Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 2, 2012, 10:52 PM   #201
brentsg
macrumors 68030
 
brentsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I just installed an EVGA GF680 2GB card into my 2010 MP today. I installed the NV drivers, and also their CUDA drivers.

First, I was surprised to see a CUDA applet in System Preferences but nothing for the card itself.

Second, what's the secret to searching for the latest drivers from NV? I see the links in the OP but there has to be a way to search their site an I've not figured it out.

When updates are available, is there a way to remove the old driver? Is that necessary?

Thanks
brentsg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 11:33 PM   #202
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Currently, to find latest driver on Nvidia site, you do a google serach for "Nvidia Driver"

It should get you to their driver search page.

Choose "Quadro" and "Mac Quadro 4000" then your version of Mac OS.

If you don't see choices for Mac, you haven't choosen right Quadro section from the top.

Basically, depending on your choices on top part, the choices below will change.

Hopefully this will change soon when the (delayed) K5000 for Mac is released.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 01:04 PM   #203
Asgorath
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by brentsg View Post
When updates are available, is there a way to remove the old driver? Is that necessary?

Thanks
Not necessary, if a Software Update contains new drivers it will overwrite the existing ones. Same with the NVIDIA installer.
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 01:12 PM   #204
MDangerous
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by MDangerous View Post
Gotcha!
1. Mac Pro 3,1
2. 10.8.2 and 304.00.05f02
3. What exactly am I looking for in /var/log/system.log? I went to Console and System Logs and filtered NVDA. I see the following error repeated over and over but not sure if this is what I'm looking for....

Nov 1 20:57:18 my-name-mac-pro-2 kernel[0]: NVDA(OpenGL): Channel exception! exception type = 0x1f = Fifo: MMU Error

Edit: I also see these...
Oct 31 15:55:14 my-name-mac-pro-2 kernel[0]: NVDA: Unable to use shared channel!
Oct 31 15:55:14 my-name-mac-pro-2 kernel[0]: NVDA: Calling glrKillClient for task 0xffffff802eb4d1a8


Oct 31 18:30:28 my-name-mac-pro-2 kernel[0]: NVDA(OpenGL): Channel timeout!
Oct 31 18:30:28 my-name-mac-pro-2 kernel[0]: NVDA(OpenGL): Channel exception! exception type = 0xd = GR: SW Notify Error
The some more errors I got this morning after trying to run Google Earth 7.0.1.8244 (beta) again.

Quote:
Nov 3 10:23:15 my-name-mac-pro-2 kernel[0]: NVDA(OpenGL): Channel exception! exception type = 0x8 = Fifo: Watchdog Timeout Error
Nov 3 10:23:15 my-name-mac-pro-2 kernel[0]: NVDA(OpenGL): Channel exception! exception type = 0x20 = PBDMA Error
Nov 3 10:25:05 my-name-mac-pro-2 kernel[0]: NVDA(OpenGL): Channel timeout!
MDangerous is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 01:15 PM   #205
Asgorath
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MDangerous View Post
The some more errors I got this morning after trying to run Google Earth 7.0.1.8244 (beta) again.
Right, so there's definitely something going wrong, all of those errors point to memory access problems by the GPU. Could be an app bug, a driver bug, who knows.
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 11:48 AM   #206
Asgorath
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
There's a new driver for 10.7.5 up:

295.00.05f03

Interestingly enough, it lists the MacPro1,1 (2006) and MacPro2,1 (2007) as officially supported. Might be worth updating, especially if you're using a PC card in one of those systems. I'm going to try my GTS 450 to see if that hang bug has been fixed later today.
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 06:08 PM   #207
Asgorath
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
I'm going to try my GTS 450 to see if that hang bug has been fixed later today.
Confirming that this driver does appear to contain the same fix that shipped in the 10.8.1 web driver, my GTS 450 handles sleep/wake and modesets just fine. Good news for anyone stuck on Lion that was using one of those cards.
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 06:23 PM   #208
combo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
There's a new driver for 10.7.5 up:

295.00.05f03

Interestingly enough, it lists the MacPro1,1 (2006) and MacPro2,1 (2007) as officially supported. Might be worth updating, especially if you're using a PC card in one of those systems. I'm going to try my GTS 450 to see if that hang bug has been fixed later today.
Hey Asgorath, it might be good to update the OP with the fact that you need to select Quadro and Quadro 4000 as the card type when checking the nvidia website for the latest and greatest drivers (as MacVidCards just noted).

I kept scratching my head for a few days when I selected selected my actual card (gtx 670) and couldn't find Mac as a suitable OS. Once I backtracked a bit from the links you provided, I figured out what was going on. Might save some people a little bit of grief.

Either way, thanks for consolidating all that information. Friggin' beautiful.
combo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 08:30 PM   #209
Asgorath
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by combo View Post
Hey Asgorath, it might be good to update the OP with the fact that you need to select Quadro and Quadro 4000 as the card type when checking the nvidia website for the latest and greatest drivers (as MacVidCards just noted).

I kept scratching my head for a few days when I selected selected my actual card (gtx 670) and couldn't find Mac as a suitable OS. Once I backtracked a bit from the links you provided, I figured out what was going on. Might save some people a little bit of grief.

Either way, thanks for consolidating all that information. Friggin' beautiful.
Well, that's why I have all the drivers listed in the OP, to avoid any confusion. Don't forget that the drivers won't show up for cards like the GTX 670 because they're not officially supported, they just happen to mostly work pretty well. I'll update the OP with the Quadro 4000 info just in case, though.
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 03:57 PM   #210
scottrichardson
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ulladulla, NSW Australia
LOL I think my question has been overlooked so I apologise for asking again... but..

Are there any 670 or 680 cards with two display ports?

I'd love to run my twin 24" Cinema Displays without the need for a converter box for DVI > MDP.

Scottie
__________________
Mac Pro 8 Core 2.93Ghz 32GB RAM, 2 X SSD 840 PRO 512GB RAID 0, 2 x 24" LED, GTX660 2GB GPU. MacBook Air 13" 2012 i7 2GHz, 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM.
scottrichardson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 05:16 PM   #211
Anderton
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sweden
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
Confirming that this driver does appear to contain the same fix that shipped in the 10.8.1 web driver, my GTS 450 handles sleep/wake and modesets just fine. Good news for anyone stuck on Lion that was using one of those cards.

Can also confirm that my GT 520 works with sleep/wake and modesets just fine in Lion.

Last edited by Anderton; Nov 9, 2012 at 09:11 PM.
Anderton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 07:54 AM   #212
fcofdeznra
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Asus GT 610 works with nVidia drivers on Mac Pro early 2008

With Mountain drivers Mac doesn't boot
fcofdeznra is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 01:12 PM   #213
Asgorath
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by fcofdeznra View Post
Asus GT 610 works with nVidia drivers on Mac Pro early 2008

With Mountain drivers Mac doesn't boot
Can you be more specific? You say it works, but that the system doesn't boot? Not sure I understand.
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 12:04 AM   #214
stmp
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
new 10.7.5 drivers

Hi Asgorath,

Thanks first and foremost for all the effort you have put into this thread.

Curious if you or anyone had a chance to test any Kepler 6xx series cards in a Mac Pro 1,1 or 2,1 using the new drivers you posted about in this thread on 7 November.

Thanks again!
stmp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 12:13 AM   #215
Asgorath
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by stmp View Post
Hi Asgorath,

Thanks first and foremost for all the effort you have put into this thread.

Curious if you or anyone had a chance to test any Kepler 6xx series cards in a Mac Pro 1,1 or 2,1 using the new drivers you posted about in this thread on 7 November.

Thanks again!
I don't have access to a MacPro1,1 or MacPro2,1 so no, unfortunately not. AFAIK there aren't any Kepler GPUs that work with Lion (10.7.5 + 295.00.05f03), even though the MBPs shipped with Lion to begin with. Fermi GPUs should work fine though, including the 6xx cards based on them.

Edit: TBH I'd just get a GTX 560 Ti or a GTX 570 if you have a MacPro1,1 or MacPro2,1.
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 04:57 PM   #216
zerb
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
i recently put a GTX570 2.5gb in my 09 pro, the install went flawlessly on all fronts...CUDA, OpenCL, etc. My one question i have here though is what ports work/dont work on the card? i am looking to hook up a spare 32" HDTV i have to the HDMI port on the GPU, will that work out for me?
zerb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 12:09 AM   #217
Asgorath
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerb View Post
i recently put a GTX570 2.5gb in my 09 pro, the install went flawlessly on all fronts...CUDA, OpenCL, etc. My one question i have here though is what ports work/dont work on the card? i am looking to hook up a spare 32" HDTV i have to the HDMI port on the GPU, will that work out for me?
Why don't you plug it in and see if it works? You can't damage anything by trying this. To be clear, everything we've learned has come from trial and error, my FAQ post is just an up-to-date summary of all this information.
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 07:00 AM   #218
TeaZy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Which of these is this best option for Resolve and FCPX?

http://www.scan.co.uk/products/25gb-...0mhz-480-cores

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Nvidia-GTX-5...item35c17fe217

I have a GT120 installed for boot operations if needed. I can't seem to find a GTX 570 Evga 2.5GB in the uk? I'm slightly worried about using an over clocked card for heat and driver compatibility issues.
TeaZy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 07:09 AM   #219
makaveli559m
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Hi I was wondering what are the best Nvidia cards that are known to work on a Mac Pro 2.1?
__________________
15" MBP (mid 2010) Core i5 2.40GHz, 8GB RAM, 500GB Momentus XT Hybrid HD, Nvidia GT330m/ Intel HD.
makaveli559m is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 10:23 AM   #220
Asgorath
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveli559m View Post
Hi I was wondering what are the best Nvidia cards that are known to work on a Mac Pro 2.1?
What OS are you running? If Lion, then pretty much any Fermi generation card will work. If Snow Leopard, then your options are very limited.

Assuming you are running Lion, then:

- Get a GTX 570 if you have an unlimited budget
- Otherwise, get a GTX 560 or GTX 560 Ti

A quick NewEgg search suggests the 560s are down in the $170 range, which is great for a card of that generation.

Edit: When I have some time, I'll update the OP with more details for MacPro1,1 and MacPro2,1 owners such as yourself.
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 10:02 PM   #221
zerb
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
Why don't you plug it in and see if it works? You can't damage anything by trying this. To be clear, everything we've learned has come from trial and error, my FAQ post is just an up-to-date summary of all this information.
Good call. I only have one monitor at the moment but I can confirm that the HDMI out on the GTX570 2.5gb (non flashed) works on my 09 pro. Once I get my second monitor I will play with plugging things into other ports at the same time and see what works and what doesn't.
zerb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 10:48 PM   #222
makaveli559m
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
What OS are you running? If Lion, then pretty much any Fermi generation card will work. If Snow Leopard, then your options are very limited.

Assuming you are running Lion, then:

- Get a GTX 570 if you have an unlimited budget
- Otherwise, get a GTX 560 or GTX 560 Ti

A quick NewEgg search suggests the 560s are down in the $170 range, which is great for a card of that generation.

Edit: When I have some time, I'll update the OP with more details for MacPro1,1 and MacPro2,1 owners such as yourself.
Hi yes I am running Lion, so pretty much just in play and they should work out of the box? Wow thanks I would sure like some more details this is my first Mac Pro
__________________
15" MBP (mid 2010) Core i5 2.40GHz, 8GB RAM, 500GB Momentus XT Hybrid HD, Nvidia GT330m/ Intel HD.
makaveli559m is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 04:46 PM   #223
RipperG
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
MacPro 3,1 with GTX 560 Fermi

Thanks for this post Asgorath,

I installed a Gigabyte GTX 560 Fermi as I was on a budget but wanted a card that was quiet and ran cool! Runs great! I have been using my ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT since 2008! I was way overdue for an upgrade!

This is the one I installed http://ca.gigabyte.com/products/prod...px?pid=3881#ov

FSX runs great and X-plane 10 runs very well.

Cheers
__________________
MacPro 2008 (3,1) 8 Core 2.8 Ghz
RipperG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 10:27 AM   #224
fcofdeznra
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
Can you be more specific? You say it works, but that the system doesn't boot? Not sure I understand.
Asus GT 610 on MacPro3,1 (Early 2008) running Mac OSX Mountain Lion 10.8.2:
- Works perfectly with nVidia web drivers.
- MacPro doesn't boot with stock Apple drivers.
fcofdeznra is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 11:00 PM   #225
sarthak
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
No EFI so no boot screen but with my SSD in the MP it's okay.

Last edited by sarthak; Apr 18, 2013 at 03:38 PM.
sarthak is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac-Compatible Nvidia Graphics Cards jblagden Mac Pro 7 Oct 30, 2014 05:42 PM
Frequently Asked Questions About AMD PC (non-EFI) Graphics Cards? fiatlux Mac Pro 0 Mar 27, 2014 05:10 AM
General: Frequently Asked Jailbreak Questions tymaster50 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 21 Jun 4, 2013 05:43 PM
Windows 8 EFI Grpahics Drivers for nvidia cards d00ski Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Apr 2, 2013 12:06 PM
Full 10.7.5 11G63 installer boot w/ non-EFI NVIDIA? bbbc Mac Pro 2 Dec 6, 2012 07:31 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC