Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 4, 2012, 02:34 PM   #1
greg0rn
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Hardwire tv to imac, or router?

I just sold my Apple TV 2, but am missing the ability to stream music and photos downstairs to the TV set.

Running wire between the units is not much of a problem in my house. But what type, connectors, and where to hook it up to? Also, are there any distance restrictions? It will be about 20' (6m) in my case.

Please advice. Thanks.
__________________
gregn and 21.5" Imac, Time Capsule, IPad3 (love everything so far!)
greg0rn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 02:38 PM   #2
NewbieCanada
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by greg0rn View Post
I just sold my Apple TV 2, but am missing the ability to stream music and photos downstairs to the TV set.

Running wire between the units is not much of a problem in my house. But what type, connectors, and where to hook it up to? Also, are there any distance restrictions? It will be about 20' (6m) in my case.

Please advice. Thanks.
Does your TV support an Ethernet connection? What kind of computer do you have - a Mini has an HDMI connection, but other models will require a converter.
NewbieCanada is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 02:56 PM   #3
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
How to: Connect a MacBook, MacBook Air, or MacBook Pro to a TV
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 02:58 PM   #4
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by greg0rn View Post
I just sold my Apple TV 2, but am missing the ability to stream music and photos downstairs to the TV set.

Running wire between the units is not much of a problem in my house. But what type, connectors, and where to hook it up to? Also, are there any distance restrictions? It will be about 20' (6m) in my case.

Please advice. Thanks.
If you just sold your ATV2 what are you connecting to the TV set?
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 03:17 PM   #5
greg0rn
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I have LAN Ethernet connections on IMac, Time Capsule and TV. But blueroom has a good point. What am i going to use as a controller?
__________________
gregn and 21.5" Imac, Time Capsule, IPad3 (love everything so far!)
greg0rn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 05:56 PM   #6
iMarvin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: On the internet!
Quote:
Originally Posted by greg0rn View Post
I have LAN Ethernet connections on IMac, Time Capsule and TV. But blueroom has a good point. What am i going to use as a controller?
If you have everything in your iTunes library you could always use the apple remote app
iMarvin is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to build a home network but need to hardwire devices in two separate locations Mikeyswen79 Mac Peripherals 7 Jan 23, 2014 10:56 AM
Best WI-FI router for new iMac? MiniD3 Mac Peripherals 13 Aug 20, 2013 04:22 AM
System turns off when I hardwire? chrisgar4 MacBook Air 1 Jun 6, 2013 01:24 PM
iMac Router vs. Netgear router Tofray iMac 12 Jan 12, 2013 09:24 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC