Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 24, 2012, 09:07 PM   #1
vishankparikh
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Angry Upgrading from 4.3.3 to 5.0.1 iPhone 4

Hey guys, i have an iPhone 4 locked with AT&T.

iPhone Details

iPhone 4
Current iOS - 4.3.3
Modem Firmware - 04.10.01


Want to Update my iPhone to iOS 5.0.1 (right now)(with Preserving Baseband)

Tried Snowbreez, custome restore from iTunes...error error error

Request you all to guide me through this update..

I also heard that apple have stopped signing 5.0.1

is there any other way to update my ios to 5.0.1...

Please here, Thanks in Advance..
vishankparikh is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 09:14 PM   #2
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by vishankparikh View Post
Hey guys, i have an iPhone 4 locked with AT&T.

iPhone Details

iPhone 4
Current iOS - 4.3.3
Modem Firmware - 04.10.01


Want to Update my iPhone to iOS 5.0.1 (right now)(with Preserving Baseband)

Tried Snowbreez, custome restore from iTunes...error error error

Request you all to guide me through this update..

I also heard that apple have stopped signing 5.0.1

is there any other way to update my ios to 5.0.1...

Please here, Thanks in Advance..
No reason to post this in 2 sections.

If you haven't updated to iOS 5.0.1 in the past and saved your SHSH and APTicket then there is no way to update to 5.0.1.
3bs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 09:19 PM   #3
vishankparikh
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3bs View Post
No reason to post this in 2 sections.

If you haven't updated to iOS 5.0.1 in the past and saved your SHSH and APTicket then there is no way to update to 5.0.1.
can i update to 5.1? with preserving Baseband?

and wait for the untethered?

and will the OLD Gevey sim unlock my iPhone on 5.1?
which also unlocks 4.3.3 on 04.10.01 BB?
vishankparikh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 09:20 PM   #4
JT17
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Are you on Windows or Mac? I might be able to help if you're on a PC.
JT17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 09:22 PM   #5
vishankparikh
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Pc

Quote:
Originally Posted by JT17 View Post
Are you on Windows or Mac? I might be able to help if you're on a PC.
I am on a PC (Laptop) Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit..

Thanks
vishankparikh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 09:26 PM   #6
JT17
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
You should have SHSH blobs for iOS 5.0.1. You can check by opening up Cydia and it should list all the blobs you have at the top.
JT17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 09:27 PM   #7
ZCherub
macrumors 6502a
 
ZCherub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: GA, USA
Not possible right now unless you have SHSH Blobs & APTicket for 5.0.1 saved. If you haven't been on 5.0.1 before, you don't have them saved and cannot update to 5.0.1.

Your only Jailbreak option now is 5.1 tethered JB using RedSn0w. Tutorials on iClarified.com tell you how to do this while preserving your modem firmware.

Good luck!
ZCherub is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 09:28 PM   #8
vishankparikh
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by JT17 View Post
You should have SHSH blobs for iOS 5.0.1. You can check by opening up Cydia and it should list all the blobs you have at the top.
I am Currently on 4.3.3

never ever updated to 5.0.1..

no blobs saved..
vishankparikh is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 09:30 PM   #9
JT17
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Sorry, I could have been mistaken. But I had iOS 5.0.1 blobs when I was on iOS 4.3.3. I must have downgraded or something.
JT17 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 09:30 PM   #10
ZCherub
macrumors 6502a
 
ZCherub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: GA, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by JT17 View Post
You should have SHSH blobs for iOS 5.0.1. You can check by opening up Cydia and it should list all the blobs you have at the top.
Why "should" he have blobs saved? He doesn't appear to have ever been on 5.0.1 before...
ZCherub is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 09:31 PM   #11
vishankparikh
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZCherub View Post
Not possible right now unless you have SHSH Blobs & APTicket for 5.0.1 saved. If you haven't been on 5.0.1 before, you don't have them saved and cannot update to 5.0.1.

Your only Jailbreak option now is 5.1 tethered JB using RedSn0w. Tutorials on iClarified.com tell you how to do this while preserving your modem firmware.

Good luck!
crap..np
just one more thing

will my OLD GEVEY unlock my iphone on 5.1 after preserving BB?

thanks buddy
vishankparikh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 09:33 PM   #12
ZCherub
macrumors 6502a
 
ZCherub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: GA, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by JT17 View Post
Are you on Windows or Mac? I might be able to help if you're on a PC.
Unless he's got blobs & APTicket - no you can't.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by vishankparikh View Post
crap..np
just one more thing

will my OLD GEVEY unlock my iphone on 5.1 after preserving BB?

thanks buddy
I'll let someone we chime in here since I haven't tried the Gevey unlock personally. Again, good luck!
ZCherub is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 09:36 PM   #13
vishankparikh
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZCherub View Post
Unless he's got blobs & APTicket - no you can't.

----------



I'll let someone we chime in here since I haven't tried the Gevey unlock personally. Again, good luck!
Sorry bro dint got you...

just tell me yes/no

will the GEVEY unlock my ios 5.1 (unjailbreaked) with preserving BB?

Thanks
vishankparikh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 09:49 PM   #14
ZCherub
macrumors 6502a
 
ZCherub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: GA, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by vishankparikh View Post
Sorry bro dint got you...

just tell me yes/no

will the GEVEY unlock my ios 5.1 (unjailbreaked) with preserving BB?

Thanks
In the first part of my post, I was talking to JR17.

In the second part, I was telling you I don't know about the Gevey unlock because I've never used it, & that I'd prefer to let a member that is experienced with it advise you since I don't want to steer you wrong.
ZCherub is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 09:52 PM   #15
vishankparikh
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZCherub View Post
In the first part of my post, I was talking to JR17.

In the second part, I was telling you I don't know about the Gevey unlock because I've never used it, & that I'd prefer to let a member that is experienced with it advise you since I don't want to steer you wrong.
Ok np bro...

i saved my blobs for 4.3.3

now updating to 5.1 with preserving BB..

let me know about the Unlock...asap

Thanks
vishankparikh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 10:55 PM   #16
swordfish5736
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belle View
Send a message via AIM to swordfish5736
if you know somebody with AT&T you may be able to get the phone unlocked permenantly and not have to worry about all that.
__________________
swordfish5736 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 11:30 PM   #17
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZCherub View Post
Why "should" he have blobs saved? He doesn't appear to have ever been on 5.0.1 before...
Cydia saves blobs for you automaticly once you start using Tinyumbrella or by hitting make my life easier in cydia.
So you dont have to be on 5.0.1 to have those full blobs saved for that version.
Applejuiced is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 12:06 AM   #18
Minhimalism
macrumors 6502a
 
Minhimalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Texas
To answer your question about the unlock- yes, Gevey should work with the preserved baseband. It did when 5.0 and 5.0.1 came out and I'm sure it shouldn't be a problem now.
__________________
iPhone 6; MacBook Air
Twitter Instagram Flickr deviantART
Minhimalism is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 03:22 AM   #19
vishankparikh
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minhimalism View Post
To answer your question about the unlock- yes, Gevey should work with the preserved baseband. It did when 5.0 and 5.0.1 came out and I'm sure it shouldn't be a problem now.
cool thanks buddy..

vl try and post here..
vishankparikh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 04:22 AM   #20
Krafty
macrumors 601
 
Krafty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: La La Land
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Cydia saves blobs for you automaticly once you start using Tinyumbrella or by hitting make my life easier in cydia.
So you dont have to be on 5.0.1 to have those full blobs saved for that version.
Question - what is APTicket? I have blobs saved on Cydia but I don't know what APTicket is.
__________________
Krafty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 05:46 AM   #21
NanoNyrd
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krafty View Post
Question - what is APTicket? I have blobs saved on Cydia but I don't know what APTicket is.
It is normally saved together with the blobs, so you don't notice that you have it. Unless you used TinyUmbrella to save blobs very early on, before they worked out how to bypass the "improved" shsh mechanism in iOS 5 then you will have them saved together with the other shsh blobs.
NanoNyrd is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 06:44 AM   #22
dhlizard
macrumors G3
 
dhlizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Jailbreak Community
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krafty View Post
Question - what is APTicket? I have blobs saved on Cydia but I don't know what APTicket is.
When TinyUmbrella was first updated for 5.0.1 firmware, it did not save the APTicket with the hash file. Subsequently, @notcom released a newer version of TU which did save the hash and APTicket file together.

So it was necessary to re-save and overwrite the older hash file with the newer, complete hash file after the updated TU came out.

The newest Redsn0w can verify if your 5.0.1 hash file has the APTicket
Extras-SHSH-Query
__________________
Two iPhone 5S
iPad 4 iPad Air AppleTV 2
MacBook Pro Two iMacs

Look for me here
dhlizard is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 09:23 AM   #23
Krafty
macrumors 601
 
Krafty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: La La Land
Quote:
Originally Posted by NanoNyrd View Post
It is normally saved together with the blobs, so you don't notice that you have it. Unless you used TinyUmbrella to save blobs very early on, before they worked out how to bypass the "improved" shsh mechanism in iOS 5 then you will have them saved together with the other shsh blobs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhlizard View Post
When TinyUmbrella was first updated for 5.0.1 firmware, it did not save the APTicket with the hash file. Subsequently, @notcom released a newer version of TU which did save the hash and APTicket file together.

So it was necessary to re-save and overwrite the older hash file with the newer, complete hash file after the updated TU came out.

The newest Redsn0w can verify if your 5.0.1 hash file has the APTicket
Extras-SHSH-Query
Alright, thanks for the replies. Probably gonna stay on 4.1 but I just wanted to know.
__________________
Krafty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 10:43 AM   #24
Dwalls90
macrumors 68040
 
Dwalls90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZCherub View Post
Why "should" he have blobs saved? He doesn't appear to have ever been on 5.0.1 before...
What this guy said ^^

If you've never been to 5.0.1, there's a slim chance Cydia save them automatically.
__________________
rMBP 4850HQ & iPhone 6
Dwalls90 is online now   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 12:32 PM   #25
ZCherub
macrumors 6502a
 
ZCherub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: GA, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwalls90 View Post
What this guy said ^^

If you've never been to 5.0.1, there's a slim chance Cydia save them automatically.
Actually, Applejuiced corrected me above & stated that Cydia can in fact save them without updating if the correct option is selected.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krafty View Post
Alright, thanks for the replies. Probably gonna stay on 4.1 but I just wanted to know.
As someone who just made the jump from 4.1 to 5.1, I would absolutely recommend the update!
ZCherub is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading iphone Chaelinxo iPhone 3 Apr 25, 2014 06:44 AM
Upgrading from an iPhone 4 to the iPhone 5s today!! What to expect? Knockworstface iPhone 27 Nov 8, 2013 04:15 AM
iPhone 5 vs iPhone 4s speed test..don't think I'll be upgrading superdudeo iPhone 24 Sep 22, 2012 11:15 AM
Question about upgrading from iPhone 4 to iPhone 5. First time upgrading. BluePhoenixRa iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Sep 22, 2012 12:14 AM
For those of you planning on upgrading to iPhone 5, where to trade/sell old iPhone? Newbie MacUser iPhone 15 Aug 26, 2012 05:11 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps