Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 14, 2011, 04:14 AM   #51
kevincredible
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by Radoo View Post
I heard the 2015 Macbook Pros will be awesome.
Not as good as the late-2016 MacBook Pros
kevincredible is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2011, 04:24 AM   #52
hleewell
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ct2k7 View Post
March/April 2012.
Apple has been known to release MacBook Pros in April. But if you want to see QuadCore in MacBook Pro 13", wait till June 2012. I will upgrade to the new MBP 13" if Apple put a discrete GPU along with a significantly faster SSD than the ones they put in MacBook Air 2011.
__________________
MacBook (Alum 2008)
Mac Mini (2010) - RIP
iPhone 5
iPad Air
hleewell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2011, 08:31 AM   #53
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stridder44 View Post
Rumors point to Q1 2012. However, that could mean as late as April.
Q1 ends in March. The latest word on Ivy Bridge is April-May.
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2011, 03:50 PM   #54
Eric S.
macrumors 68040
 
Eric S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Santa Cruz Mountains, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumors View Post
Apple may even have helped prompt the shift by threatening Intel with the potential loss of Apple's business.
Let's just hope Apple doesn't move off the Intel standard at this point. The combination has been highly lucrative; a switch to another CPU would only be a massive headache.
__________________
laptop: 2011 MBP Core i5 2.3GHz/8GB/750GB/Intel 3000/10.6.8
desktop: Core i7 920 2.66GHz/4GB/640GB/XFX GeForce 9600 GSO/10.6.3
previous: Mac Plus, IIci, PB 100, Quadra 840av, PowerMac G4, etc.
Eric S. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2011, 04:43 PM   #55
ct2k7
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Florida / UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by hleewell View Post
Apple has been known to release MacBook Pros in April. But if you want to see QuadCore in MacBook Pro 13", wait till June 2012. I will upgrade to the new MBP 13" if Apple put a discrete GPU along with a significantly faster SSD than the ones they put in MacBook Air 2011.
The only time they released a MBP in April for the past 6 years was in 2010.

Now, I don't mind having a quad-core with 13", but quad-core and 15" would be great as well. As long as I can have my 16GB RAM inside it though.
ct2k7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2011, 04:56 PM   #56
Yumunum
macrumors 65816
 
Yumunum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: U.S.
It's looking more and more likely that my next computer won't have to be an iMac...

I want a computer that will power a Thunderbolt display and game well at full resolution. I also will have a laptop no matter what, for taking notes at school, ect.

I may be able to have a laptop that's powerful enough for that... Oh, I can't wait. The future is definitely 100% portable devices. Desktop computers hopefully won't be needed for much.
Yumunum is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2011, 07:53 PM   #57
bigwig
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by azentropy View Post
I had a dog named Rockwell. He was a great dog.
Was he secretly being watched? (that's an 80's music video reference, for those who don't get it)

Last edited by bigwig; Sep 14, 2011 at 08:02 PM.
bigwig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2011, 12:10 PM   #58
Manic Mouse
macrumors 6502a
 
Manic Mouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
The difference between a 13' MBA and the 13' Pro isn't really enough to warrant having both in the product line at the moment IMO. I would love for them to shake up the ecosystem by differentiating them better.

Have the pro-line operate with BOTH SSD (128Gb for OS and apps) and a large HDD for data. Remove the CD drive to allow bigger battery in the 15/17' and enable space for a dedicated GPU in the 13'. And of course, with these new 35W quad-cores they can go quad core across the line. Having a dedicated GPU in the 13' would be an absolute killer feature and fully differentiate it from the 13' air, and I'm sure ditching the optical drive would allow plenty of room for it (I replaced mine with an SSD drive and the caddy takes up at least 25% the internal space of my 13' MBP).
__________________
MacBook Pro 13": 2.53Ghz C2D, 4Gb RAM, 500Gb HDD, OSX 10.6.0
iPhone 3G 16Gb
PS3; Xbox 360; Wii; PSP; DS
Manic Mouse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2011, 05:17 PM   #59
saback
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manic Mouse View Post
The difference between a 13' MBA and the 13' Pro isn't really enough to warrant having both in the product line at the moment IMO. I would love for them to shake up the ecosystem by differentiating them better.

Have the pro-line operate with BOTH SSD (128Gb for OS and apps) and a large HDD for data. Remove the CD drive to allow bigger battery in the 15/17' and enable space for a dedicated GPU in the 13'. And of course, with these new 35W quad-cores they can go quad core across the line. Having a dedicated GPU in the 13' would be an absolute killer feature and fully differentiate it from the 13' air, and I'm sure ditching the optical drive would allow plenty of room for it (I replaced mine with an SSD drive and the caddy takes up at least 25% the internal space of my 13' MBP).
That´s what I am waiting for + 3G internal!!!
saback is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2012, 01:52 AM   #60
smulji
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by hleewell View Post
Apple has been known to release MacBook Pros in April. But if you want to see QuadCore in MacBook Pro 13", wait till June 2012. I will upgrade to the new MBP 13" if Apple put a discrete GPU along with a significantly faster SSD than the ones they put in MacBook Air 2011.
If Apple does keep the 13" MB Pro around, it will be differentiated from the 13" MBA in 2 ways;

1. Quad-core CPU
2. 8GB of RAM Max (instead of 4GB)

I highly doubt there will be a discrete GPU in the 13" MB Pro. And instead of HDD, you'll see SSD as standard.

Even with just these specs I would buy one.
smulji is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2012, 11:09 PM   #61
hleewell
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by smulji View Post
If Apple does keep the 13" MB Pro around, it will be differentiated from the 13" MBA in 2 ways;

1. Quad-core CPU
2. 8GB of RAM Max (instead of 4GB)

I highly doubt there will be a discrete GPU in the 13" MB Pro. And instead of HDD, you'll see SSD as standard.

Even with just these specs I would buy one.
There will be enough space for a discrete GPU as the new Ivy Bridge is significantly smaller than Sandy Bridge CPU but who knows what Apple would do. And yes, they need to differentiate MacBook PRO from MacBook AIR. I see the AIR has a few problems playing Hi Bit Rate full HD videos, that's just too bad.
__________________
MacBook (Alum 2008)
Mac Mini (2010) - RIP
iPhone 5
iPad Air
hleewell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2012, 12:08 AM   #62
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by hleewell View Post
And yes, they need to differentiate MacBook PRO from MacBook AIR.
I agree with you here because most of the differentiation is in configuration options that are most appealing to users who are more likely to go for the 15" in my opinion. It seems like people who are kind of on the edge there get pulled in by the 13" Air and people who need this as more of a replacement desktop go for the 15" and quad cpus straight out.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2012, 12:20 AM   #63
ImperialX
macrumors 65816
 
ImperialX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Send a message via Skype™ to ImperialX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
You might be looking to Samsung for that.
Or Sony.
__________________
iMac 27" | MBA 11.6" | Retina iPad Mini | iPhone 5S
3DS | Nexus 7 II | Kindle Paperwhite | EOS 6D | 24-70/2.8L II | 70-200/2.8L IS II
ImperialX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2012, 01:16 AM   #64
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImperialX View Post
Or Sony.
Sony gets some exotic models but they love to bog them down with all of their software. They should stick to a clean Windows install and a Sony hub that connects to other Sony hardware but leave it at that. They try to put the crossbar on everything, even in Windows!
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2012, 04:51 AM   #65
Steve121178
macrumors 68000
 
Steve121178's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sacird View Post
Apple has always had a major erection for the MBA.
Haven't we all?
__________________
13" rMBP Haswell i5/16GB/512GB (Late '13) • 21.5" iMac i5/16GB/1TB Fusion (Late '12) • iPhone 5s 32GB • iPad rMini 32GB
Steve121178 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2012, 10:35 AM   #66
Eric S.
macrumors 68040
 
Eric S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Santa Cruz Mountains, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve121178 View Post
Haven't we all?
No.
__________________
laptop: 2011 MBP Core i5 2.3GHz/8GB/750GB/Intel 3000/10.6.8
desktop: Core i7 920 2.66GHz/4GB/640GB/XFX GeForce 9600 GSO/10.6.3
previous: Mac Plus, IIci, PB 100, Quadra 840av, PowerMac G4, etc.
Eric S. is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2012, 07:08 PM   #67
ImperialX
macrumors 65816
 
ImperialX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Send a message via Skype™ to ImperialX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
Sony gets some exotic models but they love to bog them down with all of their software. They should stick to a clean Windows install and a Sony hub that connects to other Sony hardware but leave it at that. They try to put the crossbar on everything, even in Windows!
Well, it doesn't matter much because you can just wipe the computer yourself after you get it with a fresh Windows install.

It's not like Samsung doesn't like to bog down their machines with proprietary software. Just not as excessively as Sony and HP.
__________________
iMac 27" | MBA 11.6" | Retina iPad Mini | iPhone 5S
3DS | Nexus 7 II | Kindle Paperwhite | EOS 6D | 24-70/2.8L II | 70-200/2.8L IS II
ImperialX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 06:02 AM   #68
gto55
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Do you think MB Pro with Ivy Bridge will come with USB 3 ?
Here is a review of the new plateform and some USB 3 benchs
http://vr-zone.com/articles/ivy-brid...w/15202-4.html
gto55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 06:10 AM   #69
xinu
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Finland
I wish they made AntiGlare screens by default like PowerBooks did..

Who really wants glossy screens and watch their own face all the time from the reflection? Nobody, it is just business. With that glass they "improve" the quality to look crisper and AntiGlare screens are more expensive to make look as good? I cannot find any other reason for glossy screens in every laptop out there..

And 45w TDP for laptop is insanely high. It will burn your nuts.
xinu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 12:06 PM   #70
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by gto55 View Post
Do you think MB Pro with Ivy Bridge will come with USB 3 ?
Here is a review of the new plateform and some USB 3 benchs
http://vr-zone.com/articles/ivy-brid...w/15202-4.html
USB 3.0 support is built into the PCH and will not take up any additional PCB space for a controller.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel roadmap reveals 10-core Xeon E5-2600 V2 Ivy Bridge CPU vander Mac Pro 30 Mar 25, 2013 05:10 PM
Ivy Bridge Quad Core Refresh on rMBP? boto MacBook Pro 27 Oct 13, 2012 04:41 AM
Ivy Bridge v/s Sandy Bridge & why Apple might skip Ivy for iMac ? mjoshi123 iMac 6 Sep 15, 2012 11:27 AM
Ivy Bridge Pros - Why no Battery Life Improvement? OSMac MacBook Pro 5 Jun 14, 2012 08:52 AM
Intel Launches Dual-Core and Ultra-Low Voltage Ivy Bridge Processors MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 124 Jun 7, 2012 03:13 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC