Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 2, 2012, 02:39 PM   #1
Risco
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Need for Speed Underground 2 - Mountain lion

Tried to get this working via wineskin but not having much luck. Has anyone else managed to get it to run? Really want to play this game!
__________________
Retina MBP 15" ( Mid 2014 ) 16GB Ram iPhone 6 64GB iPad Air 2 64GB Wifi+Cellular
Apple TV Time Capsule ( 2013 ) 2TB
Risco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 08:12 AM   #2
The-Pro
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
Like 2 years ago a friend of mine gave me Need for Speed Underground 2 on a external HDD. It works perfectly, in ML aswell. The game is a mac port from the original so its not running through wineskin.
I dont know where he got it from.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpeg
Views:	132
Size:	105.9 KB
ID:	374641  
__________________
2012 15" 2.6 i7 AG MBP, 2009 17" AG MBP, 2009 8C 2.26 MP, 2010 4c MP,2010+07 MM, 17" 2007 MBP,20" iMac G5,17" PB G4,4x30"CD,2x23" CD, G3's,G4's, 17"iMac g4,iMac G3 turquoise,macintoshes dating to 1985
The-Pro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 08:58 AM   #3
AdrianK
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by The-Pro View Post
The game is a mac port from the original so its not running through wineskin.
NFS:U2 was never released for Mac so it must be running in a wrapper. If you dig around in the .app, you'll find the exe and files relating to Transgaming, Wineskin or crossover.
__________________
Hack Pro Mini | Core i3 4130 | GTX 780 | 8GB 1333MHz | 840 EVO 120GB | OS X 10.9.1 / Windows 8 | White Bitfenix Prodigy
AdrianK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 03:55 PM   #4
The-Pro
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdrianK View Post
NFS:U2 was never released for Mac so it must be running in a wrapper. If you dig around in the .app, you'll find the exe and files relating to Transgaming, Wineskin or crossover.
Well its a port, running over cider i think. Like CoD Modern Warfare 2 thats available as a port aswell.
__________________
2012 15" 2.6 i7 AG MBP, 2009 17" AG MBP, 2009 8C 2.26 MP, 2010 4c MP,2010+07 MM, 17" 2007 MBP,20" iMac G5,17" PB G4,4x30"CD,2x23" CD, G3's,G4's, 17"iMac g4,iMac G3 turquoise,macintoshes dating to 1985
The-Pro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 05:42 PM   #5
Risco
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by The-Pro View Post
Like 2 years ago a friend of mine gave me Need for Speed Underground 2 on a external HDD. It works perfectly, in ML aswell. The game is a mac port from the original so its not running through wineskin.
I dont know where he got it from.
Well at least I know it will work! Can the resolution be changed and game patched?
__________________
Retina MBP 15" ( Mid 2014 ) 16GB Ram iPhone 6 64GB iPad Air 2 64GB Wifi+Cellular
Apple TV Time Capsule ( 2013 ) 2TB
Risco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 07:50 AM   #6
The-Pro
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by Risco View Post
Well at least I know it will work! Can the resolution be changed and game patched?
Max resolution is 1280x800 I think, a real pain in the ***.
What do you mean with game patched?

its seriously fun to play though
__________________
2012 15" 2.6 i7 AG MBP, 2009 17" AG MBP, 2009 8C 2.26 MP, 2010 4c MP,2010+07 MM, 17" 2007 MBP,20" iMac G5,17" PB G4,4x30"CD,2x23" CD, G3's,G4's, 17"iMac g4,iMac G3 turquoise,macintoshes dating to 1985
The-Pro is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mountain Lion: Issues with desktop and speed zipcode1 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Oct 5, 2013 01:32 PM
Will mountain lion speed up my computer? dantheman5398 MacBook 3 Jul 12, 2013 10:30 AM
Mountain Lion & 2011 MBP speed SDAVE MacBook Pro 14 Jul 25, 2012 11:39 PM
Upgrade to Mountain Lion-- How is the best way to speed up a not-so-old Mac? AshScache OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Jul 24, 2012 08:56 AM
Lion vs mountain lion on speed musio OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 14 Jun 11, 2012 10:41 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC