Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 16, 2008, 04:55 AM   #1
fab5freddy
macrumors 65816
 
fab5freddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Heaven or Hell
How to Avoid Huge Fees Abroad with iPhone....?

Is there any good advice to using your iPhone Abroad in Europe without
being charged through the nose....?

What should i do at cafes if i just want to surf the internet..?

and to receive calls in Europe how much is that ?

thanks!
fab5freddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 06:25 AM   #2
fastbite
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: London
Make sure that Data Roaming is OFF. Make sure that Mail auto check is manual. Have fun in Europe!
__________________
If the movie is a turkey, stuff it! http://www.turkeyornot.com/
fastbite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 06:41 AM   #3
mouchoir
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by fab5freddy View Post
Is there any good advice to using your iPhone Abroad in Europe without
being charged through the nose....?

What should i do at cafes if i just want to surf the internet..?

and to receive calls in Europe how much is that ?

thanks!
I went from Europe to the US in January and avoided any real change in my bill.

As the above poster says *turn off data roaming *this is the big money saver. Data roaming charges can be outrageous.

You just need to be disciplined and hold out for any FREE Wifi hotspots, of which you will find in most major cities. Use those opportunities to check mail and surf.

Regarding receiving calls, you need to check with your service provider for a list of rates.
mouchoir is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 08:55 AM   #4
yoman
macrumors 6502a
 
yoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: In the Bowels of the Cosmos
If you are with AT&T you can temporarily subscribe to a travel plan for a month at a time. I think its around an additional $25-30 but it cuts down on the phone charges substantially and allows you to use data up to a certain cap limit.
__________________
My first computer was an Apple IIGS at the meager age of 6 1/2 years.
I was raised with an APPLE and I will die with an APPLE.
yoman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 10:48 AM   #5
matthewHUB
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
unlock + local sim card?
__________________
iPad WIFI+3G 32Gb; Macbook Air 1.8 SSD; Powerbook 12" 1Ghz; iPhone 8gb (t-mobile); iPod Nano 8gb (red); AEBS; Airport Express; WD Passport 320gb (airdisk)
matthewHUB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 10:58 AM   #6
nickspohn
macrumors 68040
 
nickspohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthewHUB View Post
unlock + local sim card?
If he's just going there as a vacation or just temporary...
__________________
My Old Reviews: iPhone 4 | iPhone 3GS | iPhone 3G | iPhone
Macbook Pro 17inch Unibody Core i5
iPad 4
nickspohn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 01:01 PM   #7
fab5freddy
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
fab5freddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Heaven or Hell
So, Is it possible to use the iPhone as an iPod Touch....
when abroad in Europe ? ( to avoid the data roaming charges )
fab5freddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 01:14 PM   #8
acfusion29
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Send a message via AIM to acfusion29
Quote:
Originally Posted by fab5freddy View Post
So, Is it possible to use the iPhone as an iPod Touch....
when abroad in Europe ? ( to avoid the data roaming charges )
Well, there is WiFi, there is an iPod... so yes?

Leave your sim card at home if your scared about your bill.
acfusion29 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 01:53 PM   #9
fab5freddy
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
fab5freddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Heaven or Hell
ok, but the question is:

Will the iPhone work without the SIM card...?
fab5freddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 02:01 PM   #10
SilentLoner
macrumors 65816
 
SilentLoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by fab5freddy View Post
ok, but the question is:

Will the iPhone work without the SIM card...?

Yes as long as its already been activated.
SilentLoner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 03:17 PM   #11
skwoytek
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by fab5freddy View Post
So, Is it possible to use the iPhone as an iPod Touch....
when abroad in Europe ? ( to avoid the data roaming charges )
As the other people have said, yes.

If you are trying to avoid data roaming charges...

Settings -> General -> Network -> Data Roaming:Off
skwoytek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 03:56 PM   #12
fab5freddy
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
fab5freddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Heaven or Hell
ok, thanks !
because AT&T are going to try to rip you off
any way they can to milk you of roaming charges !
fab5freddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2008, 05:59 PM   #13
SilentLoner
macrumors 65816
 
SilentLoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by fab5freddy View Post
ok, thanks !
because AT&T are going to try to rip you off
any way they can to milk you of roaming charges !
unless you answer your calls and dont use data no.
SilentLoner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2008, 09:19 AM   #14
hondje
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Bend, IN
Unlock iPhone or Use RAZR

I have a similar question. I'm flying to the Netherlands for a week. I do have a T-Mobile SIM for the Netherlands, as I lived there for a year, and still have a plan there (just call time). Wondering if it is worth unlocking my phone for this and then relock it when I return. I'm running 1.1.4. How would I go about unlocking it? Or would it be better to just use my old unlocked RAZR and use the iPhone as an iPod? Thanks for your help.
hondje is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2008, 09:28 AM   #15
carfac
macrumors 65816
 
carfac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by hondje View Post
I have a similar question. I'm flying to the Netherlands for a week. I do have a T-Mobile SIM for the Netherlands, as I lived there for a year, and still have a plan there (just call time). Wondering if it is worth unlocking my phone for this and then relock it when I return. I'm running 1.1.4. How would I go about unlocking it? Or would it be better to just use my old unlocked RAZR and use the iPhone as an iPod? Thanks for your help.
For you, I would recommend unlocking. The OP looked like they did not need/want phone service while there, so unlocking did not seem like a good proposition for him. For you, though, you seem to need ot want phone service- the only way is to unlock. Then you should be just fine.

Unlocks have come a long way-you CAN reverse them if you want "no trace" left". I would recommend the iPlus unlock for you, they d/g the BL to 3.9, but with a special hack so you can upgrade it back to 4.6 when you are done. (I am not sure HOW to upgrade it back- that is a GOOD question!)

For me, since I am T-Mo in the US, I am just get a local pre-paid when I am over in Europe. Seemless.
carfac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2008, 09:29 AM   #16
zainjetha
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
unlock it and then when you return restore and re-activate with ur old sim again.. nobody will ever know the difference....
zainjetha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2008, 09:51 AM   #17
hondje
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Bend, IN
Well that seems to make sense. iPlus says it is completely reversible. Has anyone tried reversing it? Safe? Seems a lot more fun than using my RAZR! Thanks for the help.
hondje is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2008, 01:52 AM   #18
fab5freddy
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
fab5freddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Heaven or Hell
that is true that i don't want to pay huge roaming costs while abroad,

but it would still be nice to be able to make super short calls and receive some short calls as well while over in europe, but the data charges are what i am afraid of........
fab5freddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2008, 12:23 PM   #19
TranceNW
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Turn off data roaming, dont check your emails or surf the internet using the cell network. Make your calls very short.

Its all a matter of common sense.
TranceNW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2012, 02:39 PM   #20
windsurfer12
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
iPhone-no sim card

Quote:
Originally Posted by SilentLoner View Post
Yes as long as its already been activated.
Can I use my iPhone in the South Pacific without the sim card
windsurfer12 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using iPhone abroad abz1981 iPhone 12 Mar 6, 2014 08:46 PM
iPhone 5 preorder (will there be any future fees?) bszelda iPhone 1 Sep 14, 2012 12:34 PM
4s owners how much is the new iPhone going to cost you? (termination fees incl) bobright iPhone 12 Sep 13, 2012 03:06 PM
Do you have to pay activation fees if you order an iPhone to ship to home? DBZmusicboy01 iPhone 5 Aug 10, 2012 11:47 AM
Taxes/fees for shipping iphone to europe dadude77 iPhone 6 Jul 19, 2012 03:41 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC