Having to reset the SMC every long gaming - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 2, 2012, 06:34 PM   #1
xPurpleblob
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Having to reset the SMC every long gaming

I have to reset the SMC everytime I play about 3 hours of Starcraft to get it back to the normal FPS which is about 45 FPS from 15 FPS...
Is this normal?

I have a 15 retina base model.
__________________
Macbook Pro Retina 15 inch iPhone 5 16 GB Black iPad 2 64 GB 3G White iPod Touch 3G 32 GB
xPurpleblob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 06:36 PM   #2
gentlefury
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by xPurpleblob View Post
I have to reset the SMC everytime I play about 3 hours of Starcraft to get it back to the normal FPS which is about 45 FPS from 15 FPS...
Is this normal?

I have a 15 retina base model.
I've had to do this every could logins.
gentlefury is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 07:33 PM   #3
xPurpleblob
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
wat?...
__________________
Macbook Pro Retina 15 inch iPhone 5 16 GB Black iPad 2 64 GB 3G White iPod Touch 3G 32 GB
xPurpleblob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 07:49 PM   #4
SchuettS
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Do a search, it's pretty common. It sounds like a software problem that you will have to wait for Apple to fix, nothing wrong w your computer.

I play battlefield 3 quite a bit bootcamping on windows and haven't had to reset it. Maybe it has something to do with the game????
SchuettS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 07:58 PM   #5
xPurpleblob
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
do you think they will allow for an exchange?
__________________
Macbook Pro Retina 15 inch iPhone 5 16 GB Black iPad 2 64 GB 3G White iPod Touch 3G 32 GB
xPurpleblob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 07:12 AM   #6
Newfiejudd
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by xPurpleblob View Post
do you think they will allow for an exchange?
All depends if you bought it from a local Apple Store or not. If the system was purchased less then 14 days ago, you can return it no questions asked. If it's older your SOL they will just repair it (Possibly replace it if purchased from an apple store). You might get lucky and they will do everything they can for you, if not your just SOL.

I have the same issue as you, spoke to apple multiple times over and over. They still refuse to believe or presumably know the systems do this, and are within spec. Or just don't give a damn. I have a service order out for my system to get repaired. After speaking with the technician who will replace my Faulty LG screen, he said Apple has no mention of anything other then a bad LG panel. I asked him if he was to check on my down-clocking and GPU not running at 900/2508(runs at 900/2001) and he said there was no mention of it on the work order. Although that was the main reason I called Apple.

So my conclusion is either you take it back within the 14 day return, or like the rest of us WAIT till Apple first acknowledges it, and secondly decides to fix it.
__________________
rMBP With LG Screen IR after 3 months
Purchased just after launch
Newfiejudd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 08:00 AM   #7
reery
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SchuettS View Post
Do a search, it's pretty common. It sounds like a software problem that you will have to wait for Apple to fix, nothing wrong w your computer.

I play battlefield 3 quite a bit bootcamping on windows and haven't had to reset it. Maybe it has something to do with the game????
Actually it's not the game. The unit throttles the GPU memory-clock to about 350 MHz, but it should go up to 900-1254 MHz. This limits fps in most games and is well noticeable.

You can try it with GPU-Z. Open it up and leave the sensor bar open while gaming. When you play a game it should max out the clocks. When it still stays at a low clock rate a SMC-reset will revert it... sadly just temporarily.
reery is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 10:21 AM   #8
xPurpleblob
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
So it's actually been a just a more than one week I bought this thing and I bought it with bread. Can I straight out exchange it or do I have to go through that process with receiving the check from Apple and buying it all over again?
__________________
Macbook Pro Retina 15 inch iPhone 5 16 GB Black iPad 2 64 GB 3G White iPod Touch 3G 32 GB
xPurpleblob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 03:42 PM   #9
reery
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
It's a bug which came with 10.8.2 around. I think another device will have the same problem.
reery is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 04:28 PM   #10
xPurpleblob
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Should I just hold on to it?
I am feeling very lucky that I have a Samsung display....
__________________
Macbook Pro Retina 15 inch iPhone 5 16 GB Black iPad 2 64 GB 3G White iPod Touch 3G 32 GB
xPurpleblob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 05:36 PM   #11
reery
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Actually, your issue is similar but somehow different. On mine i got the fps drop only when I boot up without reseting smc. During gameplay I've never experienced such a fps drop. Can you downgrade to 10.8.1 to check if the slowdown would still occur?
Also what are your temps after about 2 hours gaming?
reery is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 05:39 PM   #12
xPurpleblob
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Woops, if you misunderstood..

I meant the same thing as you haha.
And when I game the fan is definitely audible and it gets hot to touch near the fans near the screen.
__________________
Macbook Pro Retina 15 inch iPhone 5 16 GB Black iPad 2 64 GB 3G White iPod Touch 3G 32 GB
xPurpleblob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 07:28 AM   #13
reery
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
You can limit fps to 30 (or 32) which offers fluid gameplay and will tone down the fan speed a bit. For example my fans are absolutely silent in LoL at 2880x1800 and high details. In WoW at 1080p and high details they spin at about 3k which is far more silent than any other laptop I had.
reery is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 09:30 AM   #14
SchuettS
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by reery View Post
Actually it's not the game. The unit throttles the GPU memory-clock to about 350 MHz, but it should go up to 900-1254 MHz. This limits fps in most games and is well noticeable.

You can try it with GPU-Z. Open it up and leave the sensor bar open while gaming. When you play a game it should max out the clocks. When it still stays at a low clock rate a SMC-reset will revert it... sadly just temporarily.
So why haven't I had fps drop when playing bf3 which is a very demanding game. It's odd some people have to reset all the time but others don't have to.
SchuettS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 04:44 AM   #15
reery
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SchuettS View Post
So why haven't I had fps drop when playing bf3 which is a very demanding game. It's odd some people have to reset all the time but others don't have to.
I also never had any fps drops. The fps will only drop if you have a rMBP with 10.8.2 and restart the laptop or wake up from sleep in OSX or Windows. If it doesn't drop from the beginning of a game it shouldn't drop at all until you do one of these described actions.
reery is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
reset smc using terminal Bsuperman1 MacBook 0 Mar 21, 2014 12:20 AM
Is SMC reset necessary? shangdi Mac Basics and Help 4 Dec 14, 2013 04:51 PM
SMC Reset revenent MacBook Pro 1 Jan 25, 2013 05:34 AM
Unable to reset SMC michaelshaw MacBook Air 3 Dec 20, 2012 09:32 PM
I have to reset SMC every 2. week or so?! Zeov MacBook Pro 3 Nov 16, 2012 11:38 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC