Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > iOS Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 2, 2012, 03:13 PM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Hack Allows Developers to Start Testing iPad Retina Display in iOS Simulator




With a Retina iPad 3 expected just next week, one developer has created a small utility that allows the iPad simulator to run in 2X mode. The utility is available from Ryan Petrich.

In order to run it on the latest version of Xcode, you will need to symlink /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer to /Developer and /Developer4.

Meanwhile, stroughtonsmith shows how his app SameGame looks in the Retina iPad emulator running on his 27" iMac:




Click on image to see full size.

Apple is widely expected to release a Retina-enabled iPad 3 next week at their media event. If rumors are to believed, the iPad 3 should be available within a week or so of the announcement. That would leave developers little time to Retina-ize their current iPad apps if they wait until the day of the announcement.

Article Link: Hack Allows Developers to Start Testing iPad Retina Display in iOS Simulator
MacRumors is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2012, 03:19 PM   #2
hasanahmad
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
could a worse example be chosen?
hasanahmad is offline   17 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2012, 03:22 PM   #3
LastLine
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Perhaps not - but it's true, we'll all be left to scramble if they announce a @2x. Could be....interesting.
LastLine is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2012, 03:30 PM   #4
chrmjenkins
macrumors 601
 
chrmjenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by hasanahmad View Post
could a worse example be chosen?
Thumb resize.
__________________
Twitter: @anexanhume
chrmjenkins is offline   26 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2012, 03:51 PM   #5
slicecom
macrumors 68000
 
slicecom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrmjenkins View Post
Thumb resize.
I think that might still actually be better.
slicecom is offline   16 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2012, 04:10 PM   #6
Pakaku
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Why do I find it so funny that it can't even be fully displayed on a 27" screen...
Pakaku is offline   14 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2012, 05:04 PM   #7
jayducharme
macrumors 68000
 
jayducharme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The thick of it
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pakaku View Post
Why do I find it so funny that it can't even be fully displayed on a 27" screen...
Not only that, but the pixel density isn't the same. So even if it fit properly, you still wouldn't get the full effect.

I've been nudging our college to upgrade the classroom display equipment. Many classrooms have projectors with 800x600 resolution. With more teachers adopting iPads and wanting to display the contents, the current equipment will prove woefully inadequate.
jayducharme is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2012, 05:35 PM   #8
Shrink
macrumors Demi-God
 
Shrink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New England, USA
WOW...buttony, color thingys.

I want to buy a lot of whatever that is.

Maybe as an example go the amazingness of Retina display...not so good.
__________________
Two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe. -- Albert Einstein
Shrink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2012, 05:50 PM   #9
jdiamond
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Hey - look at the upper right of his title bar!

I recognize the bluetooth and wireless, but what are all those other icons? What kind of really cool software does this person have?

Drooolllll.....
jdiamond is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2012, 07:26 PM   #10
JohnNH
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

SameGame caused a reboot of my iPhone 4 nice example
JohnNH is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2012, 08:21 PM   #11
wahvtec
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
title bar upper right

I am also interested in knowing what icons those are for?
wahvtec is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2012, 11:13 PM   #12
.BMD
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdiamond View Post
I recognize the bluetooth and wireless, but what are all those other icons? What kind of really cool software does this person have?

Drooolllll.....
(from left)

1st is Google Music
3rd is Twitterrific
5th is Drop Box
10th is iChat
.BMD is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2012, 09:24 AM   #13
charlituna
macrumors 604
 
charlituna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
But is this hack actually correct. It seems like it isn't. From the description this emulator is making the pixels double the size akin to the blowing up of an iPhone app on an iPad. But that isn't what the retina screen does. It's more like cutting the pixels in half to shove more into the same space.
charlituna is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2012, 11:19 AM   #14
Xenc
macrumors 6502a
 
Xenc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: London, England
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by charlituna
But is this hack actually correct. It seems like it isn't. From the description this emulator is making the pixels double the size akin to the blowing up of an iPhone app on an iPad. But that isn't what the retina screen does. It's more like cutting the pixels in half to shove more into the same space.
To view the rumoured four times the number of pixels, you need to double the width and height - which is exactly what is being done here. Density is hardware based (ie. the physical number of pixels per inch).
__________________
Next Bus London for iPhone - 100% Live bus times on your iPhone (Featured on ShinyShiny.tv and Wired.co.uk!)
Xenc is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2012, 11:23 AM   #15
Battlefield Fan
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Ugh, hopefully it doesn't take some app developers 2 years to update to retina for te iPad like it did with the iPhone. Lame.
Battlefield Fan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2012, 11:55 AM   #16
kayloh20
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlituna View Post
But is this hack actually correct. It seems like it isn't. From the description this emulator is making the pixels double the size akin to the blowing up of an iPhone app on an iPad. But that isn't what the retina screen does. It's more like cutting the pixels in half to shove more into the same space.
You're correct in what retina is, but remember that it is based on the actual screen. Therefore, if your screen doesn't support the resolution for the physical size of the screen, the only thing it can do is blow it up twice the size (which is what the iPhone 4 emulator does right now).

It's equivalent in terms of development (like making sure you have 2x versions of your images and whatnot).
kayloh20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2012, 12:43 PM   #17
tbobmccoy
macrumors 6502a
 
tbobmccoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Send a message via AIM to tbobmccoy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Battlefield Fan View Post
Ugh, hopefully it doesn't take some app developers 2 years to update to retina for te iPad like it did with the iPhone. Lame.
Even longer, likely...

Honestly, I'm concerned what this means for Universal Apps. iPhone 4 and iPad were close to the same resolution, now with the iPad greatly outpacing the iPhone's resolution, what devs are going to spend tons of time making Universal apps when they will want to recoup that cost by doing what Square-Enix, Rovio, etc companies do, make a higher priced "HD" iPad app instead of the Universal one.
__________________
Have: Mac mini (mid 2011 2.5ghz i5, 8GB, 500 GB, ATI Radeon 6630m 256mb), MacBook Pro (mid 2009, 2.8ghz Core2Duo, 4gb, 500gb HDD, nvidia 9600m GT), iPhone 5 32GB Black/Slate, iPad (2012) 32GB
tbobmccoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2012, 12:49 PM   #18
AppleHater
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I don't think every app needs to be in retina resolution. iBook and Kindle is a must but many others, people won't care. OK, I don't care.
AppleHater is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2012, 01:09 PM   #19
SandmanNet
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kayloh20 View Post
You're correct in what retina is, but remember that it is based on the actual screen. Therefore, if your screen doesn't support the resolution for the physical size of the screen, the only thing it can do is blow it up twice the size (which is what the iPhone 4 emulator does right now).
No it doesn't. The iOS simulator runs retina apps in full retina resolution. It doesn't double pixels unless the app doesnt support retina.
SandmanNet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2012, 06:51 PM   #20
pmz
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NJ
This made me think that Apple might have some new fangled way of using an actual iPad 3 tethered to a Mac as a live iPad simulator, in the new SDK for developing on the iPad 3.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleHater View Post
I don't think every app needs to be in retina resolution. iBook and Kindle is a must but many others, people won't care. OK, I don't care.
Every App needs to run the native resolution of the display its built for. /End of story.
pmz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2012, 09:08 PM   #21
scoobydoo99
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: so cal
Quote:
Originally Posted by .BMD View Post
(from left)

1st is Google Music
3rd is Twitterrific
5th is Drop Box
10th is iChat
9th is 1Password
__________________
scoob
scoobydoo99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2012, 11:41 PM   #22
gatortpk
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Melbourne, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobydoo99 View Post
"Originally Posted by .BMD
(from left)

1st is Google Music
3rd is Twitterrific
5th is Drop Box
10th is iChat"

9th is 1Password
Using Google reverse Image search (images.google.com) I figured that the the:
4th is to initiate the Air Video Server and
7th is the Mac AirVideo Client.app?

(Publicly known stuff reported on the web)
__________________
27" iMac 2.8GHz Quad Core i7, 32GB RAM; 15" MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz Core 2 Duo, 6GB; Third Generation iPad 64GB AT&T; iPhone 5 64GB; iPhone 5S 64GB; 2 x Apple TV (3rd Generation)
gatortpk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 02:29 AM   #23
ghostlines
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Amsterdam
Send a message via MSN to ghostlines
Think you'll have to really have a retina display to truly see the diff.
Here's hoping for an iMac retina display refresh in somewhere in April.
__________________
How do u like dem Apples? {}
Aluminum Macbook 2.4Ghz,8GB RAM, 120GB SSD; iPad 3; Mac Mini '11; iPhone4s; AppleTV2; iPod Nano 7
ghostlines is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 03:16 PM   #24
charlituna
macrumors 604
 
charlituna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandmanNet View Post
No it doesn't. The iOS simulator runs retina apps in full retina resolution. It doesn't double pixels unless the app doesnt support retina.
That's what I thought, which seems to be the opposite of this app and how it claims to be showing you the right details. But it isn't right. What they doing is basically the same as taking the same image and changing the resolution of your display. Really seeing the difference is more like taking the same image on the same display and changing it from 72dpi to 150dpi, cramming more and smaller info in the same space (making a crisper image)

All this tool will do is show you how crappy your app will lookso you'd better make new graphics. Which if that was the intent is great, although good developers will make the safe assumption and the new graphics anyway
charlituna is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2012, 06:58 AM   #25
anthonylambert
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK
Seriously, how are developers going to run the simulator for an iPad 3?

It won't fit on most peoples screens! unless your lucky to have an old 30" cinema display.
anthonylambert is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > iOS Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC