Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 10, 2012, 08:23 PM   #1
Soundhound
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Migration Assistant v Time Machine

I'm having some system problems on my macbook pro so I'm going to do an erase and clean install of Mountain Lion, and will want to be able to keep all my info and apps etc.

It seems like the two different ways to do this are

- Time Machine - make sure Time Machine is up to date, wipe the drive, install OSX and then do a restore with Time Machine.

- Migration Assistant.

How would this work with Migration Assistant? Do I use it to make a clone to another drive, and then use that clone to restore to my laptop drive?

Also, anyone have a preference for one approach or the other?

thanks!
Soundhound is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2012, 11:45 AM   #2
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
You can use the Time Machine backup as the source of the data for the Migration Assistant.

The problem is what you are describing is not really a clean install. A true clean install means you install the OS on a blank drive then manually reinstall all apps and manually enter all your settings. Importing apps and settings from a Time Machine restore or Migration Assistant just imports back any problem apps or settings you had to begin with.
Weaselboy is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 04:44 PM   #3
gigas65
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salonica, Greece
Is there actually any difference between this method and the other booting from install DVD and restore everything directly from Time Machine?
Forgive me, but after all these forums i read, i am really not sure if there is actually any difference or any advantage of one method vs the other.
__________________
iMac 21,5 with 3,33 Ghz-6MB 2LC, 6GB DDR3 Ram, ATI HD4670 and 1TB HD & 256GB SSD, with 10.8.3 & Win 7 via BootCamp, Toshiba Satellite Pro, 1,86 Ghz, 2MB 2LC, 2 GB RAM, 320 GB HD, with 10.4.11 Tiger
gigas65 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 08:48 AM   #4
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by gigas65 View Post
Is there actually any difference between this method and the other booting from install DVD and restore everything directly from Time Machine?
Forgive me, but after all these forums i read, i am really not sure if there is actually any difference or any advantage of one method vs the other.
If you are having problems you hope to solve by a reinstall, the Migration Assistant (MA) method is more likely to be helpful. If you fresh install then use MA to import, it just imports your personal data and settings... not the actual OS files as they were put there by the new install. Where if you just do a restore every OS file is put right back where is was, so you have accomplished nothing. If you have a corrupted OS file it gets put right back.
Weaselboy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 01:35 PM   #5
gigas65
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salonica, Greece
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
If you are having problems you hope to solve by a reinstall, the Migration Assistant (MA) method is more likely to be helpful. If you fresh install then use MA to import, it just imports your personal data and settings... not the actual OS files as they were put there by the new install. Where if you just do a restore every OS file is put right back where is was, so you have accomplished nothing. If you have a corrupted OS file it gets put right back.
Thanks for replying.
So you mean i can do a clean install of 10.6.2 (i think that is on the install dvd) and then use the MA to import Applications, Settings and Files?
What about updates to current 10.6.8?
I guess stuff like iPhoto and iTunes files and libraries are also imported through MA?
__________________
iMac 21,5 with 3,33 Ghz-6MB 2LC, 6GB DDR3 Ram, ATI HD4670 and 1TB HD & 256GB SSD, with 10.8.3 & Win 7 via BootCamp, Toshiba Satellite Pro, 1,86 Ghz, 2MB 2LC, 2 GB RAM, 320 GB HD, with 10.4.11 Tiger
gigas65 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 02:55 PM   #6
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by gigas65 View Post
Thanks for replying.
So you mean i can do a clean install of 10.6.2 (i think that is on the install dvd) and then use the MA to import Applications, Settings and Files?
What about updates to current 10.6.8?
I guess stuff like iPhoto and iTunes files and libraries are also imported through MA?
Yes... MA will import all of that. You will have to reapply 10.6.8 though.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 04:43 AM   #7
gigas65
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salonica, Greece
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Yes... MA will import all of that. You will have to reapply 10.6.8 though.
So, wouldn't it be exactly the same with restore from Time Machine? If i import everything from TM (Applications, Library, Settings, Users) using MA what would be the difference. I mean, wouldn't i also have imported all possible garbage in my OS?
Thanks again
__________________
iMac 21,5 with 3,33 Ghz-6MB 2LC, 6GB DDR3 Ram, ATI HD4670 and 1TB HD & 256GB SSD, with 10.8.3 & Win 7 via BootCamp, Toshiba Satellite Pro, 1,86 Ghz, 2MB 2LC, 2 GB RAM, 320 GB HD, with 10.4.11 Tiger
gigas65 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 10:09 AM   #8
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by gigas65 View Post
So, wouldn't it be exactly the same with restore from Time Machine? If i import everything from TM (Applications, Library, Settings, Users) using MA what would be the difference. I mean, wouldn't i also have imported all possible garbage in my OS?
Thanks again
No. A "restore" from Time Machine will replace everything on the drive, including the actual files and folders that makeup the OS, with the file and folders on the Time Machine backup. So, for example, if there is a corrupt OS file in the main /System folder, that will be put right back on the HDD by the Time Machine restore.

Whereas, a fresh install followed by a Migration Assist import, does not bring back ANY of the OS files at all. If there was a corrupt file in the /System folder, MA does not bring it back. All MA brings in is settings, apps, and your personal data (photos/docs/etc).
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 02:20 PM   #9
gigas65
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salonica, Greece
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
All MA brings in is settings, apps, and your personal data (photos/docs/etc).
What about "Library"? Or you include it when you say "Settings" ?
__________________
iMac 21,5 with 3,33 Ghz-6MB 2LC, 6GB DDR3 Ram, ATI HD4670 and 1TB HD & 256GB SSD, with 10.8.3 & Win 7 via BootCamp, Toshiba Satellite Pro, 1,86 Ghz, 2MB 2LC, 2 GB RAM, 320 GB HD, with 10.4.11 Tiger
gigas65 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 02:34 PM   #10
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by gigas65 View Post
What about "Library"? Or you include it when you say "Settings" ?
MA will bring in files from the /Users/Username/Library folder as there are many .plist files in there that contain app settings etc. But the main /Library folder files will not come over other than some systemwide preferences like firewall settings and that sort of thing.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 03:01 AM   #11
gigas65
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salonica, Greece
Thanks, but..

Thank you for your immediate reply.
But, i made a new user account in my existing system and when i tried to import stuff using MA, it could not "See" my external USB disk that i use for Time Machine!! Any suggestions?
__________________
iMac 21,5 with 3,33 Ghz-6MB 2LC, 6GB DDR3 Ram, ATI HD4670 and 1TB HD & 256GB SSD, with 10.8.3 & Win 7 via BootCamp, Toshiba Satellite Pro, 1,86 Ghz, 2MB 2LC, 2 GB RAM, 320 GB HD, with 10.4.11 Tiger
gigas65 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 03:26 AM   #12
throAU
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Pretty sure (its been a while) that when you import via a time machine backup you can select to restore documents only rather than documents and applications.


Its been a while though...
__________________
MBP (early 2011) - Core i7 2720 2.2ghz, Hires Glossy, 16GB, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB
Mac Mini (mid 2007) - Core2 Duo 1.8, 2gb, 320gb 7200 rpm
iPhone 4S, iPad 4, iPad Mini, HTC One (eval)
throAU is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 11:00 AM   #13
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by gigas65 View Post
Thank you for your immediate reply.
But, i made a new user account in my existing system and when i tried to import stuff using MA, it could not "See" my external USB disk that i use for Time Machine!! Any suggestions?
If you start Disk Utility under the new login can you see the Time Machine disk?

Quote:
Originally Posted by throAU View Post
Pretty sure (its been a while) that when you import via a time machine backup you can select to restore documents only rather than documents and applications.


Its been a while though...
That is correct.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 05:23 AM   #14
gigas65
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salonica, Greece
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
If you start Disk Utility under the new login can you see the Time Machine disk?
Yes, and it also appears on Desktop. But MA only finds my Macintosh startup disk.
__________________
iMac 21,5 with 3,33 Ghz-6MB 2LC, 6GB DDR3 Ram, ATI HD4670 and 1TB HD & 256GB SSD, with 10.8.3 & Win 7 via BootCamp, Toshiba Satellite Pro, 1,86 Ghz, 2MB 2LC, 2 GB RAM, 320 GB HD, with 10.4.11 Tiger
gigas65 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 12:44 PM   #15
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by gigas65 View Post
Yes, and it also appears on Desktop. But MA only finds my Macintosh startup disk.
I don't understand. You need to login to the new account then launch Migration Assistant from /Applications/Utilities then tell it to import files from the Time Machine disk. If you can see that disk on the desktop, Migration Assist should be able to select it. I don't believe Migration Assist would even show you the very boot disk it is running from as an option. Are you sure you are not mistaking the Time Machine disk as the boot disk in the Migration Assist screen?
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 04:23 PM   #16
gigas65
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salonica, Greece
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
I don't understand. You need to login to the new account then launch Migration Assistant from /Applications/Utilities then tell it to import files from the Time Machine disk. If you can see that disk on the desktop, Migration Assist should be able to select it. I don't believe Migration Assist would even show you the very boot disk it is running from as an option. Are you sure you are not mistaking the Time Machine disk as the boot disk in the Migration Assist screen?
I do it exactly as you say. I don't think i confuse them, since my startup disk is called "Macintosh" and Time Machine "Backups". Macintosh is appeared and lets me import stuff from other users. No date selection or anything. Could it be the usb connected disk? I mean could it only work with internal partition or disk?
__________________
iMac 21,5 with 3,33 Ghz-6MB 2LC, 6GB DDR3 Ram, ATI HD4670 and 1TB HD & 256GB SSD, with 10.8.3 & Win 7 via BootCamp, Toshiba Satellite Pro, 1,86 Ghz, 2MB 2LC, 2 GB RAM, 320 GB HD, with 10.4.11 Tiger
gigas65 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 04:12 AM   #17
gigas65
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salonica, Greece
Thumbs up You are right..

Dear Weaselboy, i am afraid you are correct!
MA actually displays my Time Machine disk, but with Macintosh name as it is backuped. I noticed the icon and a made a test with a new file to be certain.
I 've just never had used MA before and i thought that would give me the selection of date to import. It seems that it brings everything from the latest backup. Thanks again for your patience, Alex.
__________________
iMac 21,5 with 3,33 Ghz-6MB 2LC, 6GB DDR3 Ram, ATI HD4670 and 1TB HD & 256GB SSD, with 10.8.3 & Win 7 via BootCamp, Toshiba Satellite Pro, 1,86 Ghz, 2MB 2LC, 2 GB RAM, 320 GB HD, with 10.4.11 Tiger
gigas65 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 09:24 AM   #18
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by gigas65 View Post
Dear Weaselboy, i am afraid you are correct!
MA actually displays my Time Machine disk, but with Macintosh name as it is backuped. I noticed the icon and a made a test with a new file to be certain.
I 've just never had used MA before and i thought that would give me the selection of date to import. It seems that it brings everything from the latest backup. Thanks again for your patience, Alex.
Oh good. Glad it worked out.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 01:52 AM   #19
gigas65
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salonica, Greece
Time Machine DOES NOT recognize old backups!!

After the hd replacement, fresh 10.6.3 install, import with Migration Assistant, update to 10.6.8, Time Machine does not "see" old backups! It wants to start from scratch, instead of the "changed stuff addition" method. Any help?
__________________
iMac 21,5 with 3,33 Ghz-6MB 2LC, 6GB DDR3 Ram, ATI HD4670 and 1TB HD & 256GB SSD, with 10.8.3 & Win 7 via BootCamp, Toshiba Satellite Pro, 1,86 Ghz, 2MB 2LC, 2 GB RAM, 320 GB HD, with 10.4.11 Tiger
gigas65 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Migration Assistant to transfer Time Machine data jensvium Mac Peripherals 3 Jul 2, 2013 10:54 AM
time machine/migration assistant help brentg33 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 May 22, 2013 11:42 AM
migration assistant and time machine ayres Mac Basics and Help 2 Jul 20, 2012 07:20 PM
Time machine vs Migration Assistant yalag Mac Basics and Help 8 Jul 6, 2012 01:05 PM
Migration Assistant: FireWire/Ethernet vs Time Machine ciarals MacBook Pro 7 Jun 14, 2012 05:36 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC