Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 29, 2012, 06:53 PM   #1
gregaz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Early 2011 MBP and 27" Korean IPS Display - No Signal

First time poster, LOOOONG time reader. So, I plunked down for one of those 27" IPS panel monitors from Korea (this one, specifically). It arrived rather quickly, and it looks really nice. However, for some reason it does NOT work with my Early 2011 13" MacBook Pro. I am running OS 10.8.2, using the Apple Thunderbolt to DVI adapter.

If I hook up a generic Dell monitor to the cable and adapter, it works. So, it's not the cable, adapter or laptop.
If I hook up the monitor to a Windozze machine, it works, so it's not entirely the screen.

What am I missing? I specifically chose this monitor because the reviews said it would work with a Mac, and if you Google around, they should!

Thanks in advance for the help!
gregaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 10:36 PM   #2
bhattsan
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Probably need that expensive dual link DVI adapter
bhattsan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 11:00 PM   #3
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
It's most likely a cable issue. Apple's standard thunderbolt cable won't work with a lot of displays. You generally need a mini displayport to whatever cable. When you order one, check the reviews. Some of them suck. Here is a good example of cable compatibility from one brand.

http://www.eizo.com/global/support/c...air/index.html

Look at the matrix of works, doesn't work, or works with caveats as denoted by the various numerical references. There is always the chance it may not be the cable, but it's a likely problem, even given your prior testing. You really do need to search for information on the model rather than say "monitor from Korea". I'm assuming you mean one of the budget brands using A- or B grade panels, as those can be really cheap. You still need to go by model information.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 11:33 AM   #4
gregaz
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I posted the link to the specific monitor I bought in the original post. I have tried two cables (both work on a PC) - with no luck. What next? The DVI adapter?
gregaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 03:50 PM   #5
gregaz
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I thought I found the issue, but no ... it was just my bad linking. I actually have this Apple adapter, which states that it is for an external monitor connection. So, sounds like the right one? I read somewhere that I may need an active DVI adapter instead? Could that be it?
gregaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 04:54 PM   #6
leez
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to leez
Try force switch to discrete card and then plug it in. Had similar problem, didn't work at first, bought another cable etc.

Not sure what happened tho, because it's working fine now. But at first it didn't auto switch to discrete after connecting the monitor. Realised, that it was using the integrated card. Forced the switch with gfxCardStatus - screen became active and from that moment - it's working fine by itself/auto switching.

Sorry, just noticed that you have 13", so no discrete card. But will leave the comment for others.
leez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 05:00 PM   #7
Melons
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
You need a MiniDP > Dual link DVI to get that to work. Normal DVI cant handle those resolutions.
Melons is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 05:02 PM   #8
gregaz
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melons View Post
You need a MiniDP > Dual link DVI to get that to work. Normal DVI cant handle those resolutions.
So, like this one from Apple? Or are there better recommendations out there?
gregaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 05:14 PM   #9
Melons
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0
Seems to have the exact same issue. All i know is that DVI isnt enough for 2560 resolutions, but i have no clue which adapters which will work or not.
Melons is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 05:38 PM   #10
lixuelai
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregaz View Post
So, like this one from Apple? Or are there better recommendations out there?
Yes. There is a cheaper version sold by Monoprice but I am not sure if that works.

The thread quoted above seems to show that only the Apple one works.
lixuelai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2012, 11:58 AM   #11
gregaz
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Problem solved. Based on this thread I didn't want to chance it with a cheaper dual link DVI adapter, so I went into the Apple store and walked out with a $99 Mini DisplayPort to Dual-Link DVI Adapter. Plugged it in this AM and everything works perfectly. This screen is nothing short of WOW!

Thank you for all the replies in this thread, and I hope this helps someone else looking for answers.
gregaz is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 11:09 PM   #12
lakkadshaw
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregaz View Post
Problem solved. Based on this thread I didn't want to chance it with a cheaper dual link DVI adapter, so I went into the Apple store and walked out with a $99 Mini DisplayPort to Dual-Link DVI Adapter. Plugged it in this AM and everything works perfectly. This screen is nothing short of WOW!

Thank you for all the replies in this thread, and I hope this helps someone else looking for answers.
Hey i also bought a korean monitor,
and I have an early 2011 macbook pro, I was thinking weather this cable will work or not?
Thanks
lakkadshaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 08:24 AM   #13
gregaz
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakkadshaw View Post
Hey i also bought a korean monitor,
and I have an early 2011 macbook pro, I was thinking weather this cable will work or not?
Thanks
That's a good price, but personally I didn't feel like taking chances with the cables. I bought the Apple one, and it works great.
gregaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 09:19 AM   #14
lixuelai
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakkadshaw View Post
Hey i also bought a korean monitor,
and I have an early 2011 macbook pro, I was thinking weather this cable will work or not?
Thanks
Unless you are talking about a totally different monitor I guarantee you that the cable won't work.
lixuelai is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
15" MBP early 2011 (QC i7) vs 13" Retina Display Late 2012 lagisibuk MacBook Pro 5 Jun 28, 2013 07:43 PM
3x 27" IPS Korean monitors with Mac Mini - Possible? funstuie Mac mini 5 Jan 24, 2013 05:44 PM
Korean 27" IPS Monitor and the new Mac Mini kn0x Mac mini 0 Nov 4, 2012 08:39 AM
Swapping SSD/HDD from 13" MBP (Early 2011) to Another MBP (15" Late 2011) xhendrixz MacBook Pro 5 Oct 8, 2012 12:23 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC