Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 3, 2012, 01:45 PM   #1
miksterman
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Apple TV 3 preset settings?

I've started encoding MKV files made from Blu rays for the first time using the Apple TV 3 preset in Handbrake. Is everybody use the settings as is for that preset or has anyone tried tweaking the settings some? I've tried the ATV 3 preset with the settings it's set at and gotten one movie file around 8.5 GB but other 2 movies I've encoded have been around 3.5 GB which surprised me. Also are the audio settings correct in that preset or has anyone tweaked those settings as well. I mainly view my movies on ATV 3 on a Samsung 46" LED no surround speakers but may at some point get a 5.1 surround system.
miksterman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 02:41 PM   #2
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by miksterman View Post
I've started encoding MKV files made from Blu rays for the first time using the Apple TV 3 preset in Handbrake. Is everybody use the settings as is for that preset or has anyone tried tweaking the settings some? I've tried the ATV 3 preset with the settings it's set at and gotten one movie file around 8.5 GB but other 2 movies I've encoded have been around 3.5 GB which surprised me. Also are the audio settings correct in that preset or has anyone tweaked those settings as well. I mainly view my movies on ATV 3 on a Samsung 46" LED no surround speakers but may at some point get a 5.1 surround system.
File size is not only influenced by HB setting but also the movie's length, action, grain, lightness/darkness and numerous other items. It's not unusual to have a wide span of file sizes.

Don't make yourself crazy with HB settings. It's makes a nice hobby but most just use the well developed aTV3 preset. It has been optimized by the HB developers to yield very high picture/audio quality with minimal file size. All of that will cost you some transcoding time, however.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 08:40 PM   #3
The Mad Hatter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: SoCal
Not to hijack this thread (since my question is on the same topic), but what is the significance of the ATV3 preset using 30fps? I thought it was better use the same frame rate as the source?

Just my inquiring mind wanting to know.


tMH
__________________
I'd rather stay here with all the madmen, than perish with the sadmen roaming free.
The Mad Hatter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 04:51 AM   #4
benh911f
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I believe it's a variable frame rate, meaning, if I understand correctly, it is same as source, up to and including 30 fps.
benh911f is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 08:25 AM   #5
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mad Hatter View Post
Not to hijack this thread (since my question is on the same topic), but what is the significance of the ATV3 preset using 30fps? I thought it was better use the same frame rate as the source?

Just my inquiring mind wanting to know.


tMH
It uses same frame rate but is set to a maximum of 30fps which complies with the aTV3 specifications.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 11:39 AM   #6
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
correct, it uses 30 fps as the peak framerate, under that its same as source. As said above this makes sure its compliant with the atv 3's specs.

basically any common source (both ntsc video/film or pal) will be same as source. But something like 60fps ota will be nerfed down to 30 fps so it is atv3 compliant.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What preset in Handbrake? boatcapt Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Dec 13, 2013 08:24 AM
Handbrake Apple TV 3 Preset best? VideoBeagle Apple TV and Home Theater 26 Nov 3, 2013 11:13 PM
Handbrake Audio Settings for Dolby Digital 5.1 with ATV 3 preset miksterman Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Feb 8, 2013 02:24 AM
Handbrake and Apple TV3 preset on an ATV2 themoffster Apple TV and Home Theater 0 Aug 26, 2012 04:39 PM
DVDs - HB Preset GarrettL1979 Apple TV and Home Theater 6 Aug 3, 2012 01:15 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC