter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 02:41 AM   #85
tsugaru
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Edmonton
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frostywinter View Post
I just finished installing a 240Gig Vertex 3 SSD and also upgraded the factory 1TB WD Black Hard Drive to a 2TB WD Black Hard Drive in may brand new 27" i7 2011 iMac.
Took about 2 1/2 hours to get it all in place.

Just reinstalling OSX now and so far so good..

Frosty
Australia
Sounds good. Let us know what the outcome is, besides the ludicrous speed.
Hope the fans don't go Mirror Drive Door G4 on you (ie. go stonking full speed.)
__________________
27" iMac i7 3.4GHz - 16GB - Crucial 512GB M4 + 1TB WD HD - 2GB 6970M
15" MacBook Pro 2.3GHz - 8GB - Crucial 256GB M4 + 750GB WD HD - 1GB 6750M
tsugaru is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 02:46 AM   #86
maxinc
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsugaru View Post
Sounds good. Let us know what the outcome is, besides the ludicrous speed.
Hope the fans don't go Mirror Drive Door G4 on you (ie. go stonking full speed.)
The fans will not go full speed BUT the hdd fan now will not react to HDD temperature increase as the mac now thinks is an SSD and doesn't need cooling.

I highly recommend keeping an eye on the temperature and install HDD Fan Control to be on the safe side.
maxinc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 03:21 AM   #87
tsugaru
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Edmonton
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxinc View Post
The fans will not go full speed BUT the hdd fan now will not react to HDD temperature increase as the mac now thinks is an SSD and doesn't need cooling.

I highly recommend keeping an eye on the temperature and install HDD Fan Control to be on the safe side.
At least they got that right. No moving parts = not as much heat generated by the SSD = no need to ramp up a fan to cool it.
__________________
27" iMac i7 3.4GHz - 16GB - Crucial 512GB M4 + 1TB WD HD - 2GB 6970M
15" MacBook Pro 2.3GHz - 8GB - Crucial 256GB M4 + 750GB WD HD - 1GB 6750M
tsugaru is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 03:24 AM   #88
maxinc
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsugaru View Post
At least they got that right. No moving parts = not as much heat generated by the SSD = no need to ramp up a fan to cool it.
This happens when you use a y-splitter SATA power cable and pin #11 gets grounded, effectively neutralising the thermal sensor as described above.
maxinc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 03:41 AM   #89
tsugaru
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Edmonton
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxinc View Post
This happens when you use a y-splitter SATA power cable and pin #11 gets grounded, effectively neutralising the thermal sensor as described above.
Didn't Hardmac say something about if you did that, the Mac would report the drive bay as empty, even though it is populated?
__________________
27" iMac i7 3.4GHz - 16GB - Crucial 512GB M4 + 1TB WD HD - 2GB 6970M
15" MacBook Pro 2.3GHz - 8GB - Crucial 256GB M4 + 750GB WD HD - 1GB 6750M
tsugaru is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 03:54 AM   #90
maxinc
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsugaru View Post
Didn't Hardmac say something about if you did that, the Mac would report the drive bay as empty, even though it is populated?
Yes, it says on post #78 I think. Not sure if it reports the bay empty since it clearly has and uses a drive in the bay but rather ignores the temperature signal and keeps the fan at low speed as it would do with a SSD.
maxinc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 03:59 AM   #91
clyde2801
macrumors 601
 
clyde2801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the land of no hills and red dirt.
Sorry to be dense....so it is possible to add a SSD without the fans ramping full up, or not?
__________________
I've found that the sanest question I can ask myself is 'Am I going crazy?' --Jack Robbins
2012 base 15" rMBP, 2012 base 11" MBA, late 2011 2.4 i7 17" MBP, 16 gb ram, Crucial M4 512gb SSD
clyde2801 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 04:00 AM   #92
maxinc
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by clyde2801 View Post
Sorry to be dense....so it is possible to add a SSD without the fans ramping full up, or not?
Yes.
maxinc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 04:04 AM   #93
clyde2801
macrumors 601
 
clyde2801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the land of no hills and red dirt.
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxinc View Post
Yes.
Cool, thanks for answering. 3rd party shop said it can do the upgrade without violating any applecare and have it installed within 24 hrs for roughly $100.00. What's the consensus about which SSD...OWC mercury extreme, OCZ Vertex 3 or the new Intel sata 3?
__________________
I've found that the sanest question I can ask myself is 'Am I going crazy?' --Jack Robbins
2012 base 15" rMBP, 2012 base 11" MBA, late 2011 2.4 i7 17" MBP, 16 gb ram, Crucial M4 512gb SSD
clyde2801 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 04:08 AM   #94
maxinc
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by clyde2801 View Post
Cool, thanks for answering. 3rd party shop said it can do the upgrade without violating any applecare and have it installed within 24 hrs for roughly $100.00. What's the consensus about which SSD...OWC mercury extreme, OCZ Vertex 3 or the new Intel sata 3?
Someone had a speed issue with the Intel SSD and then swapped it to Vertex 3. I also use the Vertex 3 and some other users confirmed it too so I guess that is a popular choice now. I haven't heard any reports for the OWC ssd yet.

The are all new models so not many reports about their reliability but so far so good.
maxinc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 05:07 AM   #95
iSayuSay
macrumors 68030
 
iSayuSay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Honestly, I dont have the guts nor patience to rip apart iMac to install third party SSD inside, i might end up having my iMac broken and cant put things together back as it was. I really want SSD, but on smaller capacity (128Gb) since the price quite reasonable rather than 256Gb Apple offered.

But, does AASP (Authorized Apple Service Provider) willing to install third party SSD for my iMac? How much would it cost including installation fee? I donīt want to spend $600 for additional 256Gb SSD from Apple, they just cost too much, not overpriced ... but really, I dont want to spend that money for SSD only.

Any information regarding SSD (especially 128Gb) installation on AASP?
iSayuSay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 05:22 AM   #96
maxinc
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSayuSay View Post
Any information regarding SSD (especially 128Gb) installation on AASP?
Probably best to call your local AASP and ask them directly. Most likely they won't have the Apple SSDs since nobody has them yet so they may be able to add a 120GB SSD of your choice and charge you some labor. As far as compatibility goes, there are absolutely no issues installing an non-apple SSD into your iMac in addition to the original HDD.
maxinc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 06:07 AM   #97
clyde2801
macrumors 601
 
clyde2801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the land of no hills and red dirt.
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSayuSay View Post
Honestly, I dont have the guts nor patience to rip apart iMac to install third party SSD inside, i might end up having my iMac broken and cant put things together back as it was. I really want SSD, but on smaller capacity (128Gb) since the price quite reasonable rather than 256Gb Apple offered.

But, does AASP (Authorized Apple Service Provider) willing to install third party SSD for my iMac? How much would it cost including installation fee? I donīt want to spend $600 for additional 256Gb SSD from Apple, they just cost too much, not overpriced ... but really, I dont want to spend that money for SSD only.

Any information regarding SSD (especially 128Gb) installation on AASP?
Really, it's the local AASP's that can answer your question. My closest one (been doing it for years) will charge somewhere between $85-100 for the installation, and will continue to honor applecare. Best of all, he states he can have it done roughly by the next business day. Suh-weet!

Just wondering what kind of SSD apple will be installing? It would have to be sata 3, wouldn't it? Considering the ocz's and the OWC Mercury Extreme's are roughly $500, $600 to add a drive through apple wouldn't be outright rape if the drive was comparable or even decent.

Will the new intel chipset on the 11 iMacs allow the ssd and hdd to act together as a big honkin' hybrid drive?

If not, does anyone know of a good guide of how to configure your OS and apps to take full advantage of such a combo?
__________________
I've found that the sanest question I can ask myself is 'Am I going crazy?' --Jack Robbins
2012 base 15" rMBP, 2012 base 11" MBA, late 2011 2.4 i7 17" MBP, 16 gb ram, Crucial M4 512gb SSD
clyde2801 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 06:11 AM   #98
tsugaru
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Edmonton
Quote:
Originally Posted by clyde2801 View Post
Really, it's the local AASP's that can answer your question. My closest one (been doing it for years) will charge somewhere between $85-100 for the installation, and will continue to honor applecare. Best of all, he states he can have it done roughly by the next business day. Suh-weet!

Just wondering what kind of SSD apple will be installing? It would have to be sata 3, wouldn't it? Considering the ocz's and the OWC Mercury Extreme's are roughly $500, $600 to add a drive through apple wouldn't be outright rape if the drive was comparable or even decent.

Will the new intel chipset on the 11 iMacs allow the ssd and hdd to act together as a big honkin' hybrid drive?

If not, does anyone know of a good guide of how to configure your OS and apps to take full advantage of such a combo?
Z68 caching is only good in Windows via Intel Rapid Storage 10.5. Apple could make their own implementation, but I don't see it happening like that yet.

Not all new SSDs are SATA 6Gb/s though. The new Intel 310 series is SATA 3Gb/s. Hopefully they put a 6Gb/s SSD in. Who knows til someone gets one (and posts.)
__________________
27" iMac i7 3.4GHz - 16GB - Crucial 512GB M4 + 1TB WD HD - 2GB 6970M
15" MacBook Pro 2.3GHz - 8GB - Crucial 256GB M4 + 750GB WD HD - 1GB 6750M
tsugaru is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 06:32 AM   #99
iSayuSay
macrumors 68030
 
iSayuSay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxinc View Post
Probably best to call your local AASP and ask them directly. Most likely they won't have the Apple SSDs since nobody has them yet so they may be able to add a 120GB SSD of your choice and charge you some labor. As far as compatibility goes, there are absolutely no issues installing an non-apple SSD into your iMac in addition to the original HDD.
Quote:
Originally Posted by clyde2801 View Post
Really, it's the local AASP's that can answer your question. My closest one (been doing it for years) will charge somewhere between $85-100 for the installation, and will continue to honor applecare. Best of all, he states he can have it done roughly by the next business day. Suh-weet!
Thank you .. I was just trying to find a price reference and comparison about additional fees (labor, tools, cables etc). I want to go with 120Gb SSD, We donīt lose SuperDrive by installing SSD along with stock HDD, right? Itīs 27Ļ iMac iīm talking about
iSayuSay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 06:39 AM   #100
clyde2801
macrumors 601
 
clyde2801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the land of no hills and red dirt.
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSayuSay View Post
Thank you .. I was just trying to find a price reference and comparison about additional fees (labor, tools, cables etc). I want to go with 120Gb SSD, We donīt lose SuperDrive by installing SSD along with stock HDD, right? Itīs 27Ļ iMac iīm talking about
Nope. I think (been reading so many guides in the last couple of days on this that I'm about to go crosseyed and insane) it's mounted beneath the SD. Think I'd much rather spend a benjamin rather than spend a good chunk of a weekend squinting and swearing during a DIY.
__________________
I've found that the sanest question I can ask myself is 'Am I going crazy?' --Jack Robbins
2012 base 15" rMBP, 2012 base 11" MBA, late 2011 2.4 i7 17" MBP, 16 gb ram, Crucial M4 512gb SSD
clyde2801 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cable for SSD+HDD in 2011 21.5'' iMac Flipz iMac 2 Sep 29, 2013 03:47 AM
Add SSD to 2011 27 inch iMac. Advice please. ElCani iMac 7 Feb 6, 2013 10:36 AM
27" 2011 iMac - Replacing HDD for SSD naz-dream-boys iMac 7 Jan 31, 2013 11:06 PM
2011 imac ssd with external HDD or 2012 with internal HDD and thunderbolt ssd Black Tiger iMac 2 Jan 26, 2013 10:17 AM
21.5" 2011 iMac SSD + HDD Question moneyman118 iMac 3 Dec 7, 2012 11:32 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC