Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 6, 2011, 05:37 PM   #26
Lordskelic
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Texas
Send a message via AIM to Lordskelic Send a message via Skype™ to Lordskelic
Yay! Screw practicality and eyestrain, with three screens nobody can doubt my awesomeness!
__________________
All your Apple product are belong to us.
Lordskelic is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 05:47 PM   #27
ShiftyPig
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AU
Processors in "becoming more powerful" shocker.
ShiftyPig is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 05:54 PM   #28
wikus
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Planet earth.
Apple needs to fix their displays FIRST before letting us run 3 at a time.

Glossy screens? No thanks. Give us matte finish or shut up.
wikus is offline   -4 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 06:11 PM   #29
Fandongo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Space
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumors View Post
Image

One detail of the report that bears special attention is the fact that the Ivy Bridge platform, both mobile and desktop, will support up to three independent displays, with one of those displays being an internal one.
So... Ivy Mac Pros will have an internal display?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lordskelic View Post
Yay! Screw practicality and eyestrain, with three screens nobody can doubt my awesomeness!
You could set two up for video editing timelines/color correction, then spin over to another part of your desk with a monitor + a bunch of audio peripherals...

It's not about what you should do, it's what you can do.
__________________
"There is no good and evil, there is only power, and those too weak to seek it."
Fandongo is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 06:12 PM   #30
biggreydog
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
If the monitors can get their own power supply, I don't understand why you can't have an infinite number of monitors connected, provided they're sharing the same image. If you have different images, I can see the GPU getting taxed pretty quickly. The subject picture suggests we're talking about mirroring, instead of expanding the desktop.
biggreydog is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 06:15 PM   #31
Chupa Chupa
macrumors G3
 
Chupa Chupa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Seems like overkill on a MBA given that the graphics will choke doing a video with moderate amt of transitions or special fx. Seems like something only a masochist would want to try out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by biggreydog View Post
If the monitors can get their own power supply, I don't understand why you can't have an infinite number of monitors connected, provided they're sharing the same image. If you have different images, I can see the GPU getting taxed pretty quickly. The subject picture suggests we're talking about mirroring, instead of expanding the desktop.
Why would anyone need or want to mirror to a 3rd monitor?
__________________
Walled Garden ≠ Prison:
"People who use Apple products considered their options, and chose Apple. If they regret their decision, they can dump it at any time." -- Harry McCracken, Technologizer.com
Chupa Chupa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 06:16 PM   #32
*LTD*
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
The entire situation is a novelty to begin with.
*LTD* is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 06:22 PM   #33
Lordskelic
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Texas
Send a message via AIM to Lordskelic Send a message via Skype™ to Lordskelic
Quote:
Originally Posted by *LTD* View Post
The entire situation is a novelty to begin with.
Exactly!
__________________
All your Apple product are belong to us.
Lordskelic is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 06:27 PM   #34
$MacUser$
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by sennekuyl View Post
@$MacUser$: Two identical posts in two threads. What are you pushing?

You don't seem to be wrong, but can't see a reason for posting the same thing twice?
My post got buried in the other discussion, and when this one came up on the front page it seemed better oriented for that post. So rather than type a slightly different one I just copy and pasted.

Not trying to push anything, just trying to spurn discussion and have some clarity shed on an issue I'm still trying to work out for myself (i.e., will Ivy Bridge meet the hype?).

May the forum gods strike me dead for my transgression....
__________________
Primary: Air4,1 ~~ Secondary: iPad 4/iPhone 4 ~~ Previous: iPad 1, Mini2,1; RevD PB G4
$MacUser$ is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 06:30 PM   #35
MacFly123
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenesisST View Post
Screw it, we're doing 5 screens!

(http://onion.com/bWBRid)
Haha, nice sig!

This is nice but doesn't make a ton of sense since Lion is so anti multiple monitors.

I am about to upgrade my Mac Pro video workstation with dual Cinema Displays to Lion and FCP X and I am seriously considering ditching the Cinema Displays and just getting one 27" LED Cinema Display because Lion is catered so much that way.

Sucks that the Mac Pro doesn't have thunderbolt.
__________________
- Steve Jobs' best friend!
MacFly123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 06:34 PM   #36
Rustus Maximus
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacFly123 View Post
Sucks that the Mac Pro doesn't have thunderbolt
Thunderbolt?...Mehhhhhh

Be happy to just see a new Mac Pro.

Gimme PCIe 3.0 on the Pro and the iBoys can keep their Thunderfizzle for now.
__________________
"Love keeps her in the air when she oughtta fall down..."
Rustus Maximus is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 06:46 PM   #37
VPrime
macrumors 68000
 
VPrime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London Ontario
Glad I convinced my self I could wait until summer for a macbook air.
The new CPUs are looking great
__________________
@MurtazaSaadat
VPrime is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 06:58 PM   #38
nagromme
macrumors G5
 
nagromme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torrijos View Post
Honestly the air barely manages to drive a TB display, I don't even want to imagine two of them... What a torture.
FWIW, my 11Ē Air drives an external display (DisplayPort to HDMI projector) via Thunderbolt really well.


Quote:
Originally Posted by MacFly123 View Post
Haha, nice sig!

This is nice but doesn't make a ton of sense since Lion is so anti multiple monitors.

I am about to upgrade my Mac Pro video workstation with dual Cinema Displays to Lion and FCP X and I am seriously considering ditching the Cinema Displays and just getting one 27" LED Cinema Display because Lion is catered so much that way.

Sucks that the Mac Pro doesn't have thunderbolt.
Lion appsí new full-screen mode definitely needs multiple-monitor support, at least allowing other apps to use your other screens (and I suspect that will come in time). But I havenít noticed any other Lion/multi-monitor issues, and full-screen mode is optional (you can always maximize the window as an alternative). I really like Lion in general, so if FCP X meets your needs, I say go for it!

P.S. I like that Lion lets you put different desktop pictures on different displays AND different Spaces. So I have two spaces and two displays, and I can have 4 different desktop pictures to keep myself oriented. (I donít think Snow Leopard would do that.)

Last edited by nagromme; Dec 6, 2011 at 07:03 PM.
nagromme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 06:59 PM   #39
Nielsenius
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Virginia
Damnit! I was hoping for support for this...
__________________
15" MacBook Pro with Retina Display
27" Cinema Display
iPhone 6 Plus
Nielsenius is offline   9 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 06:59 PM   #40
Mr. Retrofire
macrumors 601
 
Mr. Retrofire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: www.emiliana.cl
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayhawk11 View Post
Can't wait to see the FPS on this setup
You do not use a MBA, if you want to see a high number of FPS.
Mr. Retrofire is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 07:00 PM   #41
SSDGUY
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Three glossy sheets of glass … what a nightmare.
SSDGUY is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 07:02 PM   #42
KnightWRX
macrumors Pentium
 
KnightWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chupa Chupa View Post
Seems like overkill on a MBA given that the graphics will choke doing a video with moderate amt of transitions or special fx. Seems like something only a masochist would want to try out.
My MBA has no problem with video. What are some of you on ?
__________________
"What you leave behind is not what is engraved in stone monuments, but what is woven into the lives of others."
-- Pericles
KnightWRX is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 07:05 PM   #43
Mr. Retrofire
macrumors 601
 
Mr. Retrofire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: www.emiliana.cl
Quote:
Originally Posted by cube View Post
No, Thunderbolt has half the video bandwidth as DisplayPort 1.2, over which these chips support upto 6 displays.
Apples port is a combination of TB and miniDP, AFAIK. So the Thunderbolt protocol has nothing to do with displays and their required bandwidth.
Mr. Retrofire is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 07:05 PM   #44
imageWIS
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NYC
That's great... however, until Mac OSX actually gets real multiple display capabilities, and not by making the other displays an extension of a 'central' display.
imageWIS is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 07:09 PM   #45
damir00
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Are there any details/specs on Intel's latest crack at integrated graphics?
damir00 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 07:12 PM   #46
uwbadger
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by *LTD* View Post
The entire situation is a novelty to begin with.
Maybe for you. At work, I have an MBP with two external displays (a fairly large Dell on the mini displayport, a smaller Dell on a USB displaylink) in addition to the MBP screen. As a programmer, I'd love to have even more screen real estate, since I usually have a dozen or two files open in emacs (2 frames/4 windows), 3 or 4 terminal windows, my mail/calendar client, a web browser, etc. At a given time, I might be actively looking at 2 or 3 files, a terminal or two, and the web browser. One monitor isn't enough. Two large monitors would suffice. Three Cinema displays would be ideal.
uwbadger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 07:39 PM   #47
thedarkhorse
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nielsenius View Post
Damnit! I was hoping for support for this...Image
Someone really needs to have 7 screens dedicated to 4chan?
thedarkhorse is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 07:58 PM   #48
floling
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
I'll never find my mouse ..... holy **** ;-)

btw. just kiddin' --- well most of it!

----------

oh.. doin the math:
you have 3 screens, 5 desktops, 16 spaces..
do you need a map do gather 'round? ;-)
it's a maze!


cheers
__________________
 20" iMac, 2.0 Ghz, 13" MBP, 2.53 GHz (with SSD), iPhone 5c, iPad Mini Retina 
floling is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 08:02 PM   #49
Chupa Chupa
macrumors G3
 
Chupa Chupa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by KnightWRX View Post
My MBA has no problem with video. What are some of you on ?
Basic video isn't going be a problem but if you are adding in a lot of GPU intensive fx or using Motion there is no way an MBA won't choke. I can say this with confidence because I have an early 2011 15" MBP that does choke in Motion as soon as my segment gets moderately complex... and that's just w/ 2D camera view.

That's not to knock the MBA, but it it's not made to be a video editing machine. It's a general purpose computer.
__________________
Walled Garden ≠ Prison:
"People who use Apple products considered their options, and chose Apple. If they regret their decision, they can dump it at any time." -- Harry McCracken, Technologizer.com
Chupa Chupa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 08:14 PM   #50
$MacUser$
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chupa Chupa View Post
That's not to knock the MBA, but it it's not made to be a video editing machine. It's a general purpose computer.
+1

I'm still trying to figure out why everyone's going nuts over Ivy Bridge in the MBA, when in reality it's a consumer-level computer designed for consumer-level tasks. If you're really throttling the thing to the point where Ivy Bridge would make a notable difference, you should probably be on a MBP in the first place.

I know, I know...there's a certain small subset of the mac-using population that might wring some actual use out of Ivy Bridge. But I'd bet most of those waiting with baited breath are chasing a phantom, as has been the case for pretty much every rumor I've followed on this site for the better part of a decade.

At the end of the day IB is going to be an ULV processor in a compact, consumer computer. It's not going to revolutionize anything...just an incremental tic-up in the MBA evolution.
__________________
Primary: Air4,1 ~~ Secondary: iPad 4/iPhone 4 ~~ Previous: iPad 1, Mini2,1; RevD PB G4
$MacUser$ is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ivy Bridge v/s Sandy Bridge & why Apple might skip Ivy for iMac ? mjoshi123 iMac 6 Sep 15, 2012 11:27 AM
Ivy Bridge vrs Sandy Bridge macbook pro smeeg128 MacBook Pro 5 Jul 6, 2012 12:58 AM
Ivy Bridge Air or Haswell Air Mikkel.kg MacBook Air 43 Jun 20, 2012 12:54 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC