Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 2, 2012, 03:45 AM   #1
Kasalic
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
LotRO gets native Mac Client

As per the title, Lord of the Rings Online now has a native Mac client, available from the main www.lotro.com page (click the top right if you already have an account, if not sign up for a free account)

Assuming it runs acceptably I might be able to ditch Bootcamp at last.
Kasalic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 11:09 AM   #2
DaveNinja
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Excellent!
i have it on my bootcamp drive as well and i never play it since i'm usually too lazy to swap over
__________________
15" RMBP 2.6 GHz
DaveNinja is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 11:38 AM   #3
labars
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
This is great, props to Turbine for not going the Cider/Wine route. I will give this one a try.
labars is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 05:47 PM   #4
Dirtyharry50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by labars View Post
This is great, props to Turbine for not going the Cider/Wine route. I will give this one a try.
The port is a native OS X app for sure?
Dirtyharry50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 06:14 PM   #5
Kristenn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Yes it is as I stated in my thread about it a few weeks ago =D
__________________
Things that annoy me on Mac Rumors.
People who say MAC (Media Access Control) when they mean Mac (Macintosh)
People who say Mac osx (Mac OS Ex) when it should be Mac OS X (Mac OS "Ten")
Kristenn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 06:57 PM   #6
Dirtyharry50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kristenn View Post
Yes it is as I stated in my thread about it a few weeks ago =D
I guess I missed that one. Thank you.
Dirtyharry50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 07:22 PM   #7
doh123
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirtyharry50 View Post
The port is a native OS X app for sure?
for sure... yes it is native.
doh123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 08:10 PM   #8
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
It's native and it's very fast!

I just played thru the intro as an elf and dis a few quests.
I use maxed settings at 1680x1050 res and indoors the FPS is 200-250!
OUtside it was from 100-150 FPS!

Keep in mind there was very few players around so I guess the realistic performance is somewhat lower, but good none the less!

Antialiasing is for now disabled, but well I can live without it.
Only bug i found is that mouse can escape the screen if you play on multiple monitors.
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro i7-4790k, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.4
cluthz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 06:13 AM   #9
Northwestern
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Awesome, more an more MMORPGs get Mac support recently.
Northwestern is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 07:24 PM   #10
Dirtyharry50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2012
Hmm, I need to download and install this bad boy. I already have an account with some characters I started on it as well as some purchased bank space. I think I didn't bother buying any content packs yet because my highest guy was a 20 ranger. I recall I had purchased Mines of Moria so I had content up to that but was missing some leveling content the ranger would need.

I kinda like how they implemented f2p in LoTRO. You just buy stuff as you need it to play and once you have, your alts can play through it as well. Meantime, you are not paying a monthly fee. You are free to play when you feel like it without money going to waste.
Dirtyharry50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 07:59 PM   #11
Gomez315
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
how do I check my FPS?
Gomez315 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 08:05 PM   #12
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gomez315 View Post
how do I check my FPS?
ctrl-f
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro i7-4790k, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.4
cluthz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 07:14 AM   #13
wilsonjm
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
improvement on PC version

I've been playing it using Bootcamp for months and installed the Mac client as soon as it came out.

It opens faster on my iMac and looks a bit better than the PC version too and I run it at the native res for my screen - 2560x1440.

Only thing missing, as mentioned already, is the anti-aliasing, but you don't even notice.

Don't get the chance to say that very often, so well done Turbine!
__________________
27" iMac 2011, i7 3.4, 8gb, SDD + HDD, 6970 2gb
wilsonjm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 04:53 PM   #14
Kasalic
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilsonjm View Post
I've been playing it using Bootcamp for months and installed the Mac client as soon as it came out.

It opens faster on my iMac and looks a bit better than the PC version too and I run it at the native res for my screen - 2560x1440.

Only thing missing, as mentioned already, is the anti-aliasing, but you don't even notice.

Don't get the chance to say that very often, so well done Turbine!
Have to agree, I see little difference in the two versions, and I am more than happy to stick to Mac OS
Kasalic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 07:35 PM   #15
Nuttydev
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bristol, England.
This is great news! LOTRO was the only reason I have kept my W7 partition, so I guess I can free up that space now.
__________________
27" 2013 iMac; 13.3" 2012 Macbook Air; 64GB iPhone 6; 16GB iPad Mini
Nuttydev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 10:40 AM   #16
iMacFarlane
macrumors 65816
 
iMacFarlane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Phaselocking Psychos somewhere on Pandora
Wow, 17GB download? Holy cow. What kind of bandwidth would I need to enjoy the game? I average about 50Kb/sec.
__________________
"We make our world significant by the courage of our questions and by the depth of our answers."-Carl Sagan
iMacFarlane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 10:50 AM   #17
wilsonjm
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMacFarlane View Post
Wow, 17GB download? Holy cow. What kind of bandwidth would I need to enjoy the game? I average about 50Kb/sec.
Can you play any other online games or MMOs ok? Lotro doesn't need more bandwidth than any other game, as far as I know. It's just a huge initial download. Plus regular updates can be large, but not like the initial one.
__________________
27" iMac 2011, i7 3.4, 8gb, SDD + HDD, 6970 2gb
wilsonjm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 02:36 PM   #18
ultra7k
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
how does the game run on say, a HD 4000 (2012 13" MBP)

Also for those that play, is there still an active community? I played 2 years ago, but stopped...thinking of picking it up again.
ultra7k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 10:26 AM   #19
wilsonjm
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultra7k View Post
how does the game run on say, a HD 4000 (2012 13" MBP)

Also for those that play, is there still an active community? I played 2 years ago, but stopped...thinking of picking it up again.
It seems popular enough when I play, maybe not like WOW can be (or was). I play once a week with a couple of mates.
__________________
27" iMac 2011, i7 3.4, 8gb, SDD + HDD, 6970 2gb
wilsonjm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 09:13 PM   #20
Oden79
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultra7k View Post
how does the game run on say, a HD 4000 (2012 13" MBP)

Also for those that play, is there still an active community? I played 2 years ago, but stopped...thinking of picking it up again.
The game runs just fine on Mac mini 2011 with Intel HD3000 and 8 GB ram. So it should run even better on HD4000. If you run into trouble you can lower grafic settings and resolution.
Oden79 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 08:30 AM   #21
SingularityG
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Every time I try to download the client from lotro.com I end up with 1GB smaller unrecognisable image.

Port us the PC installer too, dammit!
__________________
sINGULARITY uNIVERSE
SingularityG is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Snapped Beta Free Download (Native Snapchat Client for Mac) thnkdev Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Mar 4, 2014 11:06 PM
New Google Chrome Native Client ChristianJapan Distributed Computing 5 Feb 27, 2014 11:42 PM
Mailbox or Native Email Client? BadLTD iPhone 7 Jan 20, 2014 09:13 AM
OS X: LOTRO Mac client: anyone tried beta? Solomani Mac and PC Games 2 Oct 1, 2013 03:45 AM
Webdave not working with native mac client tunerX MacBook Pro 0 Apr 30, 2013 11:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC