Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 4, 2012, 10:21 PM   #1
shurcooL
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Launchpad key is opening Dashboard on 2011 MBP?

I recently got a secondhand Early 2011 13" MacBook Pro. I've formatted the drive on it and installed a fresh version of OS X Lion 10.7.3 on it.

Its keyboard clearly has the Launchpad key (the F4), not a Dashboard key like the older pre-Lion MacBooks. However, pressing it opens Dashboard for some reason.

How is this even possible, and how can I fix it?

Here are my current keyboard settings:



All other keys work fine and as expected. E.g., pressing F3 runs Mission Control, F1/F2 adjust brightness, etc.

Note: I know I can fix it by checking "Use all F1, F2, etc. keys as standard function keys" option and binding F4 to open Launchpad - but I don't want to do this because some apps I use might need F4. I want the special function of F4 key to open Launchpad instead of Dashboard, the way it's supposed to work.
shurcooL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2012, 06:01 PM   #2
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Quote:
Originally Posted by shurcooL View Post
I recently got a secondhand Early 2011 13" MacBook Pro. I've formatted the drive on it and installed a fresh version of OS X Lion 10.7.3 on it.

Its keyboard clearly has the Launchpad key (the F4), not a Dashboard key like the older pre-Lion MacBooks. However, pressing it opens Dashboard for some reason.

How is this even possible, and how can I fix it?

Here are my current keyboard settings:

Image

All other keys work fine and as expected. E.g., pressing F3 runs Mission Control, F1/F2 adjust brightness, etc.

Note: I know I can fix it by checking "Use all F1, F2, etc. keys as standard function keys" option and binding F4 to open Launchpad - but I don't want to do this because some apps I use might need F4. I want the special function of F4 key to open Launchpad instead of Dashboard, the way it's supposed to work.
Try ticking the option anyway and test to make sure Launchpad indeed works that way. Then leave it, restart the computer, test it again. If it still works, then untick the option and see if Launchpad continues to work the way you expect it too. Maybe it needs a little motivation to act right.
__________________
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2012, 06:07 PM   #3
MadMitch89
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia
When did you buy this Mac? Keyboards before Lion was released have a dashboard key and not open launchpad.
__________________
I enjoy both Apple and Windows products and show no inclination to either - I simply want the best!
MadMitch89 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 12:07 AM   #4
shurcooL
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
Try ticking the option anyway and test to make sure Launchpad indeed works that way. Then leave it, restart the computer, test it again. If it still works, then untick the option and see if Launchpad continues to work the way you expect it too. Maybe it needs a little motivation to act right.
Well, if I set it to use F1, F2, etc. keys by default and map F4 to open Launchpad, then of course it opens when I press F4. But as soon as I use the 'special function' of that key it opens Dashboard instead of Launchpad.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMitch89 View Post
When did you buy this Mac? Keyboards before Lion was released have a dashboard key and not open launchpad.
I got it used, but it's an Early 2011 model which came with Lion AFAIK and on the physical keyboard, the F4 key is clearly marked with the Launchpad symbol (6 little squares), not the old Dashboard symbol like my 2008 MacBook.

I have a feeling I have to reset PRAM or NVRAM or something else along those lines maybe? Or I might just take it to an Apple Store. It's not a big deal, but I am curious and I'd like to have a Launchpad button (even tho I typically use the trackpad gesture for it anyway). This MacBook is so new it still has the 1-year warranty too.
shurcooL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 01:19 AM   #5
Dhelsdon
macrumors 65816
 
Dhelsdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canadian Eh!
Mine does the same thing. Tried the suggested method to no avail, have you reset your PRAM and NVRAM yet?
__________________
"13 Macbook Pro, 2.7GHz, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD
iPhone 4 S⃣ 32GB White
Dhelsdon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 01:26 AM   #6
flatfoot
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Apple menu -> System Preferences -> Keyboard -> Keyboard shortcuts.
__________________
Power Mac G5-i7 i7-870@3.52GHz, 8GB CL8 1600MHz RAM, GeForce 9600GT, 360GB internal SSD, 13TB storage + 12.25TB backup via HighPoint RR2314
MBA 2013 1.3 Ci5, 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD
iPod touch 4G 32GB
flatfoot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 01:57 AM   #7
JoshGlzBrk
macrumors 6502a
 
JoshGlzBrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
So I want to know the reverse. How can you get the launch pad key (F4) to bring up dashboard like it used to?
__________________
iPhone 5 16GB White (Verizon unlimited LTE) | 2012 15" rMBP 2.3GHz, 16GB, 256GB | iPad 3 | iPhone 4S | 2011 13" MBA | iPad 3 | iPhone 4 | iPhone 3GS | 2012 15" MBP (Sold 4/24/2012)
JoshGlzBrk is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 04:05 AM   #8
flatfoot
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshGlzBrk View Post
So I want to know the reverse. How can you get the launch pad key (F4) to bring up dashboard like it used to?
Quote:
Originally Posted by flatfoot View Post
Apple menu -> System Preferences -> Keyboard -> Keyboard shortcuts.
__________________
Power Mac G5-i7 i7-870@3.52GHz, 8GB CL8 1600MHz RAM, GeForce 9600GT, 360GB internal SSD, 13TB storage + 12.25TB backup via HighPoint RR2314
MBA 2013 1.3 Ci5, 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD
iPod touch 4G 32GB
flatfoot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 04:38 AM   #9
JoshGlzBrk
macrumors 6502a
 
JoshGlzBrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
I can only seem to get it to work when I do fn+F4 and not just F4 itself.
__________________
iPhone 5 16GB White (Verizon unlimited LTE) | 2012 15" rMBP 2.3GHz, 16GB, 256GB | iPad 3 | iPhone 4S | 2011 13" MBA | iPad 3 | iPhone 4 | iPhone 3GS | 2012 15" MBP (Sold 4/24/2012)
JoshGlzBrk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 10:12 PM   #10
shurcooL
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshGlzBrk View Post
So I want to know the reverse. How can you get the launch pad key (F4) to bring up dashboard like it used to?
We should trade our MacBooks lol... That'd solve both our problems.
shurcooL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 10:16 PM   #11
yusukeaoki
macrumors 68030
 
yusukeaoki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Seems like the first user of your MBP replaced the keys.
He too probably had Lion.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro (Early 2011), 2.2GHz i7-2720QM, 16GB RAM, 128GB SSD+1TB HDD@5400rpm
11" MacBook Air (Mid 2013), 1.7GHz i7-4650U, 8GB RAM, 512GB Flash
HTC J One (White) 32GB
yusukeaoki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 10:28 PM   #12
shurcooL
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by yusukeaoki View Post
Seems like the first user of your MBP replaced the keys.
He too probably had Lion.
Are you suggesting the laptop came originally with a pre-Lion keyboard that has a Dashboard special function on the F4 key, and this guy swapped that key for a... key that has a Launchpad picture on it instead of Dashboard?

That seems highly unlikely... o.O Although it would explain the problem really well. Can you even exchange individual keys on a MacBook Pro keyboard?

----------

I think I might've found the answer to my problem, it probably lies in this file:

~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.symbolichotkeys.plist

Source: https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0
shurcooL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 10:29 PM   #13
Medic278
macrumors 6502a
 
Medic278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by shurcooL View Post
Are you suggesting the laptop came originally with a pre-Lion keyboard that has a Dashboard special function on the F4 key, and this guy swapped that key for a... key that has a Launchpad picture on it instead of Dashboard?

That seems highly unlikely... o.O Although it would explain the problem really well. Can you even exchange individual keys on a MacBook Pro keyboard?

----------

I think I might've found the answer to my problem, it probably lies in this file:

~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.symbolichotkeys.plist

Source: https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0
You can replace the keys on a MBP very easily they just pop off with a little bit of force.
__________________
2011 13" MacBook Pro 240GB Intel 520 SSD | 2011 11" MacBook Air 128SSD | 2011 27"iMac |
64gb+3g iPad1 | 16gb iPhone 4 | TV 2 |
Medic278 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2012, 10:34 PM   #14
yusukeaoki
macrumors 68030
 
yusukeaoki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by shurcooL View Post
Are you suggesting the laptop came originally with a pre-Lion keyboard that has a Dashboard special function on the F4 key, and this guy swapped that key for a... key that has a Launchpad picture on it instead of Dashboard?

That seems highly unlikely... o.O Although it would explain the problem really well. Can you even exchange individual keys on a MacBook Pro keyboard?
If its the EARLY 2011 model before July, then yes.
Late and including early 2011 models after July had the Lion keys. (Some did not since they were already in stock even when Lion came out but besides that).

Yes, the keys are user replaceable.
You can take off the keys to clean under your keyboard as well.
Many Mac stores sells these keys as well.
There is a store nearby called "Mac Pro" (not the computer) and they sell many Mac parts. I replaced couple of my keys there before.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro (Early 2011), 2.2GHz i7-2720QM, 16GB RAM, 128GB SSD+1TB HDD@5400rpm
11" MacBook Air (Mid 2013), 1.7GHz i7-4650U, 8GB RAM, 512GB Flash
HTC J One (White) 32GB
yusukeaoki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 12:02 AM   #15
shurcooL
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Ok, messing around with ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.symbolichotkeys.plist did not help me. Deleting it helped many other people get the Launchpad key to launch Launchpad, but mine still opens Dashboard.

Even when I login as a guest user, the Launchpad key opens Dashboard.

So it seems that the hardware is definitely wired to have that key perform the Dashboard special function...
shurcooL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 12:18 AM   #16
bjm2660
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Virginia
Try using FunctionFlip to swith F4 to launchpad
http://kevingessner.com/software/functionflip
bjm2660 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 08:41 AM   #17
fisherking
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjm2660 View Post
Try using FunctionFlip to swith F4 to launchpad
http://kevingessner.com/software/functionflip
exactly!
__________________
mbp@10.9.4 4S JB
fisherking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2012, 08:47 AM   #18
biohead
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: West Drayton, UK
If it came with the original box, what was the box art showing on the screen? A Snow Leopard background (purple) or a Lion one (Blue galaxy)?

If its the SL one, almost certainly your keys have been swapped.
__________________
iMac 21.5" (Mid 2011), 2.7GHz i5, AMD 6770M, 1TB Fusion, 8GB RAM
MacBook Pro 13" (Mid 2012), 2.5GHz i5, 512GB Vertex 4, 16GB 1600MHz RAM
Nexus 5, Black, 16GB
iPad 2 3G, Black, 16GB
biohead is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem opening files in Office 2011 shoeshine OS X Mavericks (10.9) 3 May 16, 2014 04:28 PM
Odd Object Found Under Launchpad Key ACR3597 MacBook Air 8 Jul 18, 2013 03:54 PM
Beep when opening Launchpad Primus84 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Sep 16, 2012 03:42 PM
Random jittering, space changing, and Launchpad opening problems horace528 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Aug 8, 2012 10:13 AM
 Wireless Keyboard - F4 LaunchPad key? iOrbit Mac Peripherals 7 Jun 26, 2012 06:31 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC