Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 30, 2012, 02:02 AM   #1
jacob078
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Camcorder not being detected

i just recently got a mac mini and today i got a firewire 800 to 4 pin but it doesnt seem to detect my camera, but it shows on the camera that its connected. any help?
jacob078 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2012, 02:06 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Where do you see, that it is not connected?
Have you opened iMovie yet or QuickTime Player to record from the Mini DV camcorder's tapes?
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2012, 02:15 AM   #3
jacob078
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
ive tried it both in imovie and final cut pro, nothing happens
jacob078 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2012, 02:19 AM   #4
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacob078 View Post
ive tried it both in imovie and final cut pro, nothing happens
Then what camcorder model is it, what exact Mac with what exact Mac OS X iMovie and FCP version do you use and is the camcorder recognised via System Profiler / Hardware > Firewire (System Information > System Report in )Mac OS X 10.7 Lion)?
And do you have any other cable to test?
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2012, 04:21 AM   #5
jacob078
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
its a sony handycam, dcr-hc46. i have fcp 7 and the latest of imovie. it doesnt show up in there, and i have lion
jacob078 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2012, 08:47 AM   #6
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacob078 View Post
its a sony handycam, dcr-hc46. i have fcp 7 and the latest of imovie. it doesnt show up in there, and i have lion
Then ... what exact Mac ... do you use and is the camcorder recognised via System Profiler / Hardware > Firewire (System Information > System Report in )Mac OS X 10.7 Lion)?
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2012, 10:10 AM   #7
fa8362
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I googled your camera. There are other people with similar problems. I suggest you use Google for a solution. I have a similar problem with older gear than yours. I often have to use a Canopus ADVC110 to get around it. The older gear is recognized in iMovie 08 and Final Cut 4.5 HD on a 2008 Macbook, but not in Final Cut X or iMovie 09 on a late 2009 Mini.
fa8362 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 12:29 AM   #8
jacob078
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Then ... what exact Mac ... do you use and is the camcorder recognised via System Profiler / Hardware > Firewire (System Information > System Report in )Mac OS X 10.7 Lion)?
its the 2011 model, i bought it brand new. it says "warning: unable to list firewire devices"

and i did google it but i couldnt find an answer.
jacob078 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 12:32 AM   #9
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacob078 View Post
its the 2011 model, i bought it brand new. it says "warning: unable to list firewire devices"

and i did google it but i couldnt find an answer.
The camera is set to PLAY mode? Otherwise I don't know what else to do, as I never saw that warning with any Firewire device, and I had dozens to work with.

Is the camcorder recognised in QuickTime Player > File > New Movie Recording?
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 12:38 AM   #10
jacob078
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
it works connects fine with a firewire 400 on my pc. but its not showing up in quicktime either. this is really annoying
jacob078 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 12:50 AM   #11
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Then I am at my wits end currently.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 01:37 AM   #12
jacob078
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
probably just going to have to take it in for some professional help
jacob078 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 01:58 AM   #13
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Thought the 2011 were Thunderbolt not Firewire. Nope seems the mid 2011 mini has both.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 02:17 AM   #14
jacob078
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
just tried it with another camera and still the same issue
jacob078 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2012, 02:42 AM   #15
jacob078
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
i ended up taking my mac mini back and getting the 2.5 ghz model, i exchanged the firewire cable for another, and tried it with even another camera. but i am still having the same message, "warning: unable to list firewire devices".
jacob078 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2014, 07:09 PM   #16
Fenway's Mom
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Mini DV video transfer to iMac

Apparently, with all of the newest technology, it is not possible to connect an older video camera with a 400 firewire/to800firewire to thunderbolt cables!! Has anyone found a program or anything that will allow you to connect an older camera to the iMac to transfer older videos, and mini digital videos, to the computer for editing and safe keeping?
Thank you!!
Fenway's Mom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2014, 07:36 PM   #17
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fenway's Mom View Post
Apparently, with all of the newest technology, it is not possible to connect an older video camera with a 400 firewire/to800firewire to thunderbolt cables!! Has anyone found a program or anything that will allow you to connect an older camera to the iMac to transfer older videos, and mini digital videos, to the computer for editing and safe keeping?
Thank you!!
Some people have had luck with connecting a FireWire 800 HDD in the chain though, meaning the camera is connected to the HDD and the HDD is connected to the Mac.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2014, 11:56 AM   #18
Fenway's Mom
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Thank you for your response. What is the HDD?? .... I guess the hard drive? But you are saying connect the camera to a hard drive ?? Not sure how you could do that? My computer does not recognize the camera?
Fenway's Mom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2014, 12:13 PM   #19
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fenway's Mom View Post
Thank you for your response. What is the HDD?? .... I guess the hard drive? But you are saying connect the camera to a hard drive ?? Not sure how you could do that? My computer does not recognize the camera?
Yes, HDD is short for Hard Disk Drive, the storage medium with the spinning platters coming in sizes ranging from 500 GB to 4 TB or even 6 TB nowadays.

I just thought, you might have a Firewire 800 HDD for back up purposes or storing video footage or know someone, that has one, and thus could connect that HDD between the camera and the computer (TB Firewire adapter), as that has helped many people with FW800 ports and FW400 4-pin camcorders before. I do not know, why it works technically, but my guess would be, that the FW800 HDD has a compatible chipset and the FW400 camcorder gets spliced through that.

simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2014, 08:34 PM   #20
pianoman88
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
I had similar issues with a Sony camera

I discovered that it isn't supported in newer versions of iMovie/Final Cut. Do a Google search of supported cameras for the software that you plan on using and check if your camera appears on the list of supported devices. You may need to purchase a newer camera. Sad.
pianoman88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD not being detected Mr MM MacBook Pro 5 Jun 17, 2013 01:35 PM
External HD not Detected jwatkins1234 Mac Peripherals 3 Jan 28, 2013 07:21 AM
Apple TV: ATV2 Not Detected dinggus Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 4 Dec 15, 2012 04:29 PM
HD not detected? Need some help! Fairlyawesome MacBook Pro 12 Nov 27, 2012 10:02 AM
EasyCAP not detected lukejm7367 Mac Peripherals 0 Aug 21, 2012 07:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC