Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 8, 2012, 01:35 PM   #126
jbarley
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Vancouver Island
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnonMac50 View Post
Wow! I love restorations of old computers, and this is looking amazing!! Reminds me a lot of a car restoration.
AnonMac50
Re-utilizing maybe, but building a hachintosh cannot be construed as restoring.
This could be be compared to taking a 1953 chevy Bel-Air and turning it into a pickup truck.
jbarley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 02:54 PM   #127
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnonMac50 View Post
I would, if I had the money

It would be a real beast too 1.5 GB RAM, superfast G4, power ATI Radeon…one day…

I like the progress on the iMac...
yeah i know what u mean, a normal atx board would fit inside so that would be a better option by a long shot!

but just as a little update, I've been trying to start a fresh and learn more about how to install this hackintosh and I'm starting to get at least the basics of where i might be going wrong, so watch this space! lol

but on the other hand I've had 2 things turn up;



the little board is the sound recorder board (I'm a long way off using it but its here!). and of course the other one is an adaptor, which i have tested using my other halfs laptop and believe it or not it does display perfectly! unfortunately i didn't think to take a photo at that point so you will have to take my word on it.

I also went and got a SATA DVD drive so that i can try with snow leopard also, but I'm starting to think it will be better to go straight for lion and cut my losses



----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbarley View Post
Re-utilizing maybe, but building a hachintosh cannot be construed as restoring.
This could be be compared to taking a 1953 chevy Bel-Air and turning it into a pickup truck.
I partially agree... at this moment it has been 'revived & restored' but more for the reason of knowing it works. this will be turning a 1952 chevy bel-air into a 1952 chevy bel-air with a modern, efficient engine. so at that point i agree its not restored to standard but its restored to a fully working condition for modern life.
Arkious is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2012, 04:17 AM   #128
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
having some serious problems...

again after spending hours trying to get this thing working, I'm still stuck with absolutely nothing :-( so i tried installing Windows 7 just to see if i could actually get on with everything. To my amazement even that failed to install! So, basically I'm confused as to whats going on...

I have tried a standard BIOS reset and windows gets to the installer screen, after changing just the AHCI mode from SATA and 256mb to 512mb graphics i see a fail. now I'm wondering if thats why I'm seeing glyphs whilst installing OS X. So I'm going to try reducing the graphics to 256 running in AHCI and seeing if that works. If it does i will run a memory check and see if its memory ir motherboard related.
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2012, 04:49 AM   #129
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
no no matter what i do, even removing different sticks of RAM and running standard i can't even get Windows to install, this motherboard must be iffy. Well I'm going to sell this motherboard and see what money i recoup from it before setting my eyes on anything else.

not a good day today, but i will not be beaten!
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2012, 07:45 AM   #130
estrides
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York
This blows....As a precautionary step, make sure before you buy anything new, to follow up with Tonymacosx86 and use one of the builds he has outlined there. I believe they have some atom setups that are budget weary. They are all tested to work with at least one configuration.
__________________
Late 2009 15" MBP, 2.8Ghz, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB HD ; 3x PowerMac G5's all running 8Gb RAM at 2.3ghz DC ; 3x G4's - 2 MDD and 1 Quicksilver;
estrides is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2012, 09:38 AM   #131
BlastoiseBlue
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Send a message via MSN to BlastoiseBlue Send a message via Yahoo to BlastoiseBlue
I'm really sad to see this project hit a roadblock like this... The slot loader iMacs are some of my favorites in the entire Mac lineup, and modding one to take modern programs sounds amazing. Best of luck man. D:
BlastoiseBlue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2012, 10:00 AM   #132
AnonMac50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbarley View Post
Re-utilizing maybe, but building a hachintosh cannot be construed as restoring.
This could be be compared to taking a 1953 chevy Bel-Air and turning it into a pickup truck.
More like turning it to a new pickup truck.
__________________
[Tutorial] Three Finger Drag on Non-supported Multitouch Macs (MAJOR UPDATES!!! (8/7/2013))
Front Row for Lion
Now I know why the maps icon wants you to jump off of a bridge!
AnonMac50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2012, 11:37 AM   #133
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by estrides View Post
This blows....As a precautionary step, make sure before you buy anything new, to follow up with Tonymacosx86 and use one of the builds he has outlined there. I believe they have some atom setups that are budget weary. They are all tested to work with at least one configuration.
yeah thats what im doing, cost wise its a little more but hopefully worth it in the long run. by the looks of it the new system will be sandy bridge i3 or pentium based with the Gigabyte GA-H67N-USB3-B3 and 4-8GB of DDR3, not sure speeds etc yet but it will depend on money really. didnt want to spend a fortune as it wont get used as much. but shame it has not got built in nVIDIA. on that note i got my account banned on Tonymacosx86 as i mentioned the word torrent lol. my question was (as i was having lots of trouble) if i downloaded a torrent version of OS X Lion 10.7.0 as i have actually purchased it (its not theft as i have physically purchased it) but i cant get a hold of it any other way. Never mind lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlastoiseBlue View Post
I'm really sad to see this project hit a roadblock like this... The slot loader iMacs are some of my favorites in the entire Mac lineup, and modding one to take modern programs sounds amazing. Best of luck man. D:
dont worry we shall succeed!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnonMac50 View Post
More like turning it to a new pickup truck.
a new pickup with an old personality :-)

----------

on that last note, i need to have a computer that runs less than 80W, im starting to struggle with that now :-(
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2012, 12:02 PM   #134
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Zotac-H61ITX...1&sr=1-1-fkmr1

+

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...atid=6&subcat=

and some RAM... i dont know what sort of wattage that would use
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2012, 12:04 PM   #135
estrides
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York
Sorry to here about the tonymac issue. They are real sticklers with "torrents" because of getting a lot of warnings.

If you need any questions asked, feel free to let me know. If you need any "extra" help, just shoot me a PM, Id be glad to help.
__________________
Late 2009 15" MBP, 2.8Ghz, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB HD ; 3x PowerMac G5's all running 8Gb RAM at 2.3ghz DC ; 3x G4's - 2 MDD and 1 Quicksilver;
estrides is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2012, 02:49 PM   #136
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by estrides View Post
Sorry to here about the tonymac issue. They are real sticklers with "torrents" because of getting a lot of warnings.

If you need any questions asked, feel free to let me know. If you need any "extra" help, just shoot me a PM, Id be glad to help.
Aye its understandable, I wasn't too bothered, I've gotten much more help from you guys anyways, and I downloaded everything they have to offer lol. But thanks I really appreciate it :-) so basically my next job or 1st job is to spec a board and CPU that uses less than 80w in total. Do you think they would be a decent build?
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 08:42 AM   #137
keysersoze
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NH
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkious View Post
Aye its understandable, I wasn't too bothered, I've gotten much more help from you guys anyways, and I downloaded everything they have to offer lol. But thanks I really appreciate it :-) so basically my next job or 1st job is to spec a board and CPU that uses less than 80w in total. Do you think they would be a decent build?
This board looks like a good start for an itx-based hackintosh:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813186216

I've enjoyed reading your posts-- keep them coming and good luck!
__________________
i love brits

keysersoze is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 09:32 AM   #138
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by keysersoze View Post
This board looks like a good start for an itx-based hackintosh:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813186216

I've enjoyed reading your posts-- keep them coming and good luck!
good price board! :-) thanks a bunch, im going to hit a bit of a stand still until i get shot of this other board as im a bit short on funds lol... but i might have a mess on with this sound recorder in the mean time :-D
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2012, 05:14 PM   #139
Gilles-
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
I heard that the Gigabyte GA-H61N-USB3 is good for hackintosh
Gilles- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 12:18 AM   #140
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilles- View Post
I heard that the Gigabyte GA-H61N-USB3 is good for hackintosh
i was looking at that one tbh, or the H67 version but it does not have built in wi-fi and due to the restraints of the iMacs internals i havent really got space to fit one inside. but i do like the look of them boards, especially since they are recommended!

The ZOTAC H55ITX-A-E sounds like the winner but its pricey!

http://www.tonymacx86.com/viewtopic.php?f=54&t=22356

Last edited by Arkious; May 14, 2012 at 12:37 AM.
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 05:49 AM   #141
Gilles-
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Okey


So you want to built that hackintosh and put it into a G3 ?
And what was the pictures with warcraft loading on the G3, just an update or a hackintosh?
I didn't understand everything u said 'cause i don't well speak english

I also want to built an hackintosh into my dead G3, but the problem is to use the screen!
Gilles- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 07:22 AM   #142
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilles- View Post
Okey


So you want to built that hackintosh and put it into a G3 ?
And what was the pictures with warcraft loading on the G3, just an update or a hackintosh?
I didn't understand everything u said 'cause i don't well speak english

I also want to built an hackintosh into my dead G3, but the problem is to use the screen!
That is the iMac G3 running overclocked at 400MHz with 382MB of RAM on OS X 10.4.11 with a lion theme installed. Looks great! But unfortunately it's too slow to do much. So that's why I decided to build the hackintosh. If you are using a tray loader, using the screen is easy... If your using a slot loader its much more difficult to do everything basically
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2012, 05:43 PM   #143
MacHappytjg
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Winnipeg
not sure if you already mentioned this but do you or would you think about sticking an lcd in place of the crt later on or?
__________________
iMac g5 Retired
Hackintosh, 2.5 GHz pdc, 4 GB DDR3, 250 GB HD, nVidia 210, gigabyte mobo, 10.7.4
Custom Gaming Rig 2.9 GHz i5 Quad Core (sandy), 8 GB DDR3, nVidia GTX 560 Factory OC, Windows 7
MacHappytjg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2012, 11:00 AM   #144
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacHappytjg View Post
not sure if you already mentioned this but do you or would you think about sticking an lcd in place of the crt later on or?
no i wouldn't do that unless i physically had no other choice. if i were to put an LCD in there it would loose every bit of its CRT attitude if you know what i mean. If LCDs weren't flat then i guess you couldn't tell, but because the CRT in the iMac is actually curved it looks very poor and cheap heres a photo of one like that;

Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2012, 11:38 AM   #145
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
As an update to whats happening... we have some movement after getting back from my holidays today :-)

I have sold the old board as i managed to get it to install windows and i got £85 for it including the 4GB RAM. So i have purchased the following;

Zotac H55ITX-A-E which i have purchased for £88.50

&

Intel Pentium G620 2.60GHz (Sandybridge) which i have purchased 2nd hand from ebay with an Arctic Freezer 7 Pro for £36 which is an absolute bargain! Now the cooler will be going back on ebay as i have also purchased this cooler for use in the iMac.

Akasa K25 which i got for £9 from amazon.

I have spied 4GB DDR3 1333 for £15 but I'm holding off for the time being.


This computer will make the iMac quite a bit better than it was going to be before lol, and i have chosen this hardware because of the following thread;

http://www.tonymacx86.com/viewtopic.php?f=54&t=22356
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 02:13 PM   #146
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
starting to get a bit peeeeeved now...

i didn't know that the sandybridge is LGA1155 and the motherboard i have ordered is LGA1156. i now have a CPU that doesn't fit the motherboard -.-
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 03:35 PM   #147
MacHappytjg
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Winnipeg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkious View Post
starting to get a bit peeeeeved now...

i didn't know that the sandybridge is LGA1155 and the motherboard i have ordered is LGA1156. i now have a CPU that doesn't fit the motherboard -.-
clarkdale ftl
__________________
iMac g5 Retired
Hackintosh, 2.5 GHz pdc, 4 GB DDR3, 250 GB HD, nVidia 210, gigabyte mobo, 10.7.4
Custom Gaming Rig 2.9 GHz i5 Quad Core (sandy), 8 GB DDR3, nVidia GTX 560 Factory OC, Windows 7
MacHappytjg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 03:37 PM   #148
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacHappytjg View Post
clarkdale ftl
yeah never realised, but I'm not that bothered about what type it is, its still going to be... hmm... just a little bit faster than the 400mhz g3 thats in it atm lol :P

the Pentium G620 is up for sale on ebay at the moment, don't think your allowed to put things up for sale on here so won't post links.
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 03:41 PM   #149
MacHappytjg
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Winnipeg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkious View Post
yeah never realised, but I'm not that bothered about what type it is, its still going to be... hmm... just a little bit faster than the 400mhz g3 thats in it atm lol :P

the Pentium G620 is up for sale on ebay at the moment, don't think your allowed to put things up for sale on here so won't post links.
could you not just return the items or?
__________________
iMac g5 Retired
Hackintosh, 2.5 GHz pdc, 4 GB DDR3, 250 GB HD, nVidia 210, gigabyte mobo, 10.7.4
Custom Gaming Rig 2.9 GHz i5 Quad Core (sandy), 8 GB DDR3, nVidia GTX 560 Factory OC, Windows 7
MacHappytjg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2012, 11:57 PM   #150
Arkious
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacHappytjg View Post
could you not just return the items or?
I bought it via eBay mate, I got it very cheap so I'm not too bothered as it will sell, but it's just waiting for it to sell lol. I'm spying an i3 530 2.93GHz ATM which is LGA1156
Arkious is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Tags
bondi blue, imac g3, itx, modification, revival

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPod Touch revival in 2014 preyan iPod touch 28 Mar 1, 2014 12:48 PM
a1181 revival question boneskid1 MacBook 2 Dec 25, 2012 10:25 PM
7600 revival havokalien PowerPC Macs 0 Jul 25, 2012 06:08 PM
Data revival Beanstine32 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Jun 17, 2012 12:50 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC