Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 21, 2011, 08:31 PM   #1
Noek
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Using Ripit and Handbrake, still bad quality

Im using Ripit to rip the dvd to my Macbook Pro....I then use Handbrake to make it into an m4v so that I can import it into itunes to play on my tv through Appletv. I am using the ATV2 presets for my output but the quality is still bad. It's fine when there is no fast movement on the screen but when people are walking there are little slanted lines around everything. I can't remember what those lines are but they are annoying and only happen when there is movement on the screen. If anyone can help me get rid of this I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks in advance!
Noek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2011, 01:17 AM   #2
cappers
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Possibly someting to do with the interlace/progressive setting. Not sure but may be interlaced in your project. Try changing to progressive.
cappers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2011, 01:52 AM   #3
stomer
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Leeds, UK
Send a message via AIM to stomer
You're encoding interlaced content, you need to tell Handbrake to deinterlace it.

In Handbrake.

- Click on the Picture Settings icon
- Click on Filters
- Move the slider from Decomb to Deinterlace
- In the Deinterlace drop down, select Slower (better quality deinterlace that's worth the tiny increase in encode time)
__________________
MacBook 1.83GHz C2D 2GB
Mac Mini 2GHz C2D 2GB
TV
stomer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2011, 10:28 AM   #4
Noek
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Thank you, I'll give it a shot and report back
Noek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2011, 11:43 AM   #5
gnasher729
macrumors G5
 
gnasher729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by stomer View Post
You're encoding interlaced content, you need to tell Handbrake to deinterlace it.

In Handbrake.

- Click on the Picture Settings icon
- Click on Filters
- Move the slider from Decomb to Deinterlace
- In the Deinterlace drop down, select Slower (better quality deinterlace that's worth the tiny increase in encode time)
Just adding: This is quite typical for DVDs made from TV shows; it is unlikely to happen with DVDs made from movies.
gnasher729 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RipIt's "Compress" or Handbrake Tech198 Digital Video 1 Dec 11, 2013 12:39 PM
Handbrake Full quality settings chuk23chuk Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Jun 10, 2013 10:41 AM
HD/High Quality HandBrake conversions? absolut_mac Digital Video 2 Mar 22, 2013 06:06 PM
how do I get optimum quality handbrake rips? cnsoverload Apple TV and Home Theater 5 Oct 15, 2012 05:43 AM
Ripit and "No valid source found" in Handbrake cardsdoc Apple TV and Home Theater 10 Sep 4, 2012 03:46 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC