Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Wasteland

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 7, 2012, 10:32 AM   #1
Desmo1098
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
ISO Burn of Mac Pro Install DVD's

Sorry I am relying on the community for some quick help... I am buying another Mac Pro, but I know it will be delivered with Lion and I refuse to use it. Therefore, I have access to Snow Leopard Mac Pro install DVD's for a short time before my Mac Pro gets here. What I want to do is take these DVD's and make ISO images so I can then use them later to burn to DVD and then subsequently use to install Snow Leopard.

Does this make sense? If so, how would I go about doing that? Do I have to insert the DVD's into my Mac Pro then use Disk Utility to make an ISO? Then burn to DVD? I think they need to be dual-layer DVD correct? I need the most basic instructions... Thanks MacRumors...

Desmo
__________________
Desktop: Mac Pro 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Westmere | 3 GB RAM | Intel 160 GB SSD | 3 x Western Digital 1 TB RE3 HDD | 2 x ATI 5770 | 2 x Apple 30" HD Cinema Display
Scooter: Ducati 1098
Desmo1098 is offline   0
Old May 7, 2012, 10:34 AM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desmo1098 View Post
Therefore, I have access to Snow Leopard Mac Pro install DVD's for a short time before my Mac Pro gets here.
Is it a retail copy of Snow Leopard or the grey install discs? The grey install discs that come with Macs are model-specific and will not work on other models.

I assume you're aware of this:

Don't install a version of Mac OS X earlier than what came with your Mac
GGJstudios is offline   0
Old May 7, 2012, 10:42 AM   #3
Desmo1098
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
They are the grey OEM install discs v10.6.4. and yes they do work... I have 2 x 2010 Mac Pro 2.8 Quad-core that were delivered with Lion and I have installed new SSD as boot drive then installed Snow Leopard with no problems. Been running fine for months.
__________________
Desktop: Mac Pro 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Westmere | 3 GB RAM | Intel 160 GB SSD | 3 x Western Digital 1 TB RE3 HDD | 2 x ATI 5770 | 2 x Apple 30" HD Cinema Display
Scooter: Ducati 1098
Desmo1098 is offline   0
Old May 8, 2012, 04:00 AM   #4
ndraves
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK
You should be ok as there hasn't been any hardware change on the MP to worry about lack of drivers being included on a previous OS, unlike MBP/MBA etc.

You'll need a DL DVD as the disk image is about 6GB ish. I have a burned copy of SL which is perfect.

Do bear in mind though that you'll lose the ability to easily reinstall Lion if something does go wrong as you'll lose the recovery partition, but this is no big deal if SL is what you want.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 2x2.4GHz, 32GB RAM, 2x5770, 3 Displays
ndraves is offline   0
Old May 8, 2012, 04:26 AM   #5
Thessman
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: GR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desmo1098 View Post
Sorry I am relying on the community for some quick help... I am buying another Mac Pro, but I know it will be delivered with Lion and I refuse to use it. Therefore, I have access to Snow Leopard Mac Pro install DVD's for a short time before my Mac Pro gets here. What I want to do is take these DVD's and make ISO images so I can then use them later to burn to DVD and then subsequently use to install Snow Leopard.

Does this make sense? If so, how would I go about doing that? Do I have to insert the DVD's into my Mac Pro then use Disk Utility to make an ISO? Then burn to DVD? I think they need to be dual-layer DVD correct? I need the most basic instructions... Thanks MacRumors...

Desmo
Or you can install SL from your gray disks to your old Mac Pro ( on a new hard drive ) and just move the drive to your new Mac Pro.
Thessman is offline   0
Old May 8, 2012, 07:40 AM   #6
Desmo1098
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Sorry forum memebers... I am not sure what is not clear about my original question... this is a frustrating trend in these forums where the main topic seems to get misunderstood or deviated from...

I need instructions on how to use Disk Utility to make ISO copies of the Snow Leopard Mac Pro install DVD's. I do not need to be told what I should or should not do... my questions are very specific. Can anyone help me use Disk Utility to make ISO copies from Mac Pro OEM Snow Leopard OSX install dvd's that I can then use at a later time to burn to DVD?

Thanks in advance,

Mike
__________________
Desktop: Mac Pro 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Westmere | 3 GB RAM | Intel 160 GB SSD | 3 x Western Digital 1 TB RE3 HDD | 2 x ATI 5770 | 2 x Apple 30" HD Cinema Display
Scooter: Ducati 1098
Desmo1098 is offline   -1
Old May 8, 2012, 07:53 AM   #7
initialsBB
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Maybe you should try googling it or how about... wait for it... looking in Disk Utility's built in help ?!?!
initialsBB is offline   0
Old May 8, 2012, 08:04 AM   #8
Desmo1098
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Really? That is why I stopped coming here because of remarks like that... What happened to simply helping a fellow mac user out?
__________________
Desktop: Mac Pro 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Westmere | 3 GB RAM | Intel 160 GB SSD | 3 x Western Digital 1 TB RE3 HDD | 2 x ATI 5770 | 2 x Apple 30" HD Cinema Display
Scooter: Ducati 1098
Desmo1098 is offline   0
Old May 8, 2012, 08:12 AM   #9
beaker7
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desmo1098 View Post
Really? That is why I stopped coming here because of remarks like that... What happened to simply helping a fellow mac user out?
He is trying to teach you to help yourself.

I just googled "disk utility mac iso copy". Any of the first 10 or so links should work for you.
beaker7 is offline   0
Old May 8, 2012, 08:12 AM   #10
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Peace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desmo1098 View Post
They are the grey OEM install discs v10.6.4. and yes they do work... I have 2 x 2010 Mac Pro 2.8 Quad-core that were delivered with Lion and I have installed new SSD as boot drive then installed Snow Leopard with no problems. Been running fine for months.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desmo1098 View Post
Really? That is why I stopped coming here because of remarks like that... What happened to simply helping a fellow mac user out?
It looks like you have answered your own question. Just do what you did before.
Peace is offline   0
Old May 8, 2012, 08:13 AM   #11
initialsBB
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
What happened to reading bullet point 3 of the MacRumors Guidelines for getting help ?
initialsBB is offline   0
Old May 8, 2012, 08:15 AM   #12
jasonvp
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northern VA
Send a message via AIM to jasonvp
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desmo1098 View Post
What happened to simply helping a fellow mac user out?
Your request is a bit dubious as far as legality is concerned, and that may be one of the reasons folks are hesitant to help you. You are, in effect, stealing a copy of Snow Leopard. With comments like:

Quote:
I have access to Snow Leopard Mac Pro install DVD's for a short time before my Mac Pro gets here
one has to wonder... If you have a legal copy of SL, then you'll have the DVDs permanently, right? And won't need to make a copy of them?

If you're trying to pirate the OS, then you should consider looking elsewhere for help.

jas
jasonvp is offline   0
Old May 8, 2012, 08:29 AM   #13
Desmo1098
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
This forum sucks...
__________________
Desktop: Mac Pro 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Westmere | 3 GB RAM | Intel 160 GB SSD | 3 x Western Digital 1 TB RE3 HDD | 2 x ATI 5770 | 2 x Apple 30" HD Cinema Display
Scooter: Ducati 1098
Desmo1098 is offline   0
Old May 8, 2012, 08:29 AM   #14
jasonvp
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northern VA
Send a message via AIM to jasonvp
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desmo1098 View Post
This forum sucks...
Toodles.

jas
jasonvp is offline   0
Old May 8, 2012, 08:35 AM   #15
Desmo1098
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Even more proof this forum sucks... I'll take "lame words" for a $1000 Alex... Lamest word ever...

What is toodles?

Correct!
__________________
Desktop: Mac Pro 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Westmere | 3 GB RAM | Intel 160 GB SSD | 3 x Western Digital 1 TB RE3 HDD | 2 x ATI 5770 | 2 x Apple 30" HD Cinema Display
Scooter: Ducati 1098
Desmo1098 is offline   1
Old May 8, 2012, 08:53 AM   #16
Desmo1098
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
But... I'll give you Brits credit, you do have Bollocks, which I like to keep as part of my vernacular...
__________________
Desktop: Mac Pro 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Westmere | 3 GB RAM | Intel 160 GB SSD | 3 x Western Digital 1 TB RE3 HDD | 2 x ATI 5770 | 2 x Apple 30" HD Cinema Display
Scooter: Ducati 1098
Desmo1098 is offline   0
Old May 8, 2012, 09:03 AM   #17
spacedcadet
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Toodles!

Love it, toodles must be a derivation of "toodle pip" = goodbye.
spacedcadet is offline   0
Old May 8, 2012, 09:03 AM   #18
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by initialsBB View Post
Maybe you should try googling it or how about... wait for it... looking in Disk Utility's built in help ?!?!
He'd like to be spoon fed information, pursuit of it is no good.
GermanyChris is offline   0
Old May 8, 2012, 09:10 AM   #19
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desmo1098 View Post
Even more proof this forum sucks... I'll take "lame words" for a $1000 Alex... Lamest word ever...

What is toodles?

Correct!
This forum is great and it's full of information. Your attitude sucks.
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   0
Old May 8, 2012, 09:13 AM   #20
beaker7
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desmo1098 View Post
Even more proof this forum sucks... I'll take "lame words" for a $1000 Alex... Lamest word ever...

What is toodles?

Correct!
Again the first entry in google would work for this.

toodles

A shortened Anglicized version of the French phrase tout l'heure which means goodbye.
Sean: So I'll see you tomorrow then!
Jane: Sure thing. Toodles
beaker7 is offline   0
Old May 8, 2012, 09:41 AM   #21
DanielCoffey
macrumors 65816
 
DanielCoffey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edinburgh, UK
So the OP *was* typing to steal a copy of SL then?
DanielCoffey is offline   -1
Old May 8, 2012, 09:57 AM   #22
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
MOD NOTE: Thread is going nowhere, and fast.

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   0


Closed Thread
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Wasteland

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC