Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 3, 2012, 03:06 PM   #1
Negatron
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Running bootcamp and OSX at the same time

This is probably a stupid question, but is there any way to run Bootcamp and OSX at the same time, perhaps on dual monitors?

My windows PC fried, and I currently only have my mac. The issue I am running into is needing to use Photoshop (I own an OSX version) and my class using Autodesk 3DS Max, a windows-only program. I have to swap between the programs quite frequently, and as a result am left either hoping it turns out right, or swapping between partitions and rebooting my computer very very very often.

Any help would be appreciated. thank you
Negatron is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 03:18 PM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Negatron View Post
This is probably a stupid question, but is there any way to run Bootcamp and OSX at the same time, perhaps on dual monitors?
No, you have to boot into one or the other. To run Windows apps on your Mac, you can also use Parallels or VMware Fusion.

If you don't have a Windows license, you can use CrossOver to run some applications. Not all Windows apps are compatible with CrossOver. Check their site for compatible apps.

For more information about running Windows on your Mac, check out the Windows, Linux & other on the Mac forum.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 05:52 PM   #3
Pakaku
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
I wouldn't run 3DS Max in a VM, because of performance.

Assuming you bought Photoshop, you could exchange you OS X liscence for a Windows liscence, and do all of your work in Windows.
Pakaku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 06:29 PM   #4
Stooby Mcdoobie
macrumors 6502a
 
Stooby Mcdoobie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pakaku View Post
I wouldn't run 3DS Max in a VM, because of performance.

Assuming you bought Photoshop, you could exchange you OS X liscence for a Windows liscence, and do all of your work in Windows.
This would probably be your best bet. I would follow the instructions here, then download and use the trial version of Photoshop for Windows until you get the license swap sorted out.
Stooby Mcdoobie is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running mainly Windows 7 with Bootcamp? mattyb. Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 3 Jul 3, 2013 10:17 AM
Running Bootcamp AFTER Filevault? Breadman86 MacBook Pro 0 Mar 28, 2013 02:17 PM
Windows: Running witcher 2 on bootcamp violinist67 Mac and PC Games 5 Jan 19, 2013 11:02 AM
Mac OSX running slower with Bootcamp sstevens OS X 2 Jan 16, 2013 01:59 AM
How to backup from OSx and fusion/Bootcamp at the same time? Iphone4sinwhite MacBook Pro 4 Aug 12, 2012 01:12 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC