Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 7, 2012, 03:50 PM   #176
G-Force
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
No drivers needed, 6870 works out of the box on 10.6.8 or later.
G-Force is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2012, 05:16 PM   #177
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Force View Post
No drivers needed, 6870 works out of the box on 10.6.8 or later.
Yes, but that depends on your definition of "works".
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2012, 05:52 PM   #178
talino
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Could you please elaborate on what works and what doesn't?
talino is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2012, 07:19 PM   #179
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by talino View Post
Could you please elaborate on what works and what doesn't?
You can read the 6870 threads for yourself here: http://forum.netkas.org
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2012, 10:22 AM   #180
G-Force
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ActionableMango View Post
Yes, but that depends on your definition of "works".
Well, if you want a card that works 100% get an Apple 5870, it's as simple as that really.

Not to be rude, but for the low price of the 6870, nobody should complain about some small issues which can be solved mostly with modified ROMs or ATYinit, thanks to Netkas. But that's my opinion.

If you ask me the most important part, accelerated graphics in OS X, works great.

Last edited by G-Force; Feb 8, 2012 at 10:28 AM.
G-Force is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2012, 02:15 PM   #181
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Force View Post
Well, if you want a card that works 100% get an Apple 5870, it's as simple as that really.

Not to be rude, but for the low price of the 6870, nobody should complain about some small issues which can be solved mostly with modified ROMs or ATYinit, thanks to Netkas. But that's my opinion.

If you ask me the most important part, accelerated graphics in OS X, works great.
I agree with you, it works for the most part. If anything, it's really incredible how well it works!

But what isn't important to most people can be critically important to certain people. For example, Talino wants a boot screen but doesn't want to flash his card. In that case, it doesn't work.

Also, a new thread just popped up where someone wants to run four monitors on the 6870. As I recall, even with flashing, some of the outputs don't work, so that's not a viable solution for that person either.

I've even seen someone state that the 6970 "works". Technically true, but that's a pretty big exaggeration in my opinion.

The 6870 would certainly work for me. I'm only waiting to see what the 7000 series Mac cards are like and how they are priced. Might be a long wait.
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2012, 03:11 PM   #182
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
4 screens can be run from 6870, as long as you have 2 displays which accept MDP or DP. Must be real thing, no adapters unless active.

It is important to note that 6870s with only 1 @ DP or MDP can only run 3 screens at once...(just like a 5770 or 5870 from Apple)
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2012, 06:14 PM   #183
ashman70
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
4 screens can be run from 6870, as long as you have 2 displays which accept MDP or DP. Must be real thing, no adapters unless active.

It is important to note that 6870s with only 1 @ DP or MDP can only run 3 screens at once...(just like a 5770 or 5870 from Apple)
Actually I have an Apple 5770 on my MP 3,1 and it will only support two displays natively. I have one display connected to the only DVI port and another connected to the MDP, if I connect a third monitor to the second MDP I lose one of my other two displays.
__________________
Iphone 6 64GB, iPad Mini 32GB wifi
2013 iMac 27" 16GB RAM, 1TB fusion drive, Nvidia 780M, 2xDell 23" monitors, 4x3TB Thunderbay IV enclosure.
MacBook Air 13" mid 2014, 128GB, 4GB RAM.
ashman70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2012, 01:12 AM   #184
Varmann
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashman70 View Post
Actually I have an Apple 5770 on my MP 3,1 and it will only support two displays natively. I have one display connected to the only DVI port and another connected to the MDP, if I connect a third monitor to the second MDP I lose one of my other two displays.
Are you sure everything is ok?
I also have an Apple 5770. I got it to work with two displays (Dell 30" native MDP, old Sony 23", DVI) and a projector (MDP -> HDMI). With them on simultaneously it worked nicely.

But since I used to have the projector turned off most of the time, I got a lot of weird rearrangements of the desktops and windows. So now I have the projector on its own card (an old 2600).
Varmann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2012, 11:36 AM   #185
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashman70 View Post
Actually I have an Apple 5770 on my MP 3,1 and it will only support two displays natively. I have one display connected to the only DVI port and another connected to the MDP, if I connect a third monitor to the second MDP I lose one of my other two displays.

Re-read the first two sentences in my post.

You are either using passive MDP to DVI/VGA adapters or have a bad card. Apple 5770 runs 3 displays.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2012, 02:50 PM   #186
ashman70
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Re-read the first two sentences in my post.

You are either using passive MDP to DVI/VGA adapters or have a bad card. Apple 5770 runs 3 displays.
What is 'passive' MDP ?

Do I need to buy the more expensive MDP > DVI that looks like it comes with a small power brick and a USB cable?
__________________
Iphone 6 64GB, iPad Mini 32GB wifi
2013 iMac 27" 16GB RAM, 1TB fusion drive, Nvidia 780M, 2xDell 23" monitors, 4x3TB Thunderbay IV enclosure.
MacBook Air 13" mid 2014, 128GB, 4GB RAM.
ashman70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2012, 03:34 PM   #187
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashman70 View Post
What is 'passive' MDP ?

Do I need to buy the more expensive MDP > DVI that looks like it comes with a small power brick and a USB cable?
From the AMD FAQ:
Quote:
You can connect up to two non-DisplayPort monitors at one time to an AMD Eyefinity technology-enabled graphics card using non-DisplayPort connections or passive DisplayPort dongles. To enable and drive 3 or more non-DisplayPort monitors at one time, the additional non-DisplayPort monitors must be connected with an active DisplayPort dongle.

Passive dongles use the DisplayPort connection to receive non-DP signaling from the connector and they 'passively' adjust the signals to be compliant with the connected monitor. Passive dongles are considered legacy connections, not DisplayPort connections, therefore they do not fulfill the DisplayPort connection requirement mentioned previously and cannot be used to enable 3 or more displays. They do, however, offer an affordable solution to adapt legacy displays to DisplayPort connections.

Active dongles use true DisplayPort signaling to 'actively' translate and re-transmit the signals as the required outputs. Because they use the true DisplayPort signaling, they are considered a DisplayPort connection and meet the requirements to enable 3 or more displays.

DisplayPort to DL-DVI dongles require an external power supply which is usually through a separate USB connection (the USB connection must meet the USB 'high power' specification).
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2012, 03:56 PM   #188
ashman70
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
So this is what I need then?

http://www.hisdigital.com/un/product2-567.shtml

Or this:

http://store.apple.com/us/product/MB...co=MTY3ODQ5OTY
__________________
Iphone 6 64GB, iPad Mini 32GB wifi
2013 iMac 27" 16GB RAM, 1TB fusion drive, Nvidia 780M, 2xDell 23" monitors, 4x3TB Thunderbay IV enclosure.
MacBook Air 13" mid 2014, 128GB, 4GB RAM.
ashman70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2012, 11:45 PM   #189
slughead
macrumors 68030
 
slughead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashman70 View Post
Yes, those both work.
slughead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 04:00 PM   #190
ashman70
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
I got the cable in the first link I posted and it didn't work.

How do you know if you need MDP > DVI for dual link or single link?

The cable I bought is for single link, when I connect it, one of my displays goes to sleep.
__________________
Iphone 6 64GB, iPad Mini 32GB wifi
2013 iMac 27" 16GB RAM, 1TB fusion drive, Nvidia 780M, 2xDell 23" monitors, 4x3TB Thunderbay IV enclosure.
MacBook Air 13" mid 2014, 128GB, 4GB RAM.
ashman70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 06:00 PM   #191
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashman70 View Post
I got the cable in the first link I posted and it didn't work.

How do you know if you need MDP > DVI for dual link or single link?

The cable I bought is for single link, when I connect it, one of my displays goes to sleep.
Perhaps some more disclosure is needed.

Are you in fact using a real Apple card or is it flashed? I only ask because that adapter is DP not MDP.

If all 3 displays are in fact DVI (Legacy in AMD parlance) you may need to have 2 of them using active adapters.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 06:45 PM   #192
ashman70
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Perhaps some more disclosure is needed.

Are you in fact using a real Apple card or is it flashed? I only ask because that adapter is DP not MDP.

If all 3 displays are in fact DVI (Legacy in AMD parlance) you may need to have 2 of them using active adapters.
My GPU is a legit Apple 5770, not a flashed PC card. All three monitors are Dell ST2320L LED 23" monitors with DVI connections. My confusion is between single and dual DVI connectors. The adapter I bought today is single active, but it doesn't work, so I need to know, do I need just one active dual link display port to DVI adapter, or two?
__________________
Iphone 6 64GB, iPad Mini 32GB wifi
2013 iMac 27" 16GB RAM, 1TB fusion drive, Nvidia 780M, 2xDell 23" monitors, 4x3TB Thunderbay IV enclosure.
MacBook Air 13" mid 2014, 128GB, 4GB RAM.
ashman70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 07:31 PM   #193
dvince2
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loa View Post
Thanks for the find, but from Canada, the shipping kills it.

Does anyone know if I can use this 1 to 2 cable with the 6870 in a 2009 MP? ( http://img163.imageshack.us/img163/2795/1to201.jpg )

Thanks
I'm on the hunt for one with shipping to Canada as well. Can anyone chime in if this one would work?

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16812123301


No... because it's an extension cord.
__________________
FTL:2.66 Quad MacPro,9GB,120SSD,1TB,640GB,ATI 6870.
Noir:2.4 Blackbook,4GB,250GB
Case:iMac G4 17",768mb,80GM

Last edited by dvince2; Apr 23, 2012 at 07:46 PM.
dvince2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 08:19 PM   #194
ClassObject
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
No probs here. 09 pro. Added fanless heatsink
ClassObject is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 08:46 PM   #195
Loa
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Québec
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvince2 View Post
I'm on the hunt for one with shipping to Canada as well.
Search for "2x PCIe 6pin 6-pin Mac video card power cables Mac Pro G5" on ebay. Really cheap for the 2 cables we need.

Loa
Loa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 09:23 PM   #196
dvince2
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loa View Post
Search for "2x PCIe 6pin 6-pin Mac video card power cables Mac Pro G5" on ebay. Really cheap for the 2 cables we need.

Loa
Nice... thanks.

Hey this might be a dumb question, but the 4870 in the 4,1 mac pro has 2 power cords... any reason why these wouldn't be usable ?
__________________
FTL:2.66 Quad MacPro,9GB,120SSD,1TB,640GB,ATI 6870.
Noir:2.4 Blackbook,4GB,250GB
Case:iMac G4 17",768mb,80GM
dvince2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 09:06 AM   #197
Loa
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Québec
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvince2 View Post
Nice... thanks.

Hey this might be a dumb question, but the 4870 in the 4,1 mac pro has 2 power cords... any reason why these wouldn't be usable ?
They should work, but I can't confirm. If they're 6pin to 6pin, they should.

Loa
Loa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 08:02 AM   #198
G-Force
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Guys, I can't seem to figure out if this setup would work or not.

My current situation:
2009 Mac Pro (Lion) with unflashed XFX 6870 dual fan, 1 23" monitor connected to DVI.

I would like to use two 21.5" 1600x1200 monitors using both DVI ports, is this a setup that should work? Or do I need to connect one using DVI and the other one with an active mini-dp to single-link DVI adapter?

I don't have the monitors yet, so I can't test it.

Thanks
G-Force is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 08:35 AM   #199
Loa
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Québec
Hello,

Pretty sure that you can't use both DVI ports on 6870s (on a Mac).

Loa
Loa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 08:37 AM   #200
Inconsequential
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Force View Post
Guys, I can't seem to figure out if this setup would work or not.

My current situation:
2009 Mac Pro (Lion) with unflashed XFX 6870 dual fan, 1 23" monitor connected to DVI.

I would like to use two 21.5" 1600x1200 monitors using both DVI ports, is this a setup that should work? Or do I need to connect one using DVI and the other one with an active mini-dp to single-link DVI adapter?

I don't have the monitors yet, so I can't test it.

Thanks

Second DVI port doesn't work.

You'd need a mDP to DVI adapter.
Inconsequential is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacPro 2009 2.66 RAM upgrade? skoobey Mac Pro 7 Oct 17, 2013 02:25 PM
Keep 2009 MacPro or go iMac? kylepro88 Mac Pro 39 May 12, 2013 01:51 AM
Advice About RAID Setup MacPro 2009 BigSteveLittle Mac Pro 6 Feb 17, 2013 03:25 AM
BootCamp - MacPro 2009 - Drivers oliverj777 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Oct 1, 2012 09:48 AM
Upgrade cpu for macpro 2009 qwarkas Mac Pro 11 Jun 19, 2012 05:32 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC