Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 5, 2012, 06:04 PM   #1
gogope
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Verizon: Can I restore my iPhone if it is UN-Activated?

I know for AT&T you need a sim card, but can I do so with the Verizon iPhone?
I want to update it as well.

I've been looking all over and I couldn't find anything.

Thanks for the help.
gogope is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 06:09 PM   #2
Lucky736
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: TX or MI
Send a message via AIM to Lucky736 Send a message via Yahoo to Lucky736
Yes, but to get past the initial setup you have to connect to Wifi.
Lucky736 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 06:11 PM   #3
gogope
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucky736 View Post
Yes, but to get past the initial setup you have to connect to Wifi.
I need wifi?
gogope is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 06:12 PM   #4
Lucky736
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: TX or MI
Send a message via AIM to Lucky736 Send a message via Yahoo to Lucky736
That's the only was I know of to get it to update OTA. If not you could always just restore in iTunes but again, once updated, you need wifi to get past the setup screens. It looks for any network of any kind, Wifi included.
Lucky736 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 06:31 PM   #5
gogope
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucky736 View Post
That's the only was I know of to get it to update OTA. If not you could always just restore in iTunes but again, once updated, you need wifi to get past the setup screens. It looks for any network of any kind, Wifi included.

So I wouldn't have to go through the trouble of getting it activated correct?
I obviously have access to wifi... I think I know what you're talking about.
You must be referring to the setup like iCloud, Location Services, and etc right?

It's not like the phone won't let me use it like an iPod Touch if it's not activated right?
gogope is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 07:20 PM   #6
Lucky736
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: TX or MI
Send a message via AIM to Lucky736 Send a message via Yahoo to Lucky736
Right. So long as you have a Wifi connection it will allow you to proceed past the activation part by answering a few questions and going about your business.
Lucky736 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Verizon iPhone 5--cannot get it to activated MacAir47 iPhone 5 May 23, 2013 10:21 PM
Can Verizon iPhone 5 be activated with any simcard? TEHi iPhone 11 Mar 3, 2013 04:29 AM
Un activated Verizon iPhone 5 locked? jumpfrog iPhone 46 Nov 25, 2012 09:45 AM
iPhone: Verizon Activated Iphone want to jailbreak jacksmit Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Aug 22, 2012 02:22 PM
Can a Sprint iPhone be activated on the Verizon network? DDustiNN iPhone 10 Aug 2, 2012 12:34 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC