Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 4, 2012, 02:30 AM   #1
cool11
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Photoshop fonts problem

I have a problem with photoshop cs6. I just updated to 6.1 too, but even now the problem remains.
The problem appears when I try to open a third-party psd file which contains a font that my mac does not have.

At first, photoshop displays a message that my machine does not have the font and if I want to use a substitute. I click yes and then it opens the file.
After this momment, the problem appears.
Photoshop seems to hung, the standby spinning ball appears all the time, photoshop seems no responsive, and I cannot do anything than force quitting.

I really do not know why photoshop handles the situation like that. I cannot work when I want to use these files with missing fonts.
I don't really want to find original fonts, I just want to make my work ignoring what the original fonts were.

Is there a solution? Can you imagine where the problem is?
cool11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2012, 07:14 AM   #2
MisterMe
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
It seems that your problem is caused at the creation end of your third-party files. You have given no information about the version of Photoshop used to create them or the nature of the problematic fonts.
__________________
Neither a borrower nor a lender be
For loan oft loses both itself and friend
William Shakespeare from Hamlet
MisterMe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2012, 08:55 AM   #3
cool11
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I cannot tell which version of photoshop was used to create the original psd files.
But, does it matter? It there compatibility problems between versions of photoshop?
When I use the latest version, isn't it supposed to be able to read and use any file created from every other previous version of photoshop?

And what about the nature of problematic fonts? I just see the name of the font and nothing else.
cool11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2012, 01:33 PM   #4
MisterMe
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by cool11 View Post
...
But, does it matter? It there compatibility problems between versions of photoshop?
...

And what about the nature of problematic fonts? I just see the name of the font and nothing else.
You are the one in possession of the files. Therefore, you are the only one who can answer your questions. I can tell you this--font issues create the worst headaches on any platform. The fact that you are using files from dubious sources leads me to suspect that they use fonts from dubious sources.

Until you are willing to share relevant information, you can help very limited help.
__________________
Neither a borrower nor a lender be
For loan oft loses both itself and friend
William Shakespeare from Hamlet
MisterMe is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2012, 01:02 AM   #5
cool11
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Besides the origin of the files, I cannot understand how photoshop handles font substitution, in mac.

In another similar case, for example in microsoft word, if a font is missing from a document, I can select all text, and then apply a font of mine with no problem at all.

In photoshop, it warns me that the font is missing and then the application stuck. Why such a weird handling?
cool11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2012, 06:56 AM   #6
MisterMe
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by cool11 View Post
....

In photoshop, it warns me that the font is missing and then the application stuck. Why such a weird handling?
As long as you ask questions rather than give answers, you will not get the help that you need.
__________________
Neither a borrower nor a lender be
For loan oft loses both itself and friend
William Shakespeare from Hamlet
MisterMe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2012, 04:36 AM   #7
cool11
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I found something related to the problem.
Photoshop gave me a message about changing 'preferences/type' setting 'east asian' / 'middle eastern'.

Of course, the missing font is a missing font, and a substitute will be used. But I have to see if this change in preferences will make any difference.
cool11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 02:35 PM   #8
darkprints
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Post your query on the Adobe website's Photoshop forum.
darkprints is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 02:45 PM   #9
lucidmedia
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Once photoshop tells you the font is not available it will still display the missing font in a bitmap format... the document will look just like you have the font loaded... but the text layers will have a little warning icon. The text should not "substitute" until you click on a text layer and try to change it. Then it will redraw the text.

Sounds to me like you have a damaged photoshop file or a someone had a damaged font... this should not be a compatibility problem.
lucidmedia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 05:32 AM   #10
cool11
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I found out that the 'font' problem exists, in any case.
Even if I just open photoshop and a blank new image, the spinning ball appears for several minutes.
Checking the 'activity monitor', I can see 'font' process of mac on the top of cpu usage.
The strange thing is that I don't have any other problems with mac on my font.
Is there anybody having any idea how could I solve this problem?
cool11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 06:00 PM   #11
jezzastern
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Have you tried clearing the font cache using a program like Onyx (free), or deleting the Photoshop preference file?
jezzastern is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 11:33 PM   #12
ezekielrage_99
macrumors 68040
 
ezekielrage_99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
So how I'm guessing the PSD was made on a Chinese or Arabic edition of Photoshop and you're opening up in the English version with Illustrator. I had similar issue working with a Kuwaiti broadcaster a few years back.

Your best option is to:
1) Open the PSD
2) DO NOT click to update fonts.
3) Manually update, the unicode characters and glyphs are what are screwing it up.

Otherwise updating the full language support in Mac OSX may do the trick.
__________________
"There is a world elsewhere" - Coriolanus
ezekielrage_99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 01:56 AM   #13
cool11
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jezzastern View Post
Have you tried clearing the font cache using a program like Onyx (free), or deleting the Photoshop preference file?
Deleting the photoshop preference file, will affect only fonts, or many photoshop things?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezekielrage_99 View Post
So how I'm guessing the PSD was made on a Chinese or Arabic edition of Photoshop and you're opening up in the English version with Illustrator. I had similar issue working with a Kuwaiti broadcaster a few years back.

Your best option is to:
1) Open the PSD
2) DO NOT click to update fonts.
3) Manually update, the unicode characters and glyphs are what are screwing it up.

Otherwise updating the full language support in Mac OSX may do the trick.
I didn't even know what 'update fonts' is!
How do I update? Why do I have to do it?

How an updating to 'full language support' of osx could help? You mean it is a problem of missing fonts?

But as I said a few post above, the problem still exists even when I open a blank image! Photoshop tries something, I suspect something about fonts as I can see in activity monitor. This happens in any case. Even when I open photoshop without opening an image.
cool11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 06:57 AM   #14
ezekielrage_99
macrumors 68040
 
ezekielrage_99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by cool11 View Post
I didn't even know what 'update fonts' is!
How do I update? Why do I have to do it?
Sorry posting without coffee.. I meant substitute...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cool11 View Post
How an updating to 'full language support' of osx could help? You mean it is a problem of missing fonts?

But as I said a few post above, the problem still exists even when I open a blank image! Photoshop tries something, I suspect something about fonts as I can see in activity monitor. This happens in any case. Even when I open photoshop without opening an image.
I really suspect there's actually no issue with the file rather you are opening it in a different language version compared to what it was designed in because there are differences beyond language resources.

I'm guessing this or this might help. From experience Arabic or some Euro up files in the English version of Photoshop does cause issues.
__________________
"There is a world elsewhere" - Coriolanus
ezekielrage_99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 12:35 PM   #15
cool11
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Onyx font cach clear did not make any difference.

I also want to say that if I leave photoshop about 5 minutes idle, leaving it to push cpu, spinning ball etc, then I can work with it without any problems.
The problem is about the first 5 minutes.
cool11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 08:53 AM   #16
cool11
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezekielrage_99 View Post
Sorry posting without coffee.. I meant substitute...
Photoshop do not ask me to make a substitution of fonts. I know what you mean, I remember such message when I used photoshop in windows, but it never happened to see this message in mac.
cool11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 06:08 AM   #17
cool11
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Does photoshop has its own fonts or it uses the system's ones?
cool11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 10:20 AM   #18
MisterMe
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by cool11 View Post
Does photoshop has its own fonts or it uses the system's ones?
Some knowledge of Mac fonts is in order. With rare exception, Mac application fonts are supplemental and are not exclusive to the application that included them. For example, Microsoft Office ships with a selection of fonts, but Office fonts can be used by any Mac application. The phrase System Font is important for all Mac users to understand. A System Font is a font that ships with the OS and is located in the /System/Library/Fonts/ folder. System Fonts are used by the OS on a non-exclusive basis. Unlike other fonts, System Fonts cannot be safely disabled.

Summary. A given user may use fonts stored in several well-defined locations:
  1. /System/Library/Fonts/—Fonts stored here are required by the OS and cannot disabled.
  2. /Library/Fonts/—Fonts stored here are available to all users on the computer.
  3. ~/Library/Fonts/—Fonts stored here are available to one specific user account.
  4. /System/Library/Fonts/{Non-Exclusive Application fonts}/—The fonts are usually installed along with the application, but the application will usually operate if they are not available. Also other applications have access to these fonts.
  5. /System Folder/Fonts/—This is the MacOS 9 Fonts folder for users who still run Classic. These fonts are available to all Mac applications, MacOS X and MacOS 9 alike.
__________________
Neither a borrower nor a lender be
For loan oft loses both itself and friend
William Shakespeare from Hamlet
MisterMe is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2013, 03:53 AM   #19
lukmanplz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: karachi
solution for your problem

Hello on this page you get the solution for your problem! I really don't think it's a photoshop issue. Fonts are handeled by the operating system not by photoshop.
__________________
The world if full of adventure as there are dangerous mountains inspirich.
A little effort and interest can turn a simple dinner experience at home cooking recipes with your family Allrecipes,
lukmanplz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2013, 03:58 PM   #20
macuser453787
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ephesians 2:1-10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezekielrage_99 View Post
Your best option is to:
1) Open the PSD
2) DO NOT click to update fonts.
3) Manually update, the unicode characters and glyphs are what are screwing it up.
Yes what he said, exactly.
macuser453787 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2014, 04:10 AM   #21
cool11
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Anybody used FontDoctor?
cool11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serious problem with fonts in Snow Leopard - can't use most fonts... Soom Mac Basics and Help 5 Jul 3, 2013 06:41 PM
Problem with fonts on Word Jeremybec OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 May 14, 2013 08:09 PM
Photoshop 13.0.4 update problem cool11 Digital Photography 6 Feb 3, 2013 11:04 PM
Photoshop Fonts Bennytsmithjr Design and Graphics 4 Oct 24, 2012 09:46 PM
Deleted duplicate fonts and now some fonts have changed? jent Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 7 Jun 26, 2012 01:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC