Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 18, 2011, 12:04 PM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
'Parallels Transporter' Eases Migration From Windows to Mac







Virtualization software firm Parallels today announced the debut of Parallels Transporter, a new Mac OS X application to help users transition from Windows-based machines to Mac OS X.
Quote:
The Parallels Transporter app is designed for Mac users who may not need to run Windows on their Mac at all; it is a simple way to bring everything you need from your PC together on your Mac without wasting your valuable time or incurring the expense of hiring a technology service to do the work:

- Parallels Transporter Agent collects data on your PC and uses your wireless network or an external storage device to transfer it to Parallels Transporter on your Mac.
- Parallels Transporter on your Mac receives data from the Parallels Transporter Agent and copies it to the appropriate locations on your Mac. The files stored in your Windows home directory are copied to the corresponding folders on your Mac so they can be accessed and used with compatible Mac programs. Internet bookmarks are copied to Safari or any other default web browser in Mac OS X.
Parallels Transporter also moves Windows-only programs and files into a virtual machine located on the destination Mac. While the software does not include the ability to run the virtual machine, users can decide later to purchase the full Parallels virtualization software to access the data.

Parallels Transporter is available through the Mac App Store for an introductory price of $0.99, a very significant discount off of the regular price of $39.99.

Article Link: 'Parallels Transporter' Eases Migration From Windows to Mac
MacRumors is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2011, 12:22 PM   #2
dethmaShine
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Into the lungs of Hell
W.O.W

I'll buy it just in case.
__________________
Steve is smiling down from above.
-darkfiber
dethmaShine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2011, 12:29 PM   #3
vjl323
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Western North Carolina
VMware has had this for many years

I've used this feature dozens of times via VMware's free app that lets one convert a real Windows PC into a virtual one for use in VMware Fusion or their Windows/Linux vm products. It's about time Parallels finally caught up, but having been burned by their software numerous times, I'm sticking with the stable VMware Fusion for my Mac.
__________________
My daily 365 Photography Project: http://vjl365.com
Made on a Mac, of course!
vjl323 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2011, 03:48 PM   #4
thejman1993
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
how much ram???

i'm gonna be getting a new macbook pro and if i can spend the money i was gonna get 8gb of ram but if i get parallels how many gb do i use? and i am just getting parallels so i can run office for school and stuff.
thejman1993 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2011, 04:32 PM   #5
johncarync
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejman1993 View Post
i'm gonna be getting a new macbook pro and if i can spend the money i was gonna get 8gb of ram but if i get parallels how many gb do i use? and i am just getting parallels so i can run office for school and stuff.
I had Parallels with 4GB on my MacBook Pro and it was noticeably slow. I upgraded to 8GB and speed is now very acceptable. The biggest wait times are experienced when opening virtual machines (about 23 seconds) and closing/suspending them (about 6 seconds). I don't believe that more RAM will help with that process...probably a faster drive or SSD would be necessary to speed up opening/closing.
johncarync is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2011, 04:34 PM   #6
djrobsd
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejman1993 View Post
i'm gonna be getting a new macbook pro and if i can spend the money i was gonna get 8gb of ram but if i get parallels how many gb do i use? and i am just getting parallels so i can run office for school and stuff.
I've ran Parallels on 2 gigs, no problem. 4 is usually sufficient, 8 might be overkill unless you're going to have 20 windows open at once in both OS'. OSX does an excellent job of managing memory, as does Parallels. It only takes memory when it's needed and frees it back up for other processes to use when it's not being used.
djrobsd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2011, 05:38 PM   #7
macpeach55
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejman1993 View Post
i'm gonna be getting a new macbook pro and if i can spend the money i was gonna get 8gb of ram but if i get parallels how many gb do i use? and i am just getting parallels so i can run office for school and stuff.
I just went up to 8GB on my late 2008 MBP, and the difference is tremendous when running Windows via Parallels - the Mac hardly feels the extra OS.
But, if it is just for Office, get Office 2011 for Mac instead - it works great & you'll have a lot more free Disk Space!
macpeach55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2011, 07:31 PM   #8
mingoglia
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
This is great marketing for them. This gets the user that just spent a ton of cash on his Mac and doesn't feel like shelling out additional cash for vmware or parallels, but still wants to know if they decide in the future to purchase (in this case) Parallels that their virtual machine will be saved. Allows a user to plop down $.99, then give them the option of buying Parallels when they decide to.
mingoglia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2011, 08:48 PM   #9
sammyman
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
1 review which says it doesn't work.
__________________
mac mini 2010; 24" Apple Cinema; iPhone 4; Need another mac and new iPad.
Zarts - For Art People
Deal Daddy - For Manly Deals
sammyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2011, 10:58 PM   #10
yustas
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I am new to Macs and I am not sure I understand what it does. Say I have a Dell system running Windows XP. Will it transfer Windows XP, all installed software and data from my Dell to my new Mac?
yustas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2011, 12:02 AM   #11
batchtaster
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by yustas View Post
I am new to Macs and I am not sure I understand what it does. Say I have a Dell system running Windows XP. Will it transfer Windows XP, all installed software and data from my Dell to my new Mac?
No. It finds your data and files (music, bookmarks, cookies, Word documents, etc) on your Windows computer, transfers them to the Mac (performing any necessary conversions), so that you can use them on your Mac in Mac apps like Safari and Word 2011. So you can then throw your Dell off a bridge and into the cold, icy wet tomb, where it belongs.

Transferring Windows XP wholesale would be a Bad Idea. Firstly, it's probably not legal particularly if Windows XP is an OEM copy that came with your Dell rather than you buying a boxed package; secondly there will be issues using Dell drivers with Apple hardware; and third, if you've had it a while, it's probably somewhat "dirty" - particularly the registry - and you'd be far better off doing a fresh install and starting from a clean slate.
batchtaster is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2011, 02:34 AM   #12
iRobby
macrumors 6502a
 
iRobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fort Myers, FL USA
as I have stated in other posts I'll be going from a 2005 Dell to a 2011 27" iMac this summer. Reading this article it sounds like all my answers have been answered with data transfer especially my music.

I'll have to do some research as to how good the program works.

I do have one question though the article mentions the app is bought off Mac App Store and put on the iMac. So what do you install on the PC so the information is taken off the PC? and where you get it?
__________________
15" MacBook Pro Retina (2012) 2.3GHz, 8GB RAM; 256GB SSD
iPhone 6 Plus Space Gray 64GB AT&T
iPad (3rd Generation) White 64GB Verizon
Airport Extreme (5th Gen.)
iRobby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2011, 03:13 AM   #13
EatSleepMac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: New York
sweet

With the amount of people ditching Windows and heading to Mac these days its good to see something that can make the transition a little simpler.
__________________
15.4" 2011 Macbook Pro 2.2 Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD 16GB iPad 2 WiFi 16GB iPhone 4
EatSleepMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2011, 05:01 AM   #14
roadbloc
macrumors 604
 
roadbloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Isn't Lion meant to be coming with a similar built in feature?
__________________
roadbloc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2011, 09:13 AM   #15
Digitalclips
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Next we need an iPad app that transfers all the data from Android tablets
__________________
Been using Apple since Apple ][ - Long on AAPL so biased
nMac Pro 6 Core, MacBookPro i7, MacBookPro i5, iPhones 5 and 5s, iPad Air, 2013 Mac mini.
Digitalclips is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2011, 10:00 AM   #16
talmy
macrumors 601
 
talmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Parallels Transporter has been part of the Parallels product package for years. What's new here is the unbundling to a $0.99 Mac App Store app.
__________________
27" i7 iMac, 15" MacBook Pro, Mac mini with Yosemite Server, 5 other Macs and an unused Apple TV in the household.
talmy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2011, 11:02 AM   #17
Phil A.
macrumors 68040
 
Phil A.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Telford, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by batchtaster View Post
Transferring Windows XP wholesale would be a Bad Idea. Firstly, it's probably not legal particularly if Windows XP is an OEM copy that came with your Dell rather than you buying a boxed package; secondly there will be issues using Dell drivers with Apple hardware; and third, if you've had it a while, it's probably somewhat "dirty" - particularly the registry - and you'd be far better off doing a fresh install and starting from a clean slate.
Interestingly, VMWare have a utility that does exactly that (and it looks like Transporter also has that option from reading the description) - it takes an existing physical machine and creates a virtual one out of it that you can then run within VMWare Fusion. The newly created VM will require re-activation due to the migration of the hardware to VMware's virtualised hardware, but it works really, really well
__________________
Tell a man there are 300 billion stars in the universe and he'll believe you. Tell him a bench has wet paint on it and he'll have to touch it to be sure. ~Murphy's Law
Phil A. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2011, 02:59 PM   #18
yustas
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil A. View Post
Interestingly, VMWare have a utility that does exactly that (and it looks like Transporter also has that option from reading the description) - it takes an existing physical machine and creates a virtual one out of it that you can then run within VMWare Fusion. The newly created VM will require re-activation due to the migration of the hardware to VMware's virtualised hardware, but it works really, really well
So Parallels does transfer everything including the XP? That would be awesome.
yustas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2011, 12:58 AM   #19
kgtenacious
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Ok, so let me get this straight: Parallels Transporter costs $0.99 on the app store, they claim it's suggested retail price is $39.99 - and all it's really just a $40 advertisement for Parallels?
kgtenacious is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2011, 01:23 AM   #20
batchtaster
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil A. View Post
Interestingly, VMWare have a utility that does exactly that (and it looks like Transporter also has that option from reading the description) - it takes an existing physical machine and creates a virtual one out of it that you can then run within VMWare Fusion. The newly created VM will require re-activation due to the migration of the hardware to VMware's virtualised hardware, but it works really, really well
They probably shouldn't, then.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yustas View Post
So Parallels does transfer everything including the XP? That would be awesome.
No, it does not. For the reasons I already said, and the fact it's a move-to-Mac utility, not move-Windows-to-Mac.
batchtaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2011, 10:03 AM   #21
talmy
macrumors 601
 
talmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgtenacious View Post
Ok, so let me get this straight: Parallels Transporter costs $0.99 on the app store, they claim it's suggested retail price is $39.99 - and all it's really just a $40 advertisement for Parallels?
You got it!

Parallels Transporter has been around for years. They have just now unbundled it. Seems like a good sales pitch for Parallels, but Parallels has always been available as a 30-day free trial for those willing to investigate.
__________________
27" i7 iMac, 15" MacBook Pro, Mac mini with Yosemite Server, 5 other Macs and an unused Apple TV in the household.
talmy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2011, 12:20 PM   #22
iSee
macrumors 68040
 
iSee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by vjl323 View Post
I've used this feature dozens of times via VMware's free app that lets one convert a real Windows PC into a virtual one for use in VMware Fusion or their Windows/Linux vm products. It's about time Parallels finally caught up, but having been burned by their software numerous times, I'm sticking with the stable VMware Fusion for my Mac.
You should probably read what this actually does before commenting on it.
__________________
"Nobody ever reads these things so I can write anything. I'd eat bananas every day if they were crunchy."
iSee is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 05:53 AM   #23
Mr. Gates
macrumors 68020
 
Mr. Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: --Redmond --------- ----------------Washington---
Kinda weird if you think about it...

Selling a smaller product to undermine the need for the one you really want to sell.

If I migrate to Mac and loose the need to run Windows, .....why would I need Parallels anymore??

EDIT: Nevermind , I think I really am confused hahaha
__________________
This is a RUMOR site For speculation and discussion.Not a Fan-Club. Just because we are interested in Apple rumors it doesn't mean we should be frothing at the mouth with Apple rabid comments.
Mr. Gates is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 10:21 AM   #24
talmy
macrumors 601
 
talmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Yep you are confused!

Parallels Transporter doesn't undermine sales of Parallels since Transporter doesn't offer the virtualization. And regarding needing Windows, there are plenty of people needing to run Windows-only applications yet desiring to own a Mac. I'm one of them! If it weren't for the switch to Intel processors I'd never have been able to switch from my Dell workstation to an iMac.
__________________
27" i7 iMac, 15" MacBook Pro, Mac mini with Yosemite Server, 5 other Macs and an unused Apple TV in the household.
talmy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 10:53 AM   #25
jonnysods
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Aussie living in Canada
Vmware all the way thanks!
jonnysods is offline   -1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Migration Assistant & Parallels mdandrews Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Feb 25, 2014 03:07 AM
How to move Windows OS over to new mac with Parallels radman2020 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Nov 30, 2012 09:16 AM
Parallels / windows to mac 262Runnr MacBook Pro 15 Aug 24, 2012 08:46 AM
Fallout 1/2 on Mac via Windows 7 Parallels VM appletechpro Mac and PC Games 2 Jul 9, 2012 12:49 PM
Installing Windows & Parallels on Mac SamTheWheel Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Jul 6, 2012 05:02 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC