Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 24, 2012, 10:43 PM   #1
JustOneQuickONe
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quick confirmation on RAM upgrade

Went to crucial.com and used the auto identifier to see how much RAM my MBP can handle. It says 8GB on the site, just wanted to make sure this is correct. Its a mid 2009:

Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,5
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.26 GHz

With 2GB memory(RAM) right now. IS 8GB correct? It doesn't matter if I buy any other brand, if it's truly 8, any brand that bumps to 8 will work (as long as it's the correct format)?

Thanks... tired of this damn beachball....
JustOneQuickONe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2012, 10:45 PM   #2
Orlandoech
macrumors 68040
 
Orlandoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustOneQuickONe View Post
Went to crucial.com and used the auto identifier to see how much RAM my MBP can handle. It says 8GB on the site, just wanted to make sure this is correct. Its a mid 2009:

Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,5
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.26 GHz

With 2GB memory(RAM) right now. IS 8GB correct? It doesn't matter if I buy any other brand, if it's truly 8, any brand that bumps to 8 will work (as long as it's the correct format)?

Thanks... tired of this damn beachball....

Correct. I believe you want DDR3 1066MHz ram.

Here are 3 I recommend; All the same specs, just different brands.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...%2D276%2D02%23
Orlandoech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 08:31 PM   #3
JustOneQuickONe
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Im just getting around to ordering RAM.... so I'm bumping an old thread but will these work?

http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Techn...DIMM+DDR3+1066
JustOneQuickONe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 11:11 PM   #4
Rhinoevans
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustOneQuickONe View Post
Im just getting around to ordering RAM.... so I'm bumping an old thread but will these work?

http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Techn...DIMM+DDR3+1066
I just ordered last night from OWC. The 16G is $112 for 2012 cMBP, a bit higher than most butt they are offering Parallels 8 for half off ($39)
Rhinoevans is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 12:04 AM   #5
JustOneQuickONe
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhinoevans View Post
I just ordered last night from OWC. The 16G is $112 for 2012 cMBP, a bit higher than most butt they are offering Parallels 8 for half off ($39)
I have an 09-er, so it'll take the same as your 2012? Also what site is OWC? I'll have to check out their prices
JustOneQuickONe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 02:15 AM   #6
T5BRICK
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustOneQuickONe View Post
I have an 09-er, so it'll take the same as your 2012? Also what site is OWC? I'll have to check out their prices
Your mid 2009 can only accept 2 X 4GB. I ended up with Corsair in mine, but Crucial, Kingston and g.skill all work great.

I don't like OWC because I feel they charge too much.

http://www.macsales.com/
T5BRICK is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 01:44 PM   #7
JustOneQuickONe
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by T5BRICK View Post
Your mid 2009 can only accept 2 X 4GB. I ended up with Corsair in mine, but Crucial, Kingston and g.skill all work great.

I don't like OWC because I feel they charge too much.

http://www.macsales.com/
Ok that's what I though. Yeah they're a little more expensive, plus I can get free 2 day shipping from amazon. I think I'm going to go with these http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Techn...DIMM+DDR3+1066 (same as listed above)
JustOneQuickONe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 02:27 PM   #8
gordon1hd1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
From the look of the amazon link you posted, you got the wrong ram. The picture from the amazon link looks like it is desktop ram. You need laptop ram (sodimm).
gordon1hd1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 02:35 PM   #9
T5BRICK
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustOneQuickONe View Post
Ok that's what I though. Yeah they're a little more expensive, plus I can get free 2 day shipping from amazon. I think I'm going to go with these http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Techn...DIMM+DDR3+1066 (same as listed above)
Make sure you buy SODIMMs, not full size desktop RAM.
T5BRICK is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 05:09 PM   #10
JustOneQuickONe
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Well, that's good to know. Looks like I'll keep looking. Thanks!
JustOneQuickONe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 05:23 PM   #11
T5BRICK
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustOneQuickONe View Post
Well, that's good to know. Looks like I'll keep looking. Thanks!
I skimmed through the reviews and came across a few happy Mac users in all of these. If I had to choose between them, I'd probably buy the g.skill. If you want to wait, I bet some good deals will pop up in the next few weeks(black friday).

g.skill:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231342

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231295

Here is a Kingston kit:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820139482

and here is a Corsair kit(what I've got in my mid 2009 MBP):

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145281
T5BRICK is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 05:40 PM   #12
JustOneQuickONe
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Will these work? It says they're "optimized floor windows" though...

http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-1333mh...DIMM+DDR3+1066
JustOneQuickONe is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird freezing and display issues after ram upgrade and OS X upgrade. MobsterMac MacBook Pro 6 Jul 29, 2014 07:26 AM
Quick question regarding RAM upgrade Steedie86 iMac 2 Aug 2, 2013 02:58 AM
High page outs after ram upgrade and Mtn lion upgrade Squiggles13 MacBook Pro 1 Dec 7, 2012 09:57 PM
Verizon Upgrade Line Changed on Order Confirmation jmo1116 iPhone 14 Oct 14, 2012 11:30 PM
13" MBP RAM upgrade = HD3000 VRAM upgrade? Doggman MacBook Pro 5 Aug 17, 2012 04:47 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC