Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 3, 2010, 02:46 AM   #101
Fat Fatster
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Nutter - thanks for the GREAT post.

For people who are not yet familiar with SSDs ..

you are going to be VERY SURPRISED about some things:

THERE ARE THREE CRITICAL FACTS ABOUD SSDs:

(1) [Most] SSD DRIVES ****** ARE NOT RELIABLE ******* over longer periods of time. We have had to send back excatly 50% of SSD drives which we have bought - after about 1 to 2 months.

SSD drives have the famous "SSD spinning ball problem". AT FIRST they work brilliantly, BUT after they have been used for a long time, and there have been a lot of read write operations on a given area, they (can, sometimes) develop problems.

Once this happens, they change from being the fastest drive in the universe, to moving at a snails pace. You will basically have one last chance to move everything to an (old-fashioned platter) drive to save the data.

This EVEN HAPPENED TO US with a Mercury OWC (50gb model) which is fantastic and probably the "LEAST LIKELY" to suffer the famous "SSD decay" problem. It worked perfectly until it filled up to 32.5 gb ... after which it never worked again (other than at a snail's pace) and was sent back.

Indeed it is very likely, the reason Apple use the laughable Toshiba SSD drives .. is that they are (perhaps? we hope?) more reliable after a few months than actual fast SSD drives.

(2) SSD DRIVES ARE MINDBOGGLINGLY FAST. If you have not tried one yet, you will be stunned and feel silly once you try one! They are so fast you will weep. They are so fast they make processor upgrades seem silly.

(3) And thirdly, SSD DRIVES DIFFER VERY GREATLY ONE FORM THE OTHER. The fact is all platter drives are about the same, no big difference. SSD drives are wildly different from each other, huge differences, HUGE differences in speed, basic operational paradigm, reliability, power use, the "SSD Decay" problem, etc etc etc.

As someone said ..

"You've obviously never seen or used one of these new
SandForce SSD's. Forget about the Apple built-in ones.
They are atrocious."

This is true, if you have not used SSDs yet, and indeed not tried at least four different brands, you at this point know zero and you will be very, very shocked (in both good and bad ways) when you enter the SSD world.

Again the three very critical points ..

(1) "SSD Decay" -- SSDs have a horrible and well known problem where in some cases they simply stop working (other than at a snail's pace) after a certain amount of use

(2) SSD drives are so fast it is scary

(3) there are HUGE --------- HUGE ------------ differences between SSD technologies and brands. Indeed to be clear, SSD drives are as different one from the other as (say) a mac vs. a pc or a motorbike vs. a car or a sailing ship vs. a motorboat. The various SSDs are wildly different and perform wildly differently -- and have wildly different approaches to the horrific "SSD Decay" problem.

if you're ever using an SSD drive and once - just once - you get a spinning ball, you're buggered. The drive has had it, "SSD Decay" is here, it will just get worse and worse over the next couple weeks and that will be the end of it.

Something new .. (Aug 2010) ..We have not yet tried one of the brand-new hybrid drives,

http://www.macupgrade.be/product_inf...roducts_id/443

but perhaps they are the future.

Again thanks for the fantastic post, Nutter !!
Fat Fatster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2010, 02:48 PM   #102
Van evander Van
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I have put my Corsair Force 120 gb into my iMac and it all went smoothly. Everything connected and everything fit. My issue is that my new drive is not showing up under devices in my Finder. What is that about? is it possible the drive was DOA (dead on arrival)? Is there some other explanation?
Van evander Van is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2010, 08:46 PM   #103
wingzero1285
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Van evander Van View Post
I have put my Corsair Force 120 gb into my iMac and it all went smoothly. Everything connected and everything fit. My issue is that my new drive is not showing up under devices in my Finder. What is that about? is it possible the drive was DOA (dead on arrival)? Is there some other explanation?
Open disk utility and partition the hard drive. Don't erase it or cause any additional writes than necessary. Depending upon what you're using it for, you need to partition it correctly... Select Mac OS Extended (Journaled) and under options make sure you have GUID selected. That way the drive can have the OS installed to it if thats what you're looking to do! Good luck!

I recently added an Intel 80gb x25-m in addition to my 1TB for the OS and apps, its nice!
wingzero1285 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2010, 03:19 AM   #104
Van evander Van
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
The thing is my disk utility does not recognize that my SSD is in the machine. I want to put my OS and Apps on it so if disk utility cannot locate it, is it not installed properly?
Van evander Van is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2010, 04:52 AM   #105
Nick L.
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Here's a guide with photos for installing an SSD drive in new iMacs.

http://www.twam.info/hardware/apple/...d-2010-27-imac
Nick L. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2010, 06:09 AM   #106
MrGusto
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I was wondering or someone could tell me or it is possible to put in a SSD as a second disk in my late 2009 i5 iMac (first quad core).

The space for the drive is probably there but does the motherboard also have a spare sata connector? This seems like a reasonable question because in this model there were no options for a second drive..

And I would like to find out first before I start opening my iMac.
MrGusto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2010, 01:07 AM   #107
drcreek
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Uddevalla, Sweden
The only way to it with that one I think is to sacrifice the SuperDrive.
drcreek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2010, 07:38 AM   #108
iDutchman
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrGusto View Post
I was wondering or someone could tell me or it is possible to put in a SSD as a second disk in my late 2009 i5 iMac (first quad core).

The space for the drive is probably there but does the motherboard also have a spare sata connector? This seems like a reasonable question because in this model there were no options for a second drive..

And I would like to find out first before I start opening my iMac.
You'll need to sacrifice your SuperDrive indeed. The 2010 iMac 27" has an third SATA connector.
__________________
15" rMBP - 27" iMac - Iphone 5S Silver (and all others..)
iDutchman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2010, 10:36 AM   #109
JasonR
macrumors 6502a
 
JasonR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by iDutchman View Post
You'll need to sacrifice your SuperDrive indeed. The 2010 iMac 27" has an third SATA connector.
If I sacrifice the superdrive...can I install OS X from a thumb drive (much like the Macbook Air)?
JasonR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2010, 10:54 AM   #110
MrGusto
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonR View Post
If I sacrifice the superdrive...can I install OS X from a thumb drive (much like the Macbook Air)?
I think that I will just buy the macbook air superdrive, it looks good so that won't be annoying if it just lays under the screen.
MrGusto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2010, 06:03 PM   #111
iDutchman
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrGusto View Post
I think that I will just buy the macbook air superdrive, it looks good so that won't be annoying if it just lays under the screen.
Note: The MacBook Air Superdrive Does not work on any other Apple computer except from the air (obviously)
__________________
15" rMBP - 27" iMac - Iphone 5S Silver (and all others..)
iDutchman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2011, 08:59 AM   #112
reboot81
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Lightbulb SSD drive under the DVD drive?

Any of you tried to mount the SSD behind the superdrive? I read about it at Brian Tobeys page, and it sounds smart.
Way much easier to remove the superdrive than the logic board whenever theres a need to access the SSD.

He used doublesided tape, but I'm running for velcro straps.
__________________
27" iMac11,3 i7 mid 2010 20GB 4TB+240GB Agility 3 MBP13 8,1 32GB 750GB+240GB Vertex 4 4S iOS 7 iPad 3gen 16GB ATV3
reboot81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2011, 10:00 AM   #113
c613m
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ottawa
Quote:
Originally Posted by reboot81 View Post
Any of you tried to mount the SSD behind the superdrive? I read about it at Brian Tobeys page, and it sounds smart.
Way much easier to remove the superdrive than the logic board whenever theres a need to access the SSD.

He used doublesided tape, but I'm running for velcro straps.
Umm there are several more recent threads regarding this...

But to answer your question, whether or not you're mounting under the superdrive, you still need to gain access to the logic board (aka remove it) to plug in your cables.
__________________
iMac 21.6" (early 2011), MacBook Air 11.6" (mid-2011), iPhone 5S (Space Grey), iPad Air (Silver)
c613m is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2011, 01:40 PM   #114
reboot81
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by c613m View Post
Umm there are several more recent threads regarding this...

But to answer your question, whether or not you're mounting under the superdrive, you still need to gain access to the logic board (aka remove it) to plug in your cables.
Oh, could you please show me one 2010 SSD+HD setup thread?

Thanks
__________________
27" iMac11,3 i7 mid 2010 20GB 4TB+240GB Agility 3 MBP13 8,1 32GB 750GB+240GB Vertex 4 4S iOS 7 iPad 3gen 16GB ATV3

Last edited by reboot81; Sep 10, 2011 at 02:26 PM.
reboot81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 06:59 AM   #115
tmaxxtigger
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Just completed

Just completed this upgrade myself and all I can say is why did I wait so long! Probably because the SSD drives where too pricey. I used the Corsair Force GT 240GB. Bootcamp is a rocket also
tmaxxtigger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 09:53 PM   #116
Sandman1969
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Very cool thread. Thanks for the information.

I just ordered 2 27" iMacs. They were refurbed, so I couldn't do any modifications. I will probably wait before going SSD, as the bump in speed to these new iMacs will be big enough from our existing iMacs.

I will definitely keep this in mind in the future. Though, hopefully external Thunderbolt drives prices come down in the future. Firewire devices were steep at first.
__________________
MBA 2013 i7 8/256 | MBP 2012 15" i7 (850 EVO) | 2x iMac 2011 27" i5 16GB/1TB | 2x iMac 2007 24" | 2x iPad2 | 1x iPad1 | 2x 32GB iPhone 5 | 2x TV
Sandman1969 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 11:45 PM   #117
Revolverkiller
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nutter View Post
I've attached a close-up showing where the temperature cable is attached to the stock HD. This cable is used to control the HD fan, but since the SSD you're installing doesn't have a port for this cable you'll need to short the contacts at the end of the cable to keep the fan running at its minimum level (rather than at the maximum). This is perfectly safe as SSDs generate very little heat.

Note that you only need to do this if you're replacing the stock HD with an SSD, not if you're adding an additional SSD.
i plan on swapping out my superdrive with an SSD and have that be the main drive and the 1 tb already there be the secondary drive, so would i have to short out the temp sensor anyway?
__________________
27" iMac 3.06 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD ; iPhone 3g, 16 GB

Last edited by Revolverkiller; Nov 2, 2012 at 11:54 PM.
Revolverkiller is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just installed SM512E Samsung SSD in my 2011 iMac 27" lordboogie iMac 2 Nov 24, 2013 02:22 PM
2010 27" iMac hard disk replacement Latt Buying Tips and Advice 17 Jun 5, 2013 04:03 AM
Question about selling 27" iMac with self-installed SSD AbeFroman77 iMac 13 Oct 17, 2012 07:37 PM
Installed SSD on imac 21.5" robster2644 iMac 3 Oct 7, 2012 08:35 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC