Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 4, 2012, 12:24 PM   #1
brn2rnjk1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
final cut pro-help

My wife is doing a photo montage (with music) using FCP. All of a sudden, the program is running very slow or crashing after she puts in a transmission. It also claims we have over 2800 photos in the montage which isn't true. I don't know the program, but was wondering if there are duplicative stuff or something that is making the program slow down etc. Has anyone experienced this and have a suggestion/solution? It also stops rendering at spots.

We have a imac (intel) with 4G chip and over 200G left on the harddrive.
brn2rnjk1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 12:36 PM   #2
Paratel
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Somewhere in the US
Send a message via AIM to Paratel
Never experienced that issue with FCP. In my opinion, I would download fotomagico from the app store and use that for my montages. A whole heck of alot easier dealing with the transitions and audio expecially in FCP if you are using keyframes to add motion to your pics

Sounds like you might be taxing the RAM. How much ram is in the machine? FCP is RAM hungry!

http://www.boinx.com/fotomagico/overview/
__________________
2.66 Quad MacPro, 8GB Ram, 4 TB HDDs, 2 - 20inch Cinema Displays, TV, TV2, TV3iPhone 5, iPad 2 64gb
Paratel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 12:56 PM   #3
brn2rnjk1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Which version of Fotomagico do you use? Is it easy if you know iMovie etc. I assume it takes film clips also.

We have 4G internal.
brn2rnjk1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 01:22 PM   #4
Paratel
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Somewhere in the US
Send a message via AIM to Paratel
Fotomagico 3 Home. Works great! I even sometimes just export to a quicktime movie and drag it into FCP to do some tweaking.

You can view one I did recently for my Church if you would like.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-UJTj...e_gdata_player
__________________
2.66 Quad MacPro, 8GB Ram, 4 TB HDDs, 2 - 20inch Cinema Displays, TV, TV2, TV3iPhone 5, iPad 2 64gb
Paratel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 04:55 PM   #5
LethalWolfe
macrumors Demi-God
 
LethalWolfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
How big are the images? If you start asking FCP (are you using 7 or X) to scale down and move around dozens (hundreds?) of 4k or greater images it will start to crawl.
__________________
Looking For Lenny - documentary about comedian Lenny Bruce's timeless impact on stand-up comedy & Free Speech.
Netflix, iTunes, Amazon
LethalWolfe is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Final Cut Pro X + Motion and Logic Pro X or Adobe After Effects + Premiere? LOLZpersonok Digital Video 25 May 13, 2014 12:13 PM
Apple Updates Final Cut Pro X with 2013 Mac Pro Compatibility, 4K Content MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 106 Jan 1, 2014 07:50 PM
Major Disappointment: Using 15" Late 2013 MBP with Logic Pro X (and Final Cut Pro X) ooans MacBook Pro 21 Dec 29, 2013 06:05 PM
Final Cut Pro X and MacBook Pro retina (late 2013) nicolasonline Digital Video 6 Nov 9, 2013 03:57 PM
Converting XML from Final Cut Pro 7 to Final Cut Pro X and visa versa MacintoshMan Digital Video 1 Oct 11, 2012 04:24 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC