Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 15, 2012, 05:53 PM   #1
bloomage
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Netrestore Not Working (client sees image)

Hi All,
I've got a server i'm setting up to do one thing and I can't get it to work!
Here are the details:
I have a new mac mini with 10.8 server
I am trying to make this a net restore server. (we get new macs, and have a custom image that i want to install on them)
I have created an image using a spare volume on an external hard drive.
I used the server app to "Create Netrestore image from volume"
I have placed the image in the correct folder as all of the client computers can see the image in the startup disk preference pane
But when they reboot, i get the flashing globe and then it boots to the internal OS
I have the client directly connected over ethernet to the server's ethernet port (the client is a macbook air so i am using a thunderbolt to ethernet adapter

No firewall on the mini

It has a self assigned IP address, using DHCP

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance,

Mike Bloom
bloomage is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 09:27 AM   #2
Mattie Num Nums
macrumors 68030
 
Mattie Num Nums's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4178?v...S&locale=en_US

Check that KB out first to make sure your use of Net Restore is correct. My setup is a Netinstall image with a Minimal Base OS as the Netboot image and then of course image from there via Casper but you could use anything to image like CCC or Disk Utility from there.
__________________
I like Apple stuff but, I am not in the Apple cult.
Mattie Num Nums is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 04:44 AM   #3
osxman1970
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
I had a similar problem, which was fixed by configuring the mac server and clients to be on the same subnet. all works fine now.
From what I understand, if you want to image across subnets you need to allow BSDP across subnets.
osxman1970 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 09:02 AM   #4
DJLC
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mooresville, NC
Send a message via AIM to DJLC Send a message via MSN to DJLC Send a message via Yahoo to DJLC Send a message via Skype™ to DJLC
Not very experienced with NetRestore, but I've never been able to get it to work with a custom image. DeployStudio is great, though.
__________________
-John Mairs
DJLC is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Tags
mini, netinstall, netrestore, server

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardware Independent Imaging with NetRestore JMRoberts84 Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 14 Jan 10, 2014 10:02 AM
Mavericks & creating NetRestore image ZMacintosh Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 2 Nov 6, 2013 12:29 PM
Is Google Image search by image not working for you guys? tzhu07 Community Discussion 0 Oct 13, 2013 06:13 PM
Server and NetRestore images. detritustroll OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jun 29, 2013 11:32 AM
Webdave not working with native mac client tunerX MacBook Pro 0 Apr 30, 2013 10:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps