Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 25, 2011, 07:12 PM   #1
jaimeastin
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Unhappy UnAPPROVED Access to Lion computer from Win7

Hi all.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JUXR8...=youtube_gdata


I noticed that I can access my mac from my win7 computer when the accessable folder is NOT shared... I think the problem occured after I restored files to lion from a time machine backup of snow leopard. I have check all setting, even called apple support and they could not find an answer... I made a video and posted it to youtube... I made it quickly with my cell phone as I am contemplating restoring my OS. Wanted to see if any of you experieced this or have an answer...

I think it is something from snow leopard because I made that folder accessable on snow leopard so I could access my mac from the pc. IT IS LION RELATED... Not my network or Win7 PC... I really think it is a bad idea now to restore files from snow time machine... As I was browsing to locations Apple was sending me to, I noticed a lot of rouge files from my old installs on snow leopard... They have no business as the app did not install... No real clean up agent other than app cleaner that I know of.... Ok, another story and day for that...Any help or more information would appreciated.
__________________
MacMini-2011 Lion, Surface RT 64GB, Lumia 920/900, iPodNano5G, XPS8300 i7/12GB, E1505 7-Pro, XPS13 8-Pro, i620 i3/8GB 7-Pro, ReadyNasDuo, NSLU2, PLUS
Past: iPhone(s), 2010 MacMini, iPad2 3G
jaimeastin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 07:16 PM   #2
mulo
macrumors 68020
 
mulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Behind you
Send a message via MSN to mulo
your sharing the users home folder as was checked under options -.-
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 64GB.
17" MBP 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM.
Canon 7D + grip, 24-70mm f/2.8L USM, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM.
mulo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 07:30 PM   #3
jaimeastin
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulo View Post
your sharing the users home folder as was checked under options -.-
nope....

Wrong answer...

Those were public folders for both user admin and user jaimeb

notice the windows share showing 3 shares when on the mac I am only sharing 2...

The folder is not one of the shared folders, yet it is shared.
__________________
MacMini-2011 Lion, Surface RT 64GB, Lumia 920/900, iPodNano5G, XPS8300 i7/12GB, E1505 7-Pro, XPS13 8-Pro, i620 i3/8GB 7-Pro, ReadyNasDuo, NSLU2, PLUS
Past: iPhone(s), 2010 MacMini, iPad2 3G
jaimeastin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2011, 01:35 PM   #4
jaimeastin
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Well, I guess I will go to my genius bar appt... I know it is a waste of time... No one here could think of a solution. I will just have to reinstall the os...

OSX 10.7 is a tough titty for even a Lion to suckle...
__________________
MacMini-2011 Lion, Surface RT 64GB, Lumia 920/900, iPodNano5G, XPS8300 i7/12GB, E1505 7-Pro, XPS13 8-Pro, i620 i3/8GB 7-Pro, ReadyNasDuo, NSLU2, PLUS
Past: iPhone(s), 2010 MacMini, iPad2 3G
jaimeastin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2011, 09:14 AM   #5
jaimeastin
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Ran across this post before going to the apple store... The genius tried many things to fix it, but was unable to. Not to say anything bad about the genius. He was a GEEK! I mean that with the most respect. Had a great time working with him, even though I got a parking ticket and no fix. My old UNIX guru was going to take a shot at it, but I chose to just restore the whole os and NOT migrate data from my Snow Leopard time machine backup. I am just happy I am one of those guys who keeps all data on the servers rather than on the computers/devices. Even though the computers are backing up, I am clean install and move back what I want to.

Glad to see I am not the only one and maybe there will be a fix in the future. Not sure why someone disliked my video, but at least the ones of us with this problem can at the least find for information of its existence rather than people who say "you are wrong" or "it does not exist"

POTENTIAL FIX: It looks like the problem comes from having SMB enabled on Snow Leopard and restoring from it. Theoretically, if you disable SMB on Snow Leopard, back it and and use that restore point to lion, you will not have this problem... Not sure if anyone can confirm this or not... I wish I had my old mini to test this on... Maybe I will use my girl's mbp...
__________________
MacMini-2011 Lion, Surface RT 64GB, Lumia 920/900, iPodNano5G, XPS8300 i7/12GB, E1505 7-Pro, XPS13 8-Pro, i620 i3/8GB 7-Pro, ReadyNasDuo, NSLU2, PLUS
Past: iPhone(s), 2010 MacMini, iPad2 3G
jaimeastin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2011, 05:52 PM   #6
jaimeastin
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Well, reinstalled Lion which was easy enough. only took an hour and a half to down load the os. I did a test with the snow leopard backup and sure enought the problem came back...

So I reinstalled it again and did not restore from time machine. All is good now. SMB and CIFS all work as they should. So my advice is if you buy a mac with lion, do not restore data using the migrate assistant. Just set up your mac and start from there. I am now happy

I know some of you did not run into this problem. I am still not sure what causes the issues, but I am sure Apple will have this fixed in the coming updates... Maybe I will try the migrate assistant then... Prob wont...

Hope it helps someone
__________________
MacMini-2011 Lion, Surface RT 64GB, Lumia 920/900, iPodNano5G, XPS8300 i7/12GB, E1505 7-Pro, XPS13 8-Pro, i620 i3/8GB 7-Pro, ReadyNasDuo, NSLU2, PLUS
Past: iPhone(s), 2010 MacMini, iPad2 3G
jaimeastin is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2011, 01:06 PM   #7
jaimeastin
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
For anyone else with the problem, but do not want to go the route i did, see this forum on apple support for more information on the problem and possible fixes

https://discussions.apple.com/message/16788919#16788919
__________________
MacMini-2011 Lion, Surface RT 64GB, Lumia 920/900, iPodNano5G, XPS8300 i7/12GB, E1505 7-Pro, XPS13 8-Pro, i620 i3/8GB 7-Pro, ReadyNasDuo, NSLU2, PLUS
Past: iPhone(s), 2010 MacMini, iPad2 3G
jaimeastin is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is this Win7 Refurb COA and can I use it on another computer? Kingcodez Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Feb 20, 2014 01:38 AM
Someone used Safari remote login to access my computer. What did he have access to? zephonic OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Jul 25, 2013 10:52 PM
Time Machine: How to access from Win7? MacNoobGuy OS X 20 Mar 31, 2013 02:36 PM
no internet access win7/boot camp/mac mini martimp Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Dec 14, 2012 04:42 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC