Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 1, 2012, 04:28 PM   #1
seanm9
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Thinking of Pulling the trigger on a new Mac

I have decided to replace my MBP 2,2 and get a desktop... I am 90% in the iMac Camp, but really like the idea of 12 TB of internal storeage, along with tinkering around inside a Mac Pro. Any how If I were to get a new iMac from the current lineup my only question is about the 27" iMac's GPU's. I have been looking all over to find out if the 2GB version of the 6970M is worth the upgrade from the 1GB version? BareFeats compared the i7 w/2G to an i5 with 1Gb and it was faster, but that is not comparing apples to apples...
seanm9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2012, 04:31 PM   #2
Apple fanboy
macrumors 603
 
Apple fanboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
I take it you realise they are about to release the new model. If your MBP is still working wait a few weeks. If you still want the 2011 model you could go refurb then and save a few quid.
__________________
iMac 21.5 2013, iPhone 6 Plus, iPad 2/4/Air Nikon D7100/D300 70-200 2.8/24-70 2.8/14-24 2.8/60 Macro 2.8/10.5 Fish eye 2.8
Apple fanboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2012, 04:54 PM   #3
chevalier433
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
wait for the 2012 line or think about a mac pro.iMac with its zero upgrade capabilities its a bad pain in the as@.
chevalier433 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2012, 05:40 PM   #4
seanm9
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cape Cod, MA
I realize that new Models are around the corner. But I am thinking in general....
There are plenty of benchmarks that show card x with 512MB of VRAM vs card x with 1GB of VRAM... and the boost that 1GB gives you... but the leap from 1GB to 2 GB is not documented that well... I am most likely waiting for the new Macs or WWDC to order, and assume that the Top of the line iMac will have similar CTO options as far as GPU's go... probably 7xxxM in both 1 and 2 GB versions (are there 3 or 4 GB GPU's out?) and... the new line up will also make my decision harder as I am hoping that the Tower's aren't dead yet...

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by chevalier433 View Post
wait for the 2012 line or think about a mac pro.iMac with its zero upgrade capabilities its a bad pain in the as@.
Saw a TB enclosure in Best Buy.... that will let me expand my storage to what i want in a MP
seanm9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2012, 05:49 PM   #5
TopToffee
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanm9 View Post
I realize that new Models are around the corner. But I am thinking in general....
There are plenty of benchmarks that show card x with 512MB of VRAM vs card x with 1GB of VRAM... and the boost that 1GB gives you... but the leap from 1GB to 2 GB is not documented that well... I am most likely waiting for the new Macs or WWDC to order, and assume that the Top of the line iMac will have similar CTO options as far as GPU's go... probably 7xxxM in both 1 and 2 GB versions (are there 3 or 4 GB GPU's out?) and... the new line up will also make my decision harder as I am hoping that the Tower's aren't dead yet...
From what people seem to think so far, it looks like the card will be the 7970M, which I believe ONLY comes in 2GB...

If I'm wrong on that, hopefully someone will correct me...
TopToffee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2012, 02:32 PM   #6
robgendreau
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Having seen the specs for CS 6 and Adobe's Mercury, I see where you're coming from regarding graphics. But I think you really need to look at how a given set of hardware works with the applications YOU use; what might work great for a particular game might not be as good a value for Photoshop.

The way things are going we may be lucky to be able to even upgrade the RAM on an iMac.

And who knows what Apple's gonna do with the Mac Pros? But at least now you can get one and do a bunch of mods on it to get where you wanna go.
robgendreau is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2012, 02:43 PM   #7
Murtagh
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by TopToffee View Post
From what people seem to think so far, it looks like the card will be the 7970M, which I believe ONLY comes in 2GB...

If I'm wrong on that, hopefully someone will correct me...
http://www.amd.com/us/products/notebook/graphics/7000m/7900m/Pages/radeon-7900m-series.aspx#2

You are correct, which is why I hope they make the 2gb the standard GPU in the 27" and make the BTO two 7970m's in crossfire

one can dream...
Murtagh is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pulled the trigger! No more iMac! Mac mini equals BEST value for money (for audio!) Pie Chips Salad iMac 42 Nov 18, 2013 12:51 AM
Pulling data off an old beige Power Mac G3 tower? sparkie7 PowerPC Macs 19 Jan 4, 2013 12:28 AM
Last Considerations Before Pulling the Trigger Krauser MacBook Pro 16 Dec 31, 2012 11:58 AM
Considering Refurbished Mac Mini. Would like some thoughts before pulling trigger. bsharrah Mac mini 11 Dec 1, 2012 01:20 AM
phones: who is pulling the trigger on a samsung galaxy s3? Eggtastic Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 13 Jul 11, 2012 03:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC