Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 5, 2012, 06:56 AM   #151
126351
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoking monkey View Post
Don't mean to be off topic, but since there is so much talk about ram I'd like to know how much difference would 16gig in an 2011 imac make compared to 8gig?
Difference would be about 8 gig...
126351 is offline   9 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 07:06 AM   #152
Piggie
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sasasule View Post
Hmm he is talking Windows 8 and you here showing Windows 7 memory support.
Yes.
Mertyz was attempting to mislead & rubbish the windows OS to others by implying:

"On the other news, Windows 8 will bring support for 32 GB of RAM..."

(That statement implies it can't support that yet, till Windows 8 comes out.)

When in fact even Windows 7 can support up to 192GB Ram on an appropriate set up.
__________________
Amiga 500, N64, Dreamcast, Gamecube, Xbox360 Slim 250GB, PS3, Nokia 6210, 3 Home Made PC's, Adidas Watch, Nikon + Fuji Cameras, 32GB iPad, Furry Pigs (mainly pink!)
Piggie is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 07:30 AM   #153
unplugme71
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2011
Will this update apply to the 'new' MacBook Pro?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	550838_3598161364830_770571481_n.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	19.7 KB
ID:	366672  
unplugme71 is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 07:33 AM   #154
unplugme71
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piggie View Post
Yes.
Mertyz was attempting to mislead & rubbish the windows OS to others by implying:

"On the other news, Windows 8 will bring support for 32 GB of RAM..."

(That statement implies it can't support that yet, till Windows 8 comes out.)

When in fact even Windows 7 can support up to 192GB Ram on an appropriate set up.

Is there a way in Windows to load an entire O/S and application into memory if you had lets say 192GB? That would make for a very fast responding system.
unplugme71 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 07:35 AM   #155
clayj
macrumors 604
 
clayj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 1123,6536,5321
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRLawyer View Post
Yep; the screen is dark although you can clearly see that the machine is out of sleep. Only a hard reboot works.

See the related thread about this under the ML section.
Couldn't find it -- can you link? Thanks.
__________________
mac pro 2.8ghz 8-core 24gb ram 16tb hd 30" acd | macbook air 2.0ghz 8gb ram 256gb ssd | mac mini 2.4ghz c2d | ipad air at&t 128gb space gray | ipad 2 wifi 16gb black | iphone 5 at&t 64gb black
clayj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 08:24 AM   #156
ncaissie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumorUser View Post
Downloaded, restarted and still hasn't fixed my wifi dropping issues since upgrading to Mountain Lion...
I had the same problem. It drops when it goes to sleep. There is a keep awake app that works great. I can't recall the name but will pm you tonight if I can.
__________________
2011 MacBook Pro iPod touch 2G iFone 5! iPad 2 ATV 2G
ncaissie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 09:19 AM   #157
Prof.
macrumors 68040
 
Prof.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago
Earlier in this thread I stated that the supplemental update fixed my slow shutdown time, and it did - for about one shutdown cycle. It's now back to taking 30+ seconds to shut down...
__________________
When kids look up to great scientists the way they do to great musicians and actors, civilization will jump to the next level
- Brian Greene
Prof. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 09:21 AM   #158
milo
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Does this update 10.8.2 to a new version number or still 12C54? Same with 10.7.5.

Edit: answering my own question. 12C60

Last edited by milo; Oct 5, 2012 at 09:41 AM.
milo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 09:50 AM   #159
ecbpro
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
64gb ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by maccompatible View Post
Who has more than 64GB of RAM???
Just an example:
http://www.vital-it.ch/hardware/computing.php

They have up to 512GB RAM, but they don't have MacOS installed...
ecbpro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 09:51 AM   #160
Marcus-k
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by maccompatible View Post
Who has more than 64GB of RAM???
64GB of RAM costs only around 300$, so i'm sure there's plenty of people who has it.
Marcus-k is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 10:00 AM   #161
CasinoOwl
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Photos are syncing again

Hooray. After installing this and opening iPhoto, I can now sync photos to my iphone and iPad as well as viewing them on the AppleTV.
CasinoOwl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 10:16 AM   #162
MonkeySee....
macrumors 68040
 
MonkeySee....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by shanmugam View Post
scuffgate, navigate, wi-figate and so on ...
Nothing like an iOS upgrade to fix your phone from scuffing
__________________
If you’re busy making everything, how can you perfect anything? - Apple

Always keep the rhythm in your feet and a little party in your shoulders. - Phil Dunphy
MonkeySee.... is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 10:19 AM   #163
quickmac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Wait for it....


Safari feels snappier.
quickmac is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 10:31 AM   #164
yegon
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tilezzzzz View Post
Good Point!!! (I really should have thought of that - lol)

It was the 'Kiesviawifiagent' - I had installed Samsungs Kies software a day or 2 ago when I was trying out the Samsung Galaxy S3.

So I dont think it was the updates fault after all!
I had that issue a while back, fans were full blast on my mba while on, but idle.
yegon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 10:54 AM   #165
mertyz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piggie View Post
Wrong again.......

Windows 7 Ultimate - 192 GB
Windows 7 Enterprise - 192 GB
Windows 7 Professional - 192 GB
Windows 7 Home Premium - 16 GB
Windows 7 Home Basic - 8 GB
Windows 7 Starter ----- N/A
I know that. Mentioning the maximum amount was sufficient for that PS.
__________________
iPhone 5S 16GB Space Gray - 2012 MBA 13" 1.8GHz/4GB/128GB - 27" Apple Thunderbolt Display - iPad 2 Wi-Fi 16GB White - 3rd Gen iPod Touch 8GB - 3rd Gen iPod Shuffle 2GB
mertyz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 11:22 AM   #166
soundguyami
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by shanmugam View Post
scuffgate, navigate, wi-figate and so on ...
I have been running iOS 6 since it's beta stages with zero issues on my ipad or iphone through the developer program. Not to say there isn't issues...but I hop e you are not one who jailbreaks and then complains about stuff not working.
soundguyami is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 11:59 AM   #167
Nunyabinez
macrumors 6502a
 
Nunyabinez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Provo, UT
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoking monkey View Post
Don't mean to be off topic, but since there is so much talk about ram I'd like to know how much difference would 16gig in an 2011 imac make compared to 8gig?
This is the equivalent of asking if "I doubled the horsepower in my Civic, how much difference would it make?" The answer depends completely on what you do. If you use your Civic to drive your kids to school and go grocery shopping then it is going to make no difference. If you do street racing, then it's going to make a huge difference.

In the vast majority of scenarios, 8GB gives you enough headroom that you are getting everything you need out of your machine and for that matter, 4GB would be fine for a large portion of users. But, if you are working with massive documents, or you need to keep a large number of apps running at the same time, then get the RAM.

The question you asked can only be answered in the context of how you will use your machine.
__________________
27" iMac, 3.4 GHz i7; 15" MBP, 2.53 GHz Core 2 Duo; 13" MBA 1.7 GHz i5; iPad (3rd Gen), 16 GB; iPhone 5S; Hackintosh, 3.4 GHz i7 (2600k)
Nunyabinez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 12:36 PM   #168
GS17
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by powers74 View Post
Wish I had that problem!




I'm personally having a problem where Reminders isn't, well, reminding me of things. They show up as hot if I open the app, but they're not dropping the badge or making the sounds. All of which are activated in settings. So there's that.
I just had that problem this morning, set a reminder for when I was leaving home and it didn't went off, I unlocked my phone later and after that it beeped and the reminder showed up.

Also I've seen my and my wife's 5's freezing on some apps including native ones.
GS17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 01:59 PM   #169
cms2
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coffee Minutes View Post
I noticed that too. It seems ML takes longer to shutdown than did Lion.

Anyone else notice this?

Is it an anomaly or does ML take longer to shut down.
ML takes forever to shutdown on my rMBP. It starts up after just a couple seconds, but that shutdown drags on.
cms2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 02:07 PM   #170
KoolKid
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Uppsala
Since I upgraded to 10.8.2 clamshell mode has stopped working on my air.
I mean the screen shows up on my tv for a second and then it disappears.
Anyone else with that problem?
KoolKid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 02:53 PM   #171
dcorban
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
As expected, the thread is packed with "hay guys does this fix (some obscure problem that is either user error or specific to my install)?"

How the hell did the topic change to iPhone battery life?
dcorban is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 03:06 PM   #172
udontno
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: VA, USA
Just downloaded & installed. I have been having problems with the fan running (which 10.8.2 seemed to fix for a while, but then it started to cut back in recently) and nothing would seem to get that to stop (tried an SMC reset, nada, was actually thinking of posting for more help to see what others had done) and it's running quiet right now. Will continue to test drive it.
__________________
Amanda Kate <3
udontno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 03:09 PM   #173
50548
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Currently in Switzerland
Quote:
Originally Posted by clayj View Post
Couldn't find it -- can you link? Thanks.
Sorry, here you go:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1446854
50548 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2012, 08:23 PM   #174
smoking monkey
macrumors 6502a
 
smoking monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nunyabinez View Post

In the vast majority of scenarios, 8GB gives you enough headroom that you are getting everything you need out of your machine and for that matter, 4GB would be fine for a large portion of users. But, if you are working with massive documents, or you need to keep a large number of apps running at the same time, then get the RAM.
Ta very much, mate.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Banjhiyi View Post
Difference would be about 8 gig...
Nice one, Smart arrse.
smoking monkey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2012, 02:54 AM   #175
VinegarTasters
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
bug

Weird bug

__________________
iPhone Secrets:
http://www.edepot.com/iphone.html
VinegarTasters is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC