Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 22, 2012, 11:15 PM   #1
-BigMac-
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
6950 Flashing to 6970 on Mac Pro

hi guys,
i bought a amd 6950 1gb for my Mac Pro.
works perfectly both under mac and bootcamp.

my question is:
flashing the 6950 to a 6970 is simple..
but its a BIOS flash?? does Bootcamp have a Bios?
as far as i know it has EFI right?

So how do you flash the card under Bootcamp?

Thanks a lot
-BigMac- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 03:09 PM   #2
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by -BigMac- View Post
hi guys,
i bought a amd 6950 1gb for my Mac Pro.
works perfectly both under mac and bootcamp.
Perfectly? In OS X?
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2012, 11:18 PM   #3
-BigMac-
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by ActionableMango View Post
Perfectly? In OS X?
yep. got recognised as AMD 6XXX 1024mb Graphics card. not a single problem as far as i can tell so far
-BigMac- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2012, 10:44 AM   #4
gpzjock
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Interesting.

Nice to see the 6950 is working for you, do you mind telling me which OS X version you are using and any mods you needed?
gpzjock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 08:44 PM   #5
100Years
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
I'd be interested in this too...been toying with the idea of trying out a 6970 in my 2010 Pro running Mountain Lion DP2.
100Years is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 09:34 PM   #6
-BigMac-
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpzjock View Post
Nice to see the 6950 is working for you, do you mind telling me which OS X version you are using and any mods you needed?
at the time i was running 10.8 dev 1 i believe. Right now i am running dev 3. all is runnning well, except i dont get white apple logo boot screen. that isnt a problem for me, since i reboot like once a month

Quote:
Originally Posted by 100Years View Post
I'd be interested in this too...been toying with the idea of trying out a 6970 in my 2010 Pro running Mountain Lion DP2.
I'm not sure about the 6970, heard mixed results with it. I can confirm that 6950 is running fine with my Mac Pro
-BigMac- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2012, 05:43 AM   #7
Cindori
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Send a message via ICQ to Cindori Send a message via AIM to Cindori Send a message via MSN to Cindori Send a message via Yahoo to Cindori Send a message via Skype™ to Cindori
You flash the card in bootcamp by opening a flashing tool and flashing it.

You are mixing up computer BIOS with GPU BIOS. See "Golden Guide" in my sig to learn more.

I don't recommend flashing to 6970 because ATI Windows drivers can BSOD because of it. It's better to keep it a 6950 Device ID but unlock shaders. Like, with Radeon Bios Editor (RBE).
__________________
Groths.org - new website!
Mac Pro Graphics
Mac hacks and news!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2012, 12:12 PM   #8
MacVidCards
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
see vendor information in user profile
Quote:
Originally Posted by -BigMac- View Post
at the time i was running 10.8 dev 1 i believe. Right now i am running dev 3. all is runnning well, except i dont get white apple logo boot screen. that isnt a problem for me, since i reboot like once a month



I'm not sure about the 6970, heard mixed results with it. I can confirm that 6950 is running fine with my Mac Pro
Hi, I just tried again with latest DP3 update, and as far as I know you are the only person with a fully functioning 6950/70 in DP3.

If you have a moment can you go post at Netkas as we would be curious how your card is working while the rest of us have had a "bag of hurt" since DP2.

DP1 was great, card worked well but since has required obnoxious patches, etc.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2012, 12:39 PM   #9
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by -BigMac- View Post
my question is:
flashing the 6950 to a 6970 is simple..
but its a BIOS flash?? does Bootcamp have a Bios?
as far as i know it has EFI right?

So how do you flash the card under Bootcamp?
Bootcamp has nothing to do with firmware, BIOS, or EFI. It can partition and format NTFS and has a catalogue of (old) drivers. That's it. Just FYI. Your Intel based Mac needs nothing to install or run Windows except a Windows installer.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2012, 08:45 PM   #10
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Is the 6950 working in 10.7.4? Flashed to 6970?
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Tags
6950, 6970, flash, mac pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6 Displays on Mac Pro 1.1 w/ Dual Radeon 5770 Ibrin Mac Pro 13 Feb 28, 2014 03:28 AM
Help needed: Sapphire 4870 HD Toxic flashed to run on Mac Pro 1,1 Renderz Mac Pro 6 Mar 6, 2013 03:14 AM
ATI 4870 1GB flashed to work on Mac Pro...any issues? nik911sc Mac Pro 10 Oct 2, 2009 03:24 AM
Flashing X1900 to run on Mac Pro aneks Mac Pro 14 Feb 2, 2008 11:41 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC