Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 4, 2012, 12:50 AM   #1
Contraversy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Running my C++ in Terminal...

I have been programming on my linux machines for years, after compiling my program main.cpp i could goto the directory and ./main to run my program.

In Xcode 4.5.1 I have noticed it wants to run my command line programs inside xcode using its "Command Line" simulator. That is nice and all, but when I am done coding I ultimately want to be able to execute my code in the terminal.

When I googled this I kept finding issues about launching xcode from terminal, but not actually running the project.

So far I love the Xcode interface, and look forward to using it, but how in the world do I finalize my project so I can run it? lol thanks
Contraversy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 04:06 AM   #2
gnasher729
macrumors G5
 
gnasher729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Contraversy View Post
I have been programming on my linux machines for years, after compiling my program main.cpp i could goto the directory and ./main to run my program.

In Xcode 4.5.1 I have noticed it wants to run my command line programs inside xcode using its "Command Line" simulator. That is nice and all, but when I am done coding I ultimately want to be able to execute my code in the terminal.

When I googled this I kept finding issues about launching xcode from terminal, but not actually running the project.

So far I love the Xcode interface, and look forward to using it, but how in the world do I finalize my project so I can run it? lol thanks
Look through the menus in Xcode. Look especially at the "Product" menu.
gnasher729 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 06:38 AM   #3
Contraversy
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Thanks for your reply, but I have looked there. I wouldnt be asking if It had been that easy for me. Product > Generate Output is where I looked first.

Well, that is after i tried 'Run' and saw it was running in Xcode. Then I looked at Product > Build For
Contraversy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 09:12 AM   #4
truehybridx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Contraversy View Post
Thanks for your reply, but I have looked there. I wouldnt be asking if It had been that easy for me. Product > Generate Output is where I looked first.

Well, that is after i tried 'Run' and saw it was running in Xcode. Then I looked at Product > Build For
On the side panel of xcode (left side) where the source code is, there should be a Product folder, open that and right click n hit Show in finder (or reveal)

You can also open up the Organizer in xcode's Window drop down menu and get it from the Projects tab
truehybridx is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC