Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 17, 2012, 09:26 AM   #1
poohat1000
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
can't replace clip

I'm getting an no entry icon when trying to drag one clip to replace the other, same format, compression etc.

I have no idea why this is happening... anyone?
poohat1000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 09:46 AM   #2
mBox
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by poohat1000 View Post
I'm getting an no entry icon when trying to drag one clip to replace the other, same format, compression etc.

I have no idea why this is happening... anyone?
Which app?
mBox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 09:50 AM   #3
poohat1000
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
fcpx

nevermind, i quit, re opened it and now it works
poohat1000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 09:53 AM   #4
mBox
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by poohat1000 View Post
fcpx

nevermind, i quit, re opened it and now it works
haha okay well have fun
p.s. at times Ive seen this happened due to errant blank frames caused by using the Position tool. You get a warning that you dont enough video frames for this or that. Anoying but easily fixed if you zoom in on the area.
mBox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 09:56 AM   #5
poohat1000
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
thanks. Ive taken to stop trying to understand why fcpx does things sometimes, I love the speed but ugh. Sometimes i get another bug whereby i can't select any clips, it only works if i right click the clip and then click of the contextual menu. Quit/retstart always fixes it

bleh
poohat1000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 09:59 AM   #6
mBox
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Ive been using it since June and have numerous bugs that dont seem to stick :P
But hey, I can say the same about other apps thats been around 10 years longer
mBox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 02:50 PM   #7
harddriveowner
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Stop complaining. It is a young program and not everything is perfect but its potential especially with the ability to Publish effects etc from Motion makes is a quantm leap beyond FCP 7. Everyone loves to complain when anyhting is new.
harddriveowner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 03:48 PM   #8
cgbier
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by harddriveowner View Post
Stop complaining. It is a young program and not everything is perfect but its potential especially with the ability to Publish effects etc from Motion makes is a quantm leap beyond FCP 7. Everyone loves to complain when anyhting is new.
...especially when you consider that FCP wasn't really there before version 4. It took Apple years to get it up to task, and now we want it all in one day.
cgbier is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 03:57 PM   #9
mBox
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Good lord we had it at v1.
Opened it up a few times since then we had Premiere and media 100.
Didnt really start to use it till v3.
mBox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 04:10 PM   #10
LethalWolfe
macrumors Demi-God
 
LethalWolfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgbier View Post
...especially when you consider that FCP wasn't really there before version 4. It took Apple years to get it up to task, and now we want it all in one day.
Yes, they've had over a decade of experience to learn from so hopefully the timetable is accelerated significantly. If it really takes Apple another 4 years to get FCP X 'up to task' then they are in major trouble.


Lethal
__________________
Looking For Lenny - documentary about comedian Lenny Bruce's timeless impact on stand-up comedy & Free Speech.
Netflix, iTunes, Amazon, Hulu
LethalWolfe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2012, 04:25 PM   #11
cgbier
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
For me it is pretty much there. I'm not working for a post house, broadcast (beyond a rural station) or Hollywood though.
cgbier is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace the keyboard? or replace the keys? mada88 MacBook 4 Dec 11, 2013 11:30 PM
Belt clip or not? DizzyV6P iPhone Accessories 4 Sep 26, 2013 12:15 PM
One Year Anniversary of 15" rMBP! Replace or not replace? ajcadoo MacBook Pro 18 May 28, 2013 09:07 PM
Battery: to replace or not to replace? splitpea MacBook Pro 7 Jan 19, 2013 01:28 PM
Song from the clip? adycalipso91 Community Discussion 0 Jun 18, 2012 01:59 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC