Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 26, 2012, 03:12 PM   #1
rfe777
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Why do I have to reboot my PC all the time in order to use iTunes?

I have a problem with iTunes: not only it is heavy and slows my PC a bit, Everytime I close it I need to reboot in order for it to work again. If I don't reboot and just load it, it will just freeze, won't work and won't even recognize my iPhone.
What I did notice is that loading iTunes also loads a few other processes: Applemobiledevicehelper.exe, iPodservice.exe, and iTuneshelper.exe, and even after closing iTunes they are still running, and also the main process iTunes.exe is still running. Closing all of them manually and loading iTunes again won't help.

iTunes version: 10.5.3
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium

Anyone knows how to fix this? It is unbearable having to reboot all the time in order to use iTunes.

TIA
rfe777 is offline   -3 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 03:17 PM   #2
r.j.s
Moderator emeritus
 
r.j.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Knox
Uninstall and reinstall iTunes?
r.j.s is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 03:24 PM   #3
rfe777
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by r.j.s View Post
Uninstall and reinstall iTunes?
And it won't delete all my backups and my apps?

Also, I've read online that uninstalling iTunes leaves a lot of "leftovers" on the PC, some which have to be removed manually. Is that correct?
rfe777 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 03:26 PM   #4
r.j.s
Moderator emeritus
 
r.j.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Knox
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfe777 View Post
And it won't delete all my backups and my apps?

Also, I've read online that uninstalling iTunes leaves a lot of "leftovers" on the PC, some which have to be removed manually. Is that correct?
No, it will leave the iTunes library folder alone.

I don't know about leftovers.
r.j.s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 03:29 PM   #5
chrf097
macrumors 68030
 
chrf097's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Earth
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfe777 View Post
And it won't delete all my backups and my apps?

Also, I've read online that uninstalling iTunes leaves a lot of "leftovers" on the PC, some which have to be removed manually. Is that correct?
The 'leftovers' is the iTunes media folder and probably library files. Your media stays intact. Uninstall and re-install.
__________________
13" Macbook Pro | Mac OS 10.10 | 2.4GHz Core i5 | 8 GB RAM | 500 GB
iPhone 6 | Gold | 16GB | iOS 8.1 | Verizon | Jailbroken
iPad mini Retina | Space Gray | 16 GB WiFi | iOS 8.1

chrf097 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 03:36 PM   #6
rfe777
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
After reading on the Apple support forums here: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1923
There are 6 software components that I have to uninstall in order to completely remove iTunes, in that order:

iTunes
QuickTime
Apple Software Update
Apple Mobile Device Support
Bonjour(What is this thing?)
Apple Application Support

Is that correct?
rfe777 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 03:37 PM   #7
r.j.s
Moderator emeritus
 
r.j.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Knox
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfe777 View Post
After reading on the Apple support forums here: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1923
There are 6 software components that I have to uninstall in order to completely remove iTunes, in that order:

iTunes
QuickTime
Apple Software Update
Apple Mobile Device Support
Bonjour(What is this thing?)
Apple Application Support

Is that correct?
Don't worry about all that right now, just uninstall the iTunes app and reinstall.
r.j.s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 03:48 PM   #8
rfe777
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Uninstalling and reinstalling iTunes didn't solve this problem.

Any solutions?
rfe777 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 03:55 PM   #9
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Get a Mac?
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 03:57 PM   #10
rfe777
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroom View Post
Get a Mac?
If you don't have an appropriate answer then please don't participate. Thanks
rfe777 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 04:13 PM   #11
CSMchris376
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Illinois
I would have to say something else is going on with your PC. I have been using Windows PCs with iTunes and the iPhone since it first came out; using XP, Vista and now Windows 7. I have never had the problem you are describing, however I am not doubting you are having an issue. If you uninstalled and reinstalled iTunes "exactly" step by step from that Apple Support document you listed (HT1923) it should work. I have recommended that to many people on the Apple support forum and it has worked fine. I have run into occasions where iTunes would freeze, but closing it with Task Manager and then restarting it has always resolved the problem.

Have you looked into Device Manager when you have the phone connected and see if there are any hardware conflicts or error messages displayed? Other than following all of the steps in the support document, I can offer no further assistance than what I have posted. Are you using the 32-bit or 64-bit version of iTunes?
CSMchris376 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 04:15 PM   #12
Mac.World
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: In front of uranus
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfe777 View Post
I have a problem with iTunes: not only it is heavy and slows my PC a bit, Everytime I close it I need to reboot in order for it to work again. If I don't reboot and just load it, it will just freeze, won't work and won't even recognize my iPhone.
What I did notice is that loading iTunes also loads a few other processes: Applemobiledevicehelper.exe, iPodservice.exe, and iTuneshelper.exe, and even after closing iTunes they are still running, and also the main process iTunes.exe is still running. Closing all of them manually and loading iTunes again won't help.

iTunes version: 10.5.3
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium

Anyone knows how to fix this? It is unbearable having to reboot all the time in order to use iTunes.

TIA
Windows isn't particularly good at managing Apple software. Hopefully, that will change with Windows 8, but for now uninstall iTunes via uninstall programs option and reinstall a fresh copy from cnet or apple. I just installed parallels (Windows 7) on my iMac and was having a hell of a time getting iTunes to load from Apple.com. Went to another source and iTunes loaded and has been working fine.
Mac.World is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 04:22 PM   #13
rfe777
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSMchris376 View Post
I would have to say something else is going on with your PC. I have been using Windows PCs with iTunes and the iPhone since it first came out; using XP, Vista and now Windows 7. I have never had the problem you are describing, however I am not doubting you are having an issue. If you uninstalled and reinstalled iTunes "exactly" step by step from that Apple Support document you listed (HT1923) it should work. I have recommended that to many people on the Apple support forum and it has worked fine. I have run into occasions where iTunes would freeze, but closing it with Task Manager and then restarting it has always resolved the problem.

Have you looked into Device Manager when you have the phone connected and see if there are any hardware conflicts or error messages displayed? Other than following all of the steps in the support document, I can offer no further assistance than what I have posted. Are you using the 32-bit or 64-bit version of iTunes?
I have the 32-bit version.
And, I asked here about that support document and was told to just uninstall and reinstall iTunes.
Also, I had Quicktime on the PC before installing iTunes, so now I have to uninstall that to?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac.World View Post
Windows isn't particularly good at managing Apple software. Hopefully, that will change with Windows 8, but for now uninstall iTunes via uninstall programs option and reinstall a fresh copy from cnet or apple. I just installed parallels (Windows 7) on my iMac and was having a hell of a time getting iTunes to load from Apple.com. Went to another source and iTunes loaded and has been working fine.
Already uninstalled and reinstalled iTunes, didn't help.
rfe777 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 04:29 PM   #14
sulpfiction
macrumors 68030
 
sulpfiction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philadelphia Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfe777 View Post
If you don't have an appropriate answer then please don't participate. Thanks
I'd say his answer was very appropriate. You just don't have these types of issues on a Mac.
sulpfiction is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 04:35 PM   #15
rfe777
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sulpfiction View Post
I'd say his answer was very appropriate. You just don't have these types of issues on a Mac.
Still his answer is irrelevant to the topic here as it's about iTunes on a Windows PC.
rfe777 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 04:39 PM   #16
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Something has went screwy with Windows 7. Either something got corrupted, a dll got overwritten, the registry fouled up, trojan, virus, who knows.

If you haven't reinstalled Windows in a year or so it just gets slower and worse over time.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 04:50 PM   #17
rfe777
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
OK, I've uninstalled again per the support document and downloaded it again from Apple.com. Does it install Quicktime to or do I have to download it separately?
rfe777 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 04:52 PM   #18
Jb07
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas
Quote:
If you haven't reinstalled Windows in a year or so it just gets slower and worse over time.

That is not true. I had a Windows computer for 5 years and never once reinstalled Windows-and I had no problems with it (other than normal slow down.)
__________________
iPhone 5 - 32GB (2x), MBA 13"-2011, MBP 15"-2010
Jb07 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 05:45 PM   #19
boss.king
macrumors 68040
 
boss.king's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
OP, I had this problem too. An update fixed it, maybe just wait it out. Also, before you do anything drastic and reinstall Windows, blueroom is talking crap. If you use even the slightest bit of common sense when using Windows you never need to reinstall it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rfe777 View Post
OK, I've uninstalled again per the support document and downloaded it again from Apple.com. Does it install Quicktime to or do I have to download it separately?
As I remember it installs Quicktime automatically.
__________________
LG Nexus 4
iPad Mini
boss.king is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 09:55 PM   #20
Irock619
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Francisco, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfe777 View Post
I have a problem with iTunes: not only it is heavy and slows my PC a bit, Everytime I close it I need to reboot in order for it to work again. If I don't reboot and just load it, it will just freeze, won't work and won't even recognize my iPhone.
What I did notice is that loading iTunes also loads a few other processes: Applemobiledevicehelper.exe, iPodservice.exe, and iTuneshelper.exe, and even after closing iTunes they are still running, and also the main process iTunes.exe is still running. Closing all of them manually and loading iTunes again won't help.

iTunes version: 10.5.3
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium

Anyone knows how to fix this? It is unbearable having to reboot all the time in order to use iTunes.

TIA
I know somebody already said it but I'll say it again.....

You are having issues because you don't have a mac
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" 2011 (Yosemite) w/Crucial SSD, 8GB RAM iPhone 5s 32GB iTouch 3G iPad Mini Retina
Irock619 is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 10:37 PM   #21
gngan
macrumors 68000
 
gngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: MacWorld
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfe777 View Post
Still his answer is irrelevant to the topic here as it's about iTunes on a Windows PC.
Your topic is also irrelevant to this section of the forum (ie iPhone). If you would like a relevant answer then you should post it in the correct section or forum.
__________________
2011 13''MBP i5 Dual HDD (128GB SSD+1TB HDD)+8gb RAM; iPhone 5S, iPod Nano 3rd & 6th gen; iPod Wheel; iPad Air 64gb; Airport Extreme/Express; Synology 4tb +WD 2tb; Canon 5D MKIII
gngan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 10:54 PM   #22
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Reformat & Reinstall Windows 7, reload iTunes and I'll bet the problem goes away.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2012, 06:08 AM   #23
charlesdayton
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfe777 View Post
OK, I've uninstalled again per the support document and downloaded it again from Apple.com. Does it install Quicktime to or do I have to download it separately?

iTunes for Windows no longer includes or requires Quicktime.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jb07 View Post
That is not true. I had a Windows computer for 5 years and never once reinstalled Windows-and I had no problems with it (other than normal slow down.)
Same here, I have been using Windows and Mac for a long time. I never had a major problem with either. As long as you install software from reputable sources they both behave solidly.

OP: Here are some tips you could try:

1. Make sure Windows is up to date.

2. If you are not using an AV program get Microsoft Security Essentials. It is free.

3. Make sure you don't have any third party App that uses iTunes running in the background. For example some IM apps use iTunes to display "now playing", and lyrics apps also use iTunes. Also remove third party iTunes plugins before uninstalling.

4. Try uninstalling with the free version of Revo uninstaller.

5. A windows re-install is not required unless something major broke in the OS, in that case you would have problems with all programs not just iTunes.
charlesdayton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2012, 02:14 PM   #24
rfe777
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gngan View Post
Your topic is also irrelevant to this section of the forum (ie iPhone). If you would like a relevant answer then you should post it in the correct section or forum.
As far as I can tell there is no specific section in this forum for iTunes problems so I posted here as it is about using iTunes with an iPhone.
rfe777 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2012, 02:24 PM   #25
zigzagg321
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: the wire
the items on that list that Apple says need to be removed...well...they need to be removed, and then checked to make sure they are gone...THEN reinstall iTunes.

The advice"don't worry about those right now" was incorrect.

also, turn off any anti virus software you may have and see if iTunes works better after that.
zigzagg321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Startup manager every time I reboot iceperson OS X 1 Mar 31, 2014 12:10 PM
Mavericks reboot time MadSkillzPhan OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Oct 24, 2013 05:59 PM
Why do I have to reboot every time I use Airplay? designgeek OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jun 19, 2013 11:28 PM
Having to set the time every reboot powerpcguy PowerPC Macs 8 Oct 26, 2012 07:49 PM
Why do I have to enter PW every time reboot xFiGGiE iPhone 17 Oct 2, 2012 10:43 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC