Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 4, 2012, 03:13 AM   #1
ivorito
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
What RAM do I need to buy?

Hi, i have the 2010 uni-body white mac book. It has the 2.4 GHz core 2 duo processor. Apple says that the maximum RAM is 4Gb but numerous other sources say it is 8GB. At the moment i have 4Gb, but i would like to upgrade to 8. No idea what RAM i need to buy though... Any suggestions? I had a look on the crucial scanner thing but they seem to think it only goes up to 4GB too, so there were no 2*4Gb modules suggested. (if you do use a link, it would be preferable if it was for the UK :P )
Thanks very much

----------

Sorry, I probably should of left a link to one. Would this one work?
http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/part...e=pd_google_uk
ivorito is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 03:19 AM   #2
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Run the scanner from Crucial, it will tell you exactly what you can install:


http://www.crucial.com/uk/systemscanner/MacOS.aspx
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 03:33 AM   #3
ivorito
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman45 View Post
Run the scanner from Crucial, it will tell you exactly what you can install:


http://www.crucial.com/uk/systemscanner/MacOS.aspx
I did earlier, as i tried to say, but it only says it goes up to 4GB for my Mac-book. However, many other places say it actually goes up to 8Gb so crucial did not tell me what modules i can use for 8Gb.
ivorito is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 03:50 AM   #4
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
If Crucila says 4, then 4 it probably is...They don't tend to get it wrong often.
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 04:04 AM   #5
ivorito
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman45 View Post
If Crucila says 4, then 4 it probably is...They don't tend to get it wrong often.
Yeah but I'm pretty sure other sources say otherwise:

Every-mac say its 8gb (follow link, on specs near the bottom)
http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl...010-specs.html

Mactracker also say 8Gb is maximum, and having read some threads on forums, it seems many people have done the upgrade...
ivorito is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 04:19 AM   #6
tug
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: loughborough. u.k.
found this;http://www.cclonline.com/product/360...Stick/RAM5985/

but this one is 1066mhz, mine takes 1067mhs ddr3. i don't know if it makes any difference, but would like to know.
__________________
21.5 imac, 2.7GHz intel core i5, atv 2, iphone 5
i blah,blah,blah, blah,
tug is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 04:22 AM   #7
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
From past experience that RAM should work fine...If you install RAM that's faster than your Mac supports, my understanding is that it will simply run at the max speed your LB and system allows.
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 04:31 AM   #8
tug
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: loughborough. u.k.
great to know bud, thanks for that, i think I'm just gonna go to 6gb (1x 2gb + 1x4gb)

for what i do it should be all i need. sometimes practically max ram out when doin cpu intensive stuff (lowest i got to was 15mb free )
__________________
21.5 imac, 2.7GHz intel core i5, atv 2, iphone 5
i blah,blah,blah, blah,
tug is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 04:52 PM   #9
macmastersam
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Essex, england
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

Intel should be able to tell you if you know the exact model C2D CPU that that MacBook has, everymac should tell you if you don't know. Google the C2D model and find the intel result. They usually provide info like cores, features stuff like that. The even tell you how much mac RAM is allowed as well. So the information intel tell you is more Important because they know thier products inside out.
macmastersam is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2012, 05:33 PM   #10
logana
macrumors 65816
 
logana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmastersam View Post
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

Intel should be able to tell you if you know the exact model C2D CPU that that MacBook has, everymac should tell you if you don't know. Google the C2D model and find the intel result. They usually provide info like cores, features stuff like that. The even tell you how much mac RAM is allowed as well. So the information intel tell you is more Important because they know thier products inside out.
???????

Yes - Intel know more about how much ram a MacBook can support than anybody else !!! News to me - I think that the motherboard design might be a bit more important than the processor...

If you look at the link to the Crucial ram in the first post then you will notice that the 3rd or 4th comment about the 2 x 4GB PC8500 kit is from the owner of a white 2010 Unibody MacBook saying how well it works......
__________________
MacBook 7,1 - 2.4GHz 8GB 500GB, 32GB iPod Touch 4G
logana is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2012, 02:01 AM   #11
ivorito
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by logana View Post
???????

Yes - Intel know more about how much ram a MacBook can support than anybody else !!! News to me - I think that the motherboard design might be a bit more important than the processor...

If you look at the link to the Crucial ram in the first post then you will notice that the 3rd or 4th comment about the 2 x 4GB PC8500 kit is from the owner of a white 2010 Unibody MacBook saying how well it works......
Derpy derpy derp... Thankyou very much... I just posted that link very quickly without looking it over much. Thanks, i shall get that.
ivorito is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buy 4gb ram MBA on sale for $950, or pay $1200 for 8gb ram model? Jitster MacBook Air 11 Dec 18, 2013 12:00 PM
What brand of Ram can i buy from Best buy for mac book Pro? michael31986 MacBook Pro 12 Nov 19, 2013 11:18 AM
What RAM to buy? gerygg MacBook Pro 5 Aug 7, 2013 07:27 AM
To buy and where to buy 6GB ram for iMac? flyersgl iMac 7 Sep 13, 2012 03:55 PM
Where to buy RAM? M03 MacBook Pro 7 Jul 26, 2012 03:05 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC