Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 26, 2012, 06:10 PM   #1
Rokeneer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Two Video Cards in Mac Pro 1,1

Hello

So I'm wondering, I play some games on the windows side of my computer, and the x1900xt works fine for some, however it won't run some.

My question, can I have this card be my primary, but still keep the x1900xt in a different slot (for my games from the '90's) so I would have two cards?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/ATI-Radeon-C...ht_8229wt_1165
Rokeneer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 07:11 PM   #2
Graeme43
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Great Britain
Send a message via AIM to Graeme43 Send a message via MSN to Graeme43 Send a message via Yahoo to Graeme43 Send a message via Skype™ to Graeme43
I have a 1,1 and I have one card running at 16x (4870) PCI-E and the other at 4x (7300GT)

So you would probably lose performance on one of them due to the limitations of the PCI-E system... unless 8x is enough for both

Not sure on that card tho but id wonder about the power plugs
__________________
Intel: 2007 Mac Pro 2.66, 2008 MacBook Pro 2.4
PowerPC: Titanium PowerBook 500, iBook G3 500
ARM: iPad 4, iPhone 5
Graeme43 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 08:32 PM   #3
strwrsfrk
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Arlington, VA, USA
I just repaired a Mac Pro and put two 5770s in it. You can set which PCI expansion slots to run at x16 and which to run lower, if you want to run two cards at once.

Make sure you have the power connector(s) you need; I got mine from Amazon here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...00_i00_details

I don't know much about the x1900, but 5770s each require a 6-pin power connector, and a 5870 would require both (your Mac Pro has two such plugs in the motherboard by the 1st and 2nd HDD trays).

I think the 5870 is the most powerful standard component option available to you that will run natively out of the box, and its performance for games is quite good. Browse eBay and Craigslist; I got my 5770s for about $60/ea, and you could probably find similar deals from people who are upgrading their rigs.
__________________
iPhone 5; iPod Touch; iPod Nano
rMBP 15", 2.7GHz, 256GB SSD, 16GB RAM
MacBook, 2.4GHz, 64GB SSD, 320GB HDD, 4GB RAM
PC Custom, 4.2GHz 4770K, 16GB DDR3-2400, 1TB SSD, GTX 780

Last edited by strwrsfrk; Feb 26, 2012 at 08:33 PM. Reason: Misinformation
strwrsfrk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2012, 11:40 PM   #4
Rokeneer
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
The one in it uses one power cord I believe. You are saying that the 5870 uses two? If so, how many does the computer have?
Rokeneer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2012, 12:12 AM   #5
CaptainChunk
macrumors 68020
 
CaptainChunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rokeneer View Post
The one in it uses one power cord I believe. You are saying that the 5870 uses two? If so, how many does the computer have?
Yes, the 5870 uses two auxiliary PCIe power cables. All Mac Pro logic boards have two PCIe power headers. If you need three auxiliary feeds, you'll have to either branch off of an unused Molex power connector (like the one for the lower optical drive bay, assuming nothing's installed there) with an adapter or run a secondary PSU. Several companies make small PSUs that fit in an optical drive bay.

However...

Unless you plan on running more than two displays, there's very little point in keeping the old X1900XT in your machine after you upgrade. A newer card should run your older games just fine. Just keep in mind that 5770/5870 cards require Mac OS 10.6.4 or above to work (otherwise they won't have drivers). So, if you're running an older version of Mac OS, you'll need to upgrade first.
__________________
MP 8x2.8GHz, 16GB RAM, flashed 8800GT; Early '08
15" MBP 2.6GHz, 4GB RAM; Early '08 (RIP)
13" MBP 2.3GHz, 8GB RAM; Early '11

Last edited by CaptainChunk; Feb 27, 2012 at 12:17 AM.
CaptainChunk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2012, 12:15 AM   #6
Rokeneer
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
I just found this. Will I be able to run this and the x1900 without stealing the second optical drive? http://milwaukee.craigslist.org/sys/2815287196.html

It'll also save around $400 compared to a 5870.
Rokeneer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2012, 12:45 AM   #7
Cindori
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Send a message via ICQ to Cindori Send a message via AIM to Cindori Send a message via MSN to Cindori Send a message via Yahoo to Cindori Send a message via Skype™ to Cindori
why would you want to keep your x1900?

its not like old games are only compatible with old graphic cards
__________________
Cindori .org - unique Mac software!
New release: Control Center for Mac!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2012, 07:20 AM   #8
strwrsfrk
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Arlington, VA, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rokeneer View Post
The one in it uses one power cord I believe. You are saying that the 5870 uses two? If so, how many does the computer have?
Yes, the 5870 would use two. If the x1900 uses a 6-pin PCIe power connector, then you can re-use its cable for whatever video card(s) you use to upgrade.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rokeneer View Post
Will I be able to run this and the x1900 without stealing the second optical drive? http://milwaukee.craigslist.org/sys/2815287196.html

It'll also save around $400 compared to a 5870.
That will probably run. If you browse the forums, you'll see that a lot of people (myself included) generally have luck with XFX cards. This is not the exact card I used, but it should be very similar. You should be able to find 5870s for less than $475. The Apple-specific card is that much, maybe, but PC components are not.

And if I understand your question about the 2nd optical drive correctly, then yes: if you simply swap a 5770 in in place of the x1900, you will not need to purchase or install any new cables.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainChunk View Post
If you need three auxiliary feeds, you'll have to either branch off of an unused Molex power connector (like the one for the lower optical drive bay, assuming nothing's installed there) with an adapter or run a secondary PSU. Several companies make small PSUs that fit in an optical drive bay.

However...

Unless you plan on running more than two displays, there's very little point in keeping the old X1900XT in your machine after you upgrade.
This. Once you start seriously adding more hardware that requires more power (like additional video cards), you're going to have a much more serious project on your hands. Very doable, but a hassle. And I HATE dealing with PSUs, so adding additional units are generally something I try and avoid.

My understanding breaks down a bit here. I think both the 5770s and 5870 will support three displays under Mac OSX using dual-link DVI (if I'm wrong, someone please correct me). If I am indeed wrong, and you require a second low-power card for your third monitor, might I suggest finding an original Apple 7300GT? It's a god awful card to use as your primary GPU, but for simply running an extra display, it should do nicely. It also has no additional power requirements other than the PCI slot: http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from...All-Categories.
__________________
iPhone 5; iPod Touch; iPod Nano
rMBP 15", 2.7GHz, 256GB SSD, 16GB RAM
MacBook, 2.4GHz, 64GB SSD, 320GB HDD, 4GB RAM
PC Custom, 4.2GHz 4770K, 16GB DDR3-2400, 1TB SSD, GTX 780
strwrsfrk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2012, 11:32 AM   #9
Rokeneer
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Ok, so what I understand is that any radeon hd 5xxx will work in it. I am however eyeing up the 6970. How many (if any) of the 6xxx gpu's work if I flash it to the Mac?
Rokeneer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2012, 12:15 PM   #10
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
deleted by user
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2012, 02:05 PM   #11
strwrsfrk
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Arlington, VA, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rokeneer View Post
Ok, so what I understand is that any radeon hd 5xxx will work in it. I am however eyeing up the 6970. How many (if any) of the 6xxx gpu's work if I flash it to the Mac?
Many people use 6870s OOB. No flash required.

Some people have reported success with the 6950s without flashing. There apparently is a 6970 ROM floating around, but I've never used it, so I cannot say as to its effectiveness. Something to keep in mind is that the 6970 uses a 6-pin and an 8-pin PCIe power cable, so you will need to get an adapter or something to properly power it.
__________________
iPhone 5; iPod Touch; iPod Nano
rMBP 15", 2.7GHz, 256GB SSD, 16GB RAM
MacBook, 2.4GHz, 64GB SSD, 320GB HDD, 4GB RAM
PC Custom, 4.2GHz 4770K, 16GB DDR3-2400, 1TB SSD, GTX 780
strwrsfrk is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best options for dual video cards in 2009 Mac Pro i-rui Mac Pro 8 Jun 23, 2014 02:18 PM
2 VIDEO cards in 2012 Mac Pro - QUESTION cbrock2010 Mac Peripherals 1 Apr 1, 2014 03:18 PM
Mac Pro Video cards MattDSLR Mac Pro 5 Dec 9, 2013 05:33 PM
Got a 2009 quad Mac Pro - video cards and questions! rondocap Mac Pro 1 May 31, 2012 12:19 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC