Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 18, 2012, 11:34 AM   #1
piatti
macrumors 6502a
 
piatti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Running Windows 8 on USB for a MacBook with dead HDD

http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-DataT...9580319&sr=1-7

http://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-Cruzer...9582535&sr=1-1

If I install W8 on 32GB USB, could I boot up W8 from it for my dead White MB? Or do I need to somehow install Bootcamp drives on the USB stick too? (Which I don't know how to do) Or even boot up Mac OS from the USB stick? (Is 32GB enough? What about 16GB?)

I was reading how to boot up from an external drive here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UNPfgufrVRA

Do you need to have a partition reserved for the OS only?
__________________
15'' MacBook Pro, 2.66 GHz, 4GB RAM 320 GB HD (early 2010) ; 1st generation iPod Touch iOS 3.1.3 ; iPhone 4 Black; 15'' HP Pavilion g6, AMD A8, 4GB RAM, 650 GB

Last edited by piatti; Feb 18, 2012 at 12:00 PM.
piatti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 11:38 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Probably, if the HDD is the only thing, that is kaputt/dead in that MB, but know, that most USB flash memory thumb drives have an abysmal read and write speed (5 to 20 MB/s), thus an external USB HDD or Firewire 400 HDD or even a new internal HDD would be much better.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 12:58 PM   #3
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
Hmm.... I thought Windows refuses to boot from external HDDs; saw it mentioned elsewhere in the forum.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 01:02 PM   #4
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by old-wiz View Post
Hmm.... I thought Windows refuses to boot from external HDDs; saw it mentioned elsewhere in the forum.
Windows 8 seems to be a bit different.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 02:32 PM   #5
piatti
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
piatti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Could I run W8 on PS3 on a USB stick?
__________________
15'' MacBook Pro, 2.66 GHz, 4GB RAM 320 GB HD (early 2010) ; 1st generation iPod Touch iOS 3.1.3 ; iPhone 4 Black; 15'' HP Pavilion g6, AMD A8, 4GB RAM, 650 GB
piatti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 02:38 PM   #6
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by piatti View Post
Could I run W8 on PS3 on a USB stick?
No, as the PS3 uses the PPC architecture and Windows 8 does not run on that.
And as I already said, a USB flash memory thumb drive is quite slow to run a complex OS like Windows. A small Linux distro might work with that, but Windows would be slow, slow, slow.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 02:47 PM   #7
piatti
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
piatti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Would it be best to install puppy linux?

What kind of Linux is best to install on a USB disk stick, and could I boot my MB from that?
__________________
15'' MacBook Pro, 2.66 GHz, 4GB RAM 320 GB HD (early 2010) ; 1st generation iPod Touch iOS 3.1.3 ; iPhone 4 Black; 15'' HP Pavilion g6, AMD A8, 4GB RAM, 650 GB
piatti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 02:54 PM   #8
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by piatti View Post
What kind of Linux is best to install on a USB disk stick, and could I boot my MB from that?
What do you want to accomplish?
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 02:59 PM   #9
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Wouldn't it just be easier to replace the HDD in your white MB?

You should be able to pick up a working drive for the same price as the USB drives....

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 03:52 PM   #10
piatti
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
piatti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
What do you want to accomplish?
Just everyday stuff. Watching HD movies.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by balamw View Post
Wouldn't it just be easier to replace the HDD in your white MB?

You should be able to pick up a working drive for the same price as the USB drives....

B
same price? where?

----------

Would this be good enough? http://www.ebay.com/ctg/Fujitsu-60-G...d=p3286.c0.m14
__________________
15'' MacBook Pro, 2.66 GHz, 4GB RAM 320 GB HD (early 2010) ; 1st generation iPod Touch iOS 3.1.3 ; iPhone 4 Black; 15'' HP Pavilion g6, AMD A8, 4GB RAM, 650 GB
piatti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 04:02 PM   #11
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Just everyday stuff. Watching HD movies.
As mentioned repeatedly, a USB flash memory thumb drive would be too slow for this. Even in Linux.

Quote:
Originally Posted by piatti View Post
Just everyday stuff. Watching HD movies.Would this be good enough? http://www.ebay.com/ctg/Fujitsu-60-G...d=p3286.c0.m14
Yes.

Btw, to quote several posts, use the button (multi-quote).

To edit your posts, use the button.

All these buttons are on the bottom right of the posts.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 04:11 PM   #12
piatti
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
piatti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
What about Puppy linux would that be fast enough to play HD movies?

----------

Would 40GB of HD be enough? http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listi...condition=used

I remember if your HD was too full it started to lag. Maybe I should just install Linux on this small of a HD? It had a 320 GB before I think and it seemed to fill up pretty quick.
__________________
15'' MacBook Pro, 2.66 GHz, 4GB RAM 320 GB HD (early 2010) ; 1st generation iPod Touch iOS 3.1.3 ; iPhone 4 Black; 15'' HP Pavilion g6, AMD A8, 4GB RAM, 650 GB
piatti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 04:47 PM   #13
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by piatti View Post
[/COLOR]Would 40GB of HD be enough? http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listi...condition=used
That's a 3.5" (desktop) PATA/IDE drive you (probably) want a 2.5" SATA drive for a white MacBook.

Would help if you told us what specific model...

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 05:00 PM   #14
piatti
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
piatti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
The MB White was bought on summer of 2008.
__________________
15'' MacBook Pro, 2.66 GHz, 4GB RAM 320 GB HD (early 2010) ; 1st generation iPod Touch iOS 3.1.3 ; iPhone 4 Black; 15'' HP Pavilion g6, AMD A8, 4GB RAM, 650 GB
piatti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2012, 09:27 PM   #15
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by piatti View Post
The MB White was bought on summer of 2008.
Then get a 2.5" S-ATA HDD with a maximum height of 9.5 mm.
MacBook, MacBook Pro: Replacing the Hard Disk Drive, transferring data to the new HDD
How to format a new HDD/SSD to install Mac OS X or make a bootable copy onto
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2012, 10:32 AM   #16
piatti
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
piatti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
I searched for some 2.5 but they all seem to be too expensive. What would happen if I tried to do it with one of those very cheap used HDs? Would it just not work?

If I just tried to have two tabs in a browser in puppy Linux would that be fast? (no HD movies)
__________________
15'' MacBook Pro, 2.66 GHz, 4GB RAM 320 GB HD (early 2010) ; 1st generation iPod Touch iOS 3.1.3 ; iPhone 4 Black; 15'' HP Pavilion g6, AMD A8, 4GB RAM, 650 GB
piatti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2012, 10:36 AM   #17
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by piatti View Post
I searched for some 2.5 but they all seem to be too expensive. What would happen if I tried to do it with one of those very cheap used HDs? Would it just not work?
If you mean the HDDs on eBay you linked to in post #11, then yes.
MacBook, MacBook Pro: Replacing the Hard Disk Drive, transferring data to the new HDD
How to format a new HDD/SSD to install Mac OS X or make a bootable copy onto
Quote:
If I just tried to have two tabs in a browser in puppy Linux would that be fast? (no HD movies)
You have to try that for yourself, but it should work, if you can install Puppy. Maybe go to the Puppy Linux message board to get more Puppy specific help.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Windows 7 from a USB 3.0 Drive erutpar MacBook Air 8 Feb 17, 2014 01:06 PM
MacBook with a dead HDD dacoolest MacBook 1 Aug 29, 2013 10:50 AM
Using Windows from USB (not HDD) motorkiran Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 3 Feb 8, 2013 11:47 AM
Backup HDD on a dead MacBook Islandguy Mac Basics and Help 1 Dec 17, 2012 11:04 AM
Running Windows from a USB 3.0 drive? PhazonUK MacBook Air 8 Jul 19, 2012 11:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC