Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 10, 2012, 02:12 PM   #101
kbmb
macrumors 68030
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NH
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badagri View Post
Has something changed recently with the latest update to Mountain Lion? the Network section of the Nano has the external IP of unknown. It was working fine with 10.8.2 itself.
I'm on the latest update 10.8.2 Supplemental Update and it's showing my external IP fine.

-Kevin
__________________
2010 Mac Pro 2.8 Quad, 27" ACD - Mid 2012 MacBook Air
kbmb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2012, 11:38 AM   #102
theanimaster
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
My network thing says "Updating..." and it's stuck on that.

Other than that... everything else works fine. I don't use it for checking my network anyways (I use Little Snitch 3 for that).
theanimaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2012, 12:03 PM   #103
kbmb
macrumors 68030
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NH
Well, not sure why it was working the other day but mine now is either Updating or Unknown.

I think as time goes by iStat Pro will probably slowly stop working.

-Kevin
__________________
2010 Mac Pro 2.8 Quad, 27" ACD - Mid 2012 MacBook Air
kbmb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2012, 10:31 AM   #104
urbncwby
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Actually as of today iStat is completely gone. islayer.com where people could download it is down, never to return again. @bjango at twitter confirms it. Just reinstalled ML from scratch and hate having no iStat anymore.
urbncwby is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2012, 03:41 PM   #105
zepman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by urbncwby View Post
Actually as of today iStat is completely gone. islayer.com where people could download it is down, never to return again. @bjango at twitter confirms it. Just reinstalled ML from scratch and hate having no iStat anymore.
If you want it, I attached the complete widget with the fixes a couple of posts up.
__________________
13" Macbook Pro with Retina display (Late 2013), i5 2.4 GHz, 8 GB, 256 GB SSD; iPhone 4S 16 GB
zepman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2012, 04:46 PM   #106
urbncwby
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by zepman View Post
If you want it, I attached the complete widget with the fixes a couple of posts up.
I saw that. BIG thanks for that
urbncwby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2012, 07:05 PM   #107
f00f
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Yawk
Quote:
Originally Posted by theanimaster View Post
My network thing says "Updating..." and it's stuck on that.

Other than that... everything else works fine. I don't use it for checking my network anyways (I use Little Snitch 3 for that).
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Well, not sure why it was working the other day but mine now is either Updating or Unknown.

I think as time goes by iStat Pro will probably slowly stop working.

-Kevin
Quote:
Originally Posted by urbncwby View Post
Actually as of today iStat is completely gone. islayer.com where people could download it is down, never to return again. @bjango at twitter confirms it. Just reinstalled ML from scratch and hate having no iStat anymore.

Yeah, the IP address detection stopped because the islayer.com web sites went the way of the dodo bird -- and because the iStat Pro widget, by default, uses a URL within that domain for IP address detection. The solution is to use another web site that can display your external IP address when it's accessed. There's a number of such website that can do this for you (whatismyip.com is one I've used often; even google will tell you when you ask for it)

It's important to note that iStat wants to hit a URL that will return the IP address of the client (you) in plain text, with no HTTP cruft. The code for this stuff lives within the iStat Pro.wdgt package, in scripts/core.js, in the function getExtIP() (roughly line 243 in the file). This function is as follows:

Code:
function getExtIP(){
        ipURL = 'http://whatsmyip.islayer.com/?random='+new Date().getTime();
        ipConnection = new XMLHttpRequest();
        ipConnection.open("GET",ipURL,true);
        ipConnection.onreadystatechange = function() {
                if(ipConnection.readyState == 4 && ipConnection.responseText != null && ipConnection.responseText.length > 0) {
                        extIP = ipConnection.responseText;
                        if(extIP.length < 20 && ipConnection.status == 200 && extIP.match(/\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}/)){
                                e("wide_extip").innerHTML = extIP;
                                e("tall_extip").innerHTML = extIP;
                                valid_ip = true;
                        } else {
                                valid_ip = false;
                                e("wide_extip").innerHTML = "Unknown";
                                e("tall_extip").innerHTML = "Unknown";
                        }   
                }   
        }   
        ipConnection.send(null);
}
I posted the whole thing for the sake of context and completeness, but the important bit here is the second line: the variable ipURL. Since whatsmyip.islayer.com no longer exists, we need a new URL to use. It also needs to be a URL that returns the client's IP address in plain text (this part is implied by code later in the function, specifically, that the IP length be less than 20 chars. Including dots, even if each octet in an IP is 3 digits, that gives a max of 15.)

If you have access to a web server on the public Internet with PHP or similar on it, you can whip up a small utility that, when accessed by an HTTP client, will simply return the client's IP address (in Apache web servers, I think you could use the value of the REMOTE_ADDR environment variable) For those of us that don't have this luxury -- well, ask google.

I asked google for a website to return my IP address in plain text. I'm not going to recommend any of the results of that google, because automated IP lookups may or may not fall within their acceptable use policies, etc. (In fact, here's such a policy at WhatIsMyIp.com) Once you find a URL that, when accessed, returns your public IP in plain text -- simply use that as the new value for ipURL on line 244 (or thereabout) in scripts/core.js. But please respect the usage policies of whatever site you use, as applicable.

Good luck
__________________
13" MBA mid 2012 | 27" iMac late 2012 | iPhone 5S 64GB Space Gray
f00f is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 07:28 AM   #108
kbmb
macrumors 68030
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NH
Quote:
Originally Posted by f00f View Post
Yeah, the IP address detection stopped because the islayer.com web sites went the way of the dodo bird -- and because the iStat Pro widget, by default, uses a URL within that domain for IP address detection. The solution is to use another web site that can display your external IP address when it's accessed. There's a number of such website that can do this for you (whatismyip.com is one I've used often; even google will tell you when you ask for it)

It's important to note that iStat wants to hit a URL that will return the IP address of the client (you) in plain text, with no HTTP cruft. The code for this stuff lives within the iStat Pro.wdgt package, in scripts/core.js, in the function getExtIP() (roughly line 243 in the file). This function is as follows:

I posted the whole thing for the sake of context and completeness, but the important bit here is the second line: the variable ipURL. Since whatsmyip.islayer.com no longer exists, we need a new URL to use. It also needs to be a URL that returns the client's IP address in plain text (this part is implied by code later in the function, specifically, that the IP length be less than 20 chars. Including dots, even if each octet in an IP is 3 digits, that gives a max of 15.)

If you have access to a web server on the public Internet with PHP or similar on it, you can whip up a small utility that, when accessed by an HTTP client, will simply return the client's IP address (in Apache web servers, I think you could use the value of the REMOTE_ADDR environment variable) For those of us that don't have this luxury -- well, ask google.

I asked google for a website to return my IP address in plain text. I'm not going to recommend any of the results of that google, because automated IP lookups may or may not fall within their acceptable use policies, etc. (In fact, here's such a policy at WhatIsMyIp.com) Once you find a URL that, when accessed, returns your public IP in plain text -- simply use that as the new value for ipURL on line 244 (or thereabout) in scripts/core.js. But please respect the usage policies of whatever site you use, as applicable.

Good luck
Awesome f00f. Thank you for this! I can't believe I poked around that file and never found this.

For those that have access to a web server running php.....you can simply create a file on the server called something like ip.php and put in the following code (code obtained from networksecuritytoolkit.org):

Code:
<?php
/* $Id: ip.php,v 1.3 2008/09/24 13:58:49 pblankenbaker Exp $
 *
 * Small PHP script to "echo" back the IP address of the remote
 * system as it appears to the server.
 *
 * Example client side usage:
 *
 *   wget http://www.networksecuritytoolkit.org/nst/tools/ip.php -O -
 *
 */

// Echo back IP address as a "plain text" document

header('Content-type: text/plain');

// Check to see if server has been forwarded the request
if (isset($_SERVER['HTTP_X_REMOTE_ADDR'])) {
  printf("%s\n", $_SERVER['HTTP_X_REMOTE_ADDR']);
} else {
  printf("%s\n", $_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR']);
}
?>
This will return the ip as a plain text string.

You can then point iStat at this new script to obtain the IP address. This is the route I'm going.

For those without a web server, you might even be able to get free hosting somewhere to place this file. The hosting does need to run PHP for this script to work.

-Kevin
__________________
2010 Mac Pro 2.8 Quad, 27" ACD - Mid 2012 MacBook Air
kbmb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 01:46 PM   #109
hartsook
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Send a message via Skype™ to hartsook
Smile Works for me.

Thanks, iStatPro now returning my external ip address.

The hardest part was finding the widget file.

Finally used "Go to folder" in the Finder:Go menu and used ~/Library/Widgets to locate iStat, then opened the package to find the scripts/core/js file.
hartsook is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 08:35 PM   #110
Badagri
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Here was me thinking it was a preference file screw up or the last OS update. Awesome people you lot are!
Badagri is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 11:48 PM   #111
unrealnighthawk
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Awesome! Thanks a lot for the pointer f00f and the script kbmb! I'm now seeing my external IP perfectly. I don't seem to see any in/out data. Should that be tweaked somewhere else?
unrealnighthawk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 04:54 AM   #112
mag01
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by f00f View Post
Yeah, the IP address detection stopped because the islayer.com web sites went the way of the dodo bird -- and because the iStat Pro widget, by default, uses a URL within that domain for IP address detection. The solution is to use another web site that can display your external IP address when it's accessed. There's a number of such website that can do this for you (whatismyip.com is one I've used often; even google will tell you when you ask for it)

It's important to note that iStat wants to hit a URL that will return the IP address of the client (you) in plain text, with no HTTP cruft. The code for this stuff lives within the iStat Pro.wdgt package, in scripts/core.js, in the function getExtIP() (roughly line 243 in the file). This function is as follows:

Code:
function getExtIP(){
        ipURL = 'http://whatsmyip.islayer.com/?random='+new Date().getTime();
        ipConnection = new XMLHttpRequest();
        ipConnection.open("GET",ipURL,true);
        ipConnection.onreadystatechange = function() {
                if(ipConnection.readyState == 4 && ipConnection.responseText != null && ipConnection.responseText.length > 0) {
                        extIP = ipConnection.responseText;
                        if(extIP.length < 20 && ipConnection.status == 200 && extIP.match(/\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}/)){
                                e("wide_extip").innerHTML = extIP;
                                e("tall_extip").innerHTML = extIP;
                                valid_ip = true;
                        } else {
                                valid_ip = false;
                                e("wide_extip").innerHTML = "Unknown";
                                e("tall_extip").innerHTML = "Unknown";
                        }   
                }   
        }   
        ipConnection.send(null);
}
I posted the whole thing for the sake of context and completeness, but the important bit here is the second line: the variable ipURL. Since whatsmyip.islayer.com no longer exists, we need a new URL to use. It also needs to be a URL that returns the client's IP address in plain text (this part is implied by code later in the function, specifically, that the IP length be less than 20 chars. Including dots, even if each octet in an IP is 3 digits, that gives a max of 15.)

If you have access to a web server on the public Internet with PHP or similar on it, you can whip up a small utility that, when accessed by an HTTP client, will simply return the client's IP address (in Apache web servers, I think you could use the value of the REMOTE_ADDR environment variable) For those of us that don't have this luxury -- well, ask google.

I asked google for a website to return my IP address in plain text. I'm not going to recommend any of the results of that google, because automated IP lookups may or may not fall within their acceptable use policies, etc. (In fact, here's such a policy at WhatIsMyIp.com) Once you find a URL that, when accessed, returns your public IP in plain text -- simply use that as the new value for ipURL on line 244 (or thereabout) in scripts/core.js. But please respect the usage policies of whatever site you use, as applicable.

Good luck
iStat Menus use h..p://ip.bjango.com (replaced 'tt' with '..' so that it doesn't link directly from here) for that purpose, you may try the same URL in iStat Pro.

Last edited by mag01; Oct 18, 2012 at 05:02 AM.
mag01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 04:54 AM   #113
pti'Luc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Solution for all without a server

Hi all,

as Bjango still offers this for iStat Menus why not simple replace that with their URL?

As f00f statet correct the h..p://whatsmyip.islayer.com is not correct anymore it can be replaced by h..p://ip.bjango.com.

This will be then the working solution:

Code:
function getExtIP(){
        ipURL = 'http://ip.bjango.com';
        ipConnection = new XMLHttpRequest();
        ipConnection.open("GET",ipURL,true);
        ipConnection.onreadystatechange = function() {
                if(ipConnection.readyState == 4 && ipConnection.responseText != null && ipConnection.responseText.length > 0) {
                        extIP = ipConnection.responseText;
                        if(extIP.length < 20 && ipConnection.status == 200 && extIP.match(/\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}/)){
                                e("wide_extip").innerHTML = extIP;
                                e("tall_extip").innerHTML = extIP;
                                valid_ip = true;
                        } else {
                                valid_ip = false;
                                e("wide_extip").innerHTML = "Unknown";
                                e("tall_extip").innerHTML = "Unknown";
                        }   
                }   
        }   
        ipConnection.send(null);
}

Last edited by pti'Luc; Oct 18, 2012 at 03:35 PM. Reason: Better solution.
pti'Luc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 05:11 AM   #114
mag01
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
pti'Luc: right, and as it responds properly even to plain GET request (without any query string) you may omit the /?random ... new Date().getTime() stuff and save few CPU cycles on this.

Last edited by mag01; Oct 18, 2012 at 05:16 AM.
mag01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 05:34 AM   #115
zepman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mag01 View Post
pti'Luc: right, and as it responds properly even to plain GET request (without any query string) you may omit the /?random ... new Date().getTime() stuff and save few CPU cycles on this.
That worked great! Thanks.
For the nano, the code is located in a different file, Workers.js. It worked great for the nano too.
__________________
13" Macbook Pro with Retina display (Late 2013), i5 2.4 GHz, 8 GB, 256 GB SSD; iPhone 4S 16 GB
zepman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 01:17 PM   #116
f00f
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Yawk
Quote:
Originally Posted by mag01 View Post
iStat Menus use h..p://ip.bjango.com (replaced 'tt' with '..' so that it doesn't link directly from here) for that purpose, you may try the same URL in iStat Pro.
Hey that's fantastic. Thanks for that!
__________________
13" MBA mid 2012 | 27" iMac late 2012 | iPhone 5S 64GB Space Gray
f00f is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 03:36 PM   #117
pti'Luc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Thanks for the hints, have updated my post above!

Works fine here!
pti'Luc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 04:15 PM   #118
Badagri
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
This is odd, I have pti'Luc's fix in iStat Pro working but iStat nano still shows fetching with the same code applied to workers.js.
Badagri is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 03:50 PM   #119
laserjay
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
for all the magic mouse users: I changed the battery_btmouse.png from mighty to magic, just replace it.
Attached Images
 
laserjay is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 06:46 AM   #120
Badagri
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pti'Luc View Post
Hi all,

as Bjango still offers this for iStat Menus why not simple replace that with their URL?

As f00f statet correct the h..p://whatsmyip.islayer.com is not correct anymore it can be replaced by h..p://ip.bjango.com.

This will be then the working solution:

Code:
function getExtIP(){
        ipURL = 'http://ip.bjango.com';
        ipConnection = new XMLHttpRequest();
        ipConnection.open("GET",ipURL,true);
        ipConnection.onreadystatechange = function() {
                if(ipConnection.readyState == 4 && ipConnection.responseText != null && ipConnection.responseText.length > 0) {
                        extIP = ipConnection.responseText;
                        if(extIP.length < 20 && ipConnection.status == 200 && extIP.match(/\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}\.\d{1,3}/)){
                                e("wide_extip").innerHTML = extIP;
                                e("tall_extip").innerHTML = extIP;
                                valid_ip = true;
                        } else {
                                valid_ip = false;
                                e("wide_extip").innerHTML = "Unknown";
                                e("tall_extip").innerHTML = "Unknown";
                        }   
                }   
        }   
        ipConnection.send(null);
}
Can anyone advise on the solution to my problem with iStat Nano. I'm unable to get the code to work. After saving the workers.js and reloading the widget, the external IP still comes up with fetching...

But the same code above for iStat Pro works perfectly. I'm really puzzled why the code wont work for iStat Nano. I've double and triple checked nothing was wrong with the code or space between sections.
Badagri is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 09:55 AM   #121
iThinkergoiMac
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by urbncwby View Post
Actually as of today iStat is completely gone. islayer.com where people could download it is down, never to return again. @bjango at twitter confirms it. Just reinstalled ML from scratch and hate having no iStat anymore.
This is terrible. I have both iStat Pro and iStat Menus... it even updated something like a month ago. Not having the Menus app is going to be quite terrible. Any reason why?
__________________
13" 2009 MBP, 2.26 GHz C2D, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HDD; 2.2 GHz C2D MB, 6 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD; 32 GB iPod Touch 3G
-FWIW, my handle is iThink_ergo_iMac. There seems to be some confusion on this issue.-
iThinkergoiMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 10:14 AM   #122
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by iThinkergoiMac View Post
This is terrible. I have both iStat Pro and iStat Menus... it even updated something like a month ago. Not having the Menus app is going to be quite terrible. Any reason why?
It still exists... http://bjango.com/mac/istatmenus/
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 10:18 AM   #123
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by urbncwby View Post
Actually as of today iStat is completely gone. islayer.com where people could download it is down, never to return again. @bjango at twitter confirms it. Just reinstalled ML from scratch and hate having no iStat anymore.
They're not gone. You can still get both. iStat Pro (free) or iStat Menus ($16)

This post includes fixes for the iStat Pro widget, for displaying the external IP address and for displaying process information in ML.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 04:03 PM   #124
ryedarrow
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Actual Replacement?

Love all the help from the thread on how to fix iStat pro, but I'm looking for a real replacement. I'm done with iSlayer/bjango.

Any ideas on other apps to replace iStat?
ryedarrow is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 07:32 PM   #125
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryedarrow View Post
Love all the help from the thread on how to fix iStat pro, but I'm looking for a real replacement. I'm done with iSlayer/bjango.

Any ideas on other apps to replace iStat?
Istat is in a league of its own. Why are you done with bjango?
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
islayer gone (as is istat pro) - istat menus sold maflynn Mac Applications and Mac App Store 7 Dec 18, 2013 08:58 PM
Installed iStat Pro and can't locate it MeUnix OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Aug 27, 2013 08:01 PM
smcFanControl vs iStat Pro kensic MacBook Pro 3 Mar 6, 2013 06:06 AM
other app like istat pro ? jmfel1926 MacBook Air 1 Jul 23, 2012 06:22 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC