Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 29, 2012, 04:16 PM   #1
scrm
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
How can I toggle Wi-Fi on an Airport Extreme without losing settings?

I'd like to turn off the Wi-Fi network each night on my Airport Extreme, and re-open it in the morning. But the only way I can see to do this is by choosing 'Off' under 'Network mode' in Airport Utility; this means my previous Wi-Fi settings are not retained when I want to reopen the network.

Is there no easier way to do this?

Thanks!
scrm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2012, 04:17 PM   #2
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Make a new profile for it and switch between the two.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2012, 04:19 PM   #3
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Why do you turn WiFi off?
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2012, 04:33 PM   #4
scrm
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Make a new profile for it and switch between the two.
Can you please explain how to do that? I don't see an option in Airport Utility for profiles. I'm using 6.0.
scrm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2012, 04:35 PM   #5
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
AirPort Utility > Base Station > Manage Profiles.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2012, 04:48 PM   #6
scrm
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
AirPort Utility > Base Station > Manage Profiles.
Image
Great, thanks. Airport Utility 5.6 had the option; it wasn't in 6.0.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
AirPort Utility > Base Station > Manage Profiles.
Image
I don't suppose you know of any way this could be done automatically do you? So the AEBS would enable and disable Wi-Fi at certain times. E.g. with a third-party utility.
scrm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2012, 04:53 PM   #7
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrm View Post
I don't suppose you know of any way this could be done automatically do you? So the AEBS would enable and disable Wi-Fi at certain times. E.g. with a third-party utility.
You could GUI script it with Applescript.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 29, 2012, 05:00 PM   #8
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrm View Post
Great, thanks. Airport Utility 5.6 had the option; it wasn't in 6.0.
Sorry, I get AirPort Utility versions confused with the firmware for my AEBS.


Tested something. Copied my AirPort Utility 5.5.3 version from 10.6.8 to my Mac OS X 10.7 Lion VM and run it from the Desktop and it worked. I couldn't delete the AirPort Utility app in Utilities though, even via Terminal.

AirPort Utility 5.5.3 (zip, 11 MB)

Last edited by simsaladimbamba; Feb 29, 2012 at 05:06 PM.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2012, 10:26 AM   #9
jsrx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Hi, did you finally find a solution ?

I'd like to turn off the Wi-Fi network every night too (for people who asking why... because at night, my children sleep near the airport... so, I want to turn off wifi and not unplugged the airport every night !)

A solution is to desactivate it in Airport Utility, but when I want to activate it (create a new one) I have to configure it again !

Thanks for your help !
jsrx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2013, 06:11 PM   #10
Robster3
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Is their a option for turning wifi on and off with the the new airport extreme? Without causing problems. Can it be done in Utility.
Robster3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2013, 07:38 PM   #11
Giuly
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsrx View Post
Hi, did you finally find a solution ?

I'd like to turn off the Wi-Fi network every night too (for people who asking why... because at night, my children sleep near the airport... so, I want to turn off wifi and not unplugged the airport every night !)

A solution is to desactivate it in Airport Utility, but when I want to activate it (create a new one) I have to configure it again !

Thanks for your help !
I'd just take an Ethernet cable and relocate it.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2013, 10:52 AM   #12
Weaselboy
macrumors P6
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robster3 View Post
Is their a option for turning wifi on and off with the the new airport extreme? Without causing problems. Can it be done in Utility.
Yes... in this screen.

Thumb resize.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2013, 11:40 AM   #13
flynz4
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giuly View Post
I'd just take an Ethernet cable and relocate it.
How does that help toward his objective of not having his kids near the RF radiation all night.

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2013, 05:28 PM   #14
Giuly
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
Quote:
Originally Posted by flynz4 View Post
How does that help toward his objective of not having his kids near the RF radiation all night.

/Jim
By moving the source of the RF radiation out of the room.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2013, 05:41 PM   #15
flynz4
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giuly View Post
By moving the source of the RF radiation out of the room.
Got it... I thought your comment about "taking the ethernet cable and relocating it"... was about just disconnecting the cable... as if it was to prevent them from having internet access overnight.

I agree... that relocating the AE is the best option.

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2013, 02:32 PM   #16
Che Castro
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2009
So having the AirPort Extreme in the same room you sleep in will give you cancer ?
Che Castro is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2013, 02:21 AM   #17
Robster3
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsrx View Post
Hi, did you finally find a solution ?

I'd like to turn off the Wi-Fi network every night too (for people who asking why... because at night, my children sleep near the airport... so, I want to turn off wifi and not unplugged the airport every night !)

A solution is to desactivate it in Airport Utility, but when I want to activate it (create a new one) I have to configure it again !

Thanks for your help !
We just turn the modem off our new extreme is connected to overnight. The light just blinks orange and comes back on when the modem is turned back on, and everything reconnects with no problems, Sonos system too.
The new extreme is fantastic.
Robster3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2013, 04:03 PM   #18
ankh
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Same question; turn wifo off, leaving Ethernet on??

Same question here,
several others have re-asked it,
no answer yet for the current Airport, though it could be done with profiles in the prior versionl.l

How to turn off the radio side in the base station,
temporarily,
leaving the Ethernet side working, and
without having to redefine the wifi when starting the base station wifi again.

I'm still at 10.8.5 if that matters.

another way to ask the question would be -- how to back up the Airport Extreme settings and reinstall them instead of reconfiguring the wifi each time.

And, no (grin), I'm not eager to drill a hole in the case and put in an off switch for the radio.
ankh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2013, 12:30 AM   #19
powerstrokin
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Che Castro View Post
So having the AirPort Extreme in the same room you sleep in will give you cancer ?
In my house, the only room that seems to collect dead flies is the room with the wireless routers. I moved them to another room for a different reason, and that room then collected dead flies. (I live in the country, in the summer we leave doors open fairly often, it's not like we are dirty.)

Search around online or do your own tests. WiFi CAN and WILL kill things. Try keeping plants alive when they are near WiFi signal...
powerstrokin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2013, 01:05 AM   #20
priitv8
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Estonia
Quote:
Originally Posted by ankh View Post
another way to ask the question would be -- how to back up the Airport Extreme settings and reinstall them instead of reconfiguring the wifi each time.
AirPort Utility will allow you to export/import the config settings. But I believe your task could be handled more elegantly and with less manual work by setting up different config profiles (one with WLAN, one without) on the AirPort.
priitv8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2013, 09:47 AM   #21
ankh
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
> different config profiles (one with WLAN, one without)
> on the AirPort.

Unless I've completely missed something, changing the profile on the receiver doesn't affect the broadcast signal at all. The profile chooses whether or not to detect use the wifi signal.

I'm asking the original question, same one up there at the top of the page -- how can I toggle the Airport Extreme wifi signal, without losing the settings.
ankh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2013, 10:27 AM   #22
Bruno09
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Far from here
By using Airport Utility 5.6, you can create 2 profiles, one with wifi on, one with wifi off.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ankh View Post

Unless I've completely missed something, changing the profile on the receiver doesn't affect the broadcast signal at all. The profile chooses whether or not to detect use the wifi signal.
You do not change the profile on the receiver : the "wifi off" profile disables the wifi broadcast of the Airport device.

All other settings remain the same.


Last edited by Bruno09; Nov 9, 2013 at 10:33 AM.
Bruno09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2013, 03:44 PM   #23
paulrbeers
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Or you could just set specific rules for each wifi device so that even if someone tried yo connect they wouldn't have permission....
paulrbeers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2013, 04:18 PM   #24
ankh
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
OK, I found this:
https://discussions.apple.com/thread/5468344
about using Airport Utility 5.6.

Tradeoffs and complications.

For now, I'm exporting the Airport Extreme settings, turning wifi off -- then importing the settings later to get wifi back on.

Also found this:
---quote---
If you have already installed AirPort Utility 6, you can't reinstall AirPort Utility 5.6 just by running its installer because it detects that you have a newer AirPort Utility version and it doesn't let you install this older AirPort Utility.
You have to follow additional steps to reinstall AirPort Utility 5.6 > http://frank.is/mountain-lion-and-th...rport-utility/
---end quote---

and that leads further, with a caution that 5.6 won't work with Mavericks, and a link to a way to fix -that- ....

Last edited by ankh; Nov 9, 2013 at 04:43 PM.
ankh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2013, 04:24 PM   #25
Bruno09
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Far from here
You can use this : http://coreyjmahler.com/2013/10/24/a...0-9-mavericks/

Works like a charm for me and I use profiles (see screenshot above and below) to turn wifi on/off.

Bruno09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Tags
aebs, airport, airport extreme, wi-fi

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux: Issues with losing server in on-line gaming with airport extreme ac bking1000 Mac and PC Games 0 Mar 31, 2014 08:24 AM
Airport extreme moving settings from G5 to new G6? feeth Mac Peripherals 0 Dec 1, 2013 04:09 PM
Airport Extreme ac losing down speed to certain devices Julien Mac Peripherals 2 Jun 19, 2013 06:27 AM
AirPort Extreme - Any advanced settings missing? allR Mac Peripherals 1 Aug 29, 2012 02:48 PM
AirPort Extreme and Express - Backup settings? silverjam Mac Peripherals 5 Jul 9, 2012 11:00 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC