Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 8, 2012, 09:44 AM   #1
Simple Simon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Time Capsule: yellow light, ethernet cable confusion

All I want to do with my Time Capsule is use it to back-up my work. I don't care about wifi networks or base stations or anything else I neither need nor understand. Because I preferred to keep it out of sight, and away from my work area, I plugged it into my BT broadband box and it seems to be working fine via wifi, accepting hourly backups from Time Machine. But after it (inexplicably) failed twice (I think because of a fleeting broadband issue, perhaps) and I had to back-up from scratch using an ethernet cable, I have decided to keep the Capsule on my desk and permanently tethered to my iMac via ethernet cable. It is working, but for the life of me I can't stop the irritating light on the front of the box flashing yellow at me. Can anyone advise what to do - other than taping it over???
Simple Simon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 10:37 AM   #2
radiogoober
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
You could turn the box backwards. The light means it can't access the Internet. You may be able to play with settings in airport utility.
radiogoober is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 10:42 AM   #3
drsox
macrumors 65816
 
drsox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Xhystos
Or it might mean that the Wireless networking setup is incomplete.
Or something else that you aren't using isn't setup properly.

Either way you won't be able to stop it, so best to prevent the light from reaching your eyeball.


PS There might be a way to stop it flashing - you might be able to tell it to ignore the errors.
Go into Airport Utility (I'm assuming that this is also used for a Time Capsule)
Select and click on Edit for the Time Capsule
If I'm right then Airport Utility will give you a list of what's not setup correctly
Then you might be able to select "Ignore"

Last edited by drsox; May 8, 2012 at 10:52 AM.
drsox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2012, 02:39 PM   #4
McGilli
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Ya.

I did the exact same thing recently.

I disabled the wireless on the TC, and connected via Ethernet to my computer and I was getting the yellow flashing light.

Now _ I did 2 things at the same time so I don't know which one turned the light green but.

I set the TC to BRIDGE MODE

under WIRELESS mine is set to OFF

and under NETWORK it is set to OFF (BRIDGE MODE)

and then I configured it to ignore any errors

The two errors are

INTERNET CONNECTION
and
NO DNS SERVER


Now it stays green, even when the computer is asleep.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-05-08 at 12.40.52 PM.png
Views:	18
Size:	13.7 KB
ID:	338951   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-05-08 at 12.40.57 PM.png
Views:	16
Size:	20.1 KB
ID:	338952  
Attached Images
 
McGilli is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2012, 01:33 AM   #5
Simple Simon
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
But how to "ignore errors"?

Thanks all; I have all my settings as McGilli describes; what I can't do, however, is figure out where to go to configure it to ignore errors (INTERNET CONNECTION and NO DNS SERVER). I sense I am being very dumb, but can someone point me in the right direction?
Simple Simon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2012, 03:21 PM   #6
McGilli
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simple Simon View Post
Thanks all; I have all my settings as McGilli describes; what I can't do, however, is figure out where to go to configure it to ignore errors (INTERNET CONNECTION and NO DNS SERVER). I sense I am being very dumb, but can someone point me in the right direction?
Hope this helps
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-05-09 at 1.22.35 PM.png
Views:	50
Size:	121.1 KB
ID:	339042  
McGilli is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2012, 01:06 AM   #7
Simple Simon
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Ah, yes, clicking on the green light! Thanks! I should have guessed ... all well now.
Simple Simon is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Capsule ethernet problems laudern Mac Peripherals 1 Oct 26, 2013 01:44 AM
Ethernet to modem or time capsule? trackbikes Mac Peripherals 3 Aug 18, 2013 04:51 PM
Time Capsule light itsmed Mac Peripherals 4 Apr 27, 2013 04:45 AM
Time capsule confusion Bilalo Buying Tips and Advice 15 Sep 6, 2012 09:03 AM
Time Capsule is not recognizing WAN Ethernet Cable Pepeto100 Mac Peripherals 6 Aug 22, 2012 06:35 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC