Airplay Problem- Can't mix wired ethernet and wifi devices? same subnet, same network - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 7, 2012, 04:57 PM   #1
Sean Dempsey
macrumors 68000
 
Sean Dempsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Airplay Problem- Can't mix wired ethernet and wifi devices? same subnet, same network

Scenario:

Ethernet:
- AppleTV (fully updated)
- Macbook Air (fully updated) Mountain Lion (via Thunderbolt Display)
- Mac Pro iTunes server (fully updated) Regular Lion
- All on the same network (192.168.1.*, same subnet 255.255.255.0)
- Homesharing and AppleTV appear in iTunes library
- Linksys E2000 Router

These all play nice and homesharing and airplay mirroring work as expected.


WiFi:
- Macbook Air (fully updated) Mountain Lion. Same as above, but now unplugged from Ethernet
- Still on same network (192.168.1.*, 255.255.255.0). Internet and file sharing stil work.

Doesn't see the AppleTV for airplay mirroring, doesn't see the AppleTV in itunes. Internet and network still work. Thoughts on how/if this can be resolved?
__________________
[Removed for not complying with forum signature rules]
Sean Dempsey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2012, 06:24 PM   #2
waw74
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: May 2008
try rebooting your router.

you say file sharing works? so the wireless air will see the wired pro?

try pinging the appleTV from wireless - open terminal type "ping 192.168.1.##"
waw74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 10:05 AM   #3
zhenya
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Check your firewall settings on the wifi.
zhenya is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 10:48 AM   #4
klunernet
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hoorn, NL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Dempsey View Post
- Linksys E2000 Router
I have seen multiple cisco and linksys consumer routers, as well as some cable-provider specific cablemodems get totally messed up by bonjour/zeroconf traffic. basically, what happens is: it sees all the multicast traffic that bonjour devices tend to send out to keep everyone informed of everything (it's quite a noisy protocol), and detects this as a network flooding issue, and then firewalls the protocol. it often does this noiseless, and without any options to whitelist the protocol in question (bonjour is absolutely harmeless).


If you reboot the linksys it should then work again for a few minutes, and then all your stuff will vanish again.

I use a mix of wired and non-wired airplay devices myself, and they have not failed a single moment in the last year, except for the occasional reboot due to a firmware update.
klunernet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 12:23 PM   #5
Sean Dempsey
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Sean Dempsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by klunernet View Post
I have seen multiple cisco and linksys consumer routers, as well as some cable-provider specific cablemodems get totally messed up by bonjour/zeroconf traffic. basically, what happens is: it sees all the multicast traffic that bonjour devices tend to send out to keep everyone informed of everything (it's quite a noisy protocol), and detects this as a network flooding issue, and then firewalls the protocol. it often does this noiseless, and without any options to whitelist the protocol in question (bonjour is absolutely harmeless).


If you reboot the linksys it should then work again for a few minutes, and then all your stuff will vanish again.

I use a mix of wired and non-wired airplay devices myself, and they have not failed a single moment in the last year, except for the occasional reboot due to a firmware update.


What router are you using?

I really wanted a Airport Extreme, but I require external access and I use the linksys DYNDNS built in option. I wasn't able to figure out how to dyndns with the Extreme.
__________________
[Removed for not complying with forum signature rules]
Sean Dempsey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 03:49 PM   #6
klunernet
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hoorn, NL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Dempsey View Post
What router are you using?

I really wanted a Airport Extreme, but I require external access and I use the linksys DYNDNS built in option. I wasn't able to figure out how to dyndns with the Extreme.
My setup is quite complex, but my router is a fritz!box 7340. I think that one supports dyndns, as well. (I get a static ip from my ISP)
klunernet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2012, 05:44 AM   #7
klunernet
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hoorn, NL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Dempsey View Post
I really wanted a Airport Extreme, but I require external access and I use the linksys DYNDNS built in option. I wasn't able to figure out how to dyndns with the Extreme.
If you want dyndns, you probably want it because you want to access a device behind the router, right? In such cases it's easier to install dyndns clients on the device ( e.g. a mac)
klunernet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 02:11 PM   #8
xotoxot
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by klunernet View Post
My setup is quite complex, but my router is a fritz!box 7340. I think that one supports dyndns, as well. (I get a static ip from my ISP)
Hi, I am having similar problems with Bonjour/mDNS: a NAS, printer and airport extreme are all connected to a linksys e3200. The linksys itself is connected by wire to my ADSL modem - the same you have: a fritz!box 7340. Now my iPhone or MAC are unable to find all these devices when they are connected to the fritz!box WiFi (if I connect to the linksys WiFi directly the devices are found). If I reset the fritz!box, for a while my devices are found even if I connect to the WiFi fritz!box, but after a while they 'disappear' again. Once found, I can connect to them even over the fritz!box WiFi.

So I wonder how you got it all to work with your fritz!box....
xotoxot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 12:39 PM   #9
Mactabulous
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
I have a similar scenario with regards to network. However, I can stream sound from iTunes to ATV2, but I cannot use Airplay mirroring (MBA 2012).
Mactabulous is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 06:22 PM   #10
fridgeymonster3
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Dempsey View Post
Ethernet:
- AppleTV (fully updated)
- Macbook Air (fully updated) Mountain Lion (via Thunderbolt Display)
- Mac Pro iTunes server (fully updated) Regular Lion
- Linksys E2000 Router

WiFi:
- Macbook Air (fully updated) Mountain Lion.

Doesn't see the AppleTV for airplay mirroring, doesn't see the AppleTV in itunes. Internet and network still work. Thoughts on how/if this can be resolved?
Ok, I'm going to walk myself through this. When you have your (A) Apple TV, (B) MP, and (C) MBA wired via ethernet through your Linksys E2000 Router, Airplay works with your MBA.

When you have your (A) Apple TV, and (B) MP wired via ethernet through your Linksys E2000 Router, then Airplay DOES NOT work through your MBA?

I'm wondering if the MBA is causing the issue? On my network, I have a Cisco EA2700 and EA4500 and haven't had any problems. Do you have an iPad, iPhone, or other Airplay-enabled Mac product to test Airplay individually? Best would be another Mac laptop, and test it via ethernet and wifi.
__________________
"Even in my sleep-deprived state, I've managed to pull off another one of my classic pranks. BAZINGA!"
fridgeymonster3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 12:45 AM   #11
Sean Dempsey
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Sean Dempsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by fridgeymonster3 View Post
Ok, I'm going to walk myself through this. When you have your (A) Apple TV, (B) MP, and (C) MBA wired via ethernet through your Linksys E2000 Router, Airplay works with your MBA.

When you have your (A) Apple TV, and (B) MP wired via ethernet through your Linksys E2000 Router, then Airplay DOES NOT work through your MBA?

I'm wondering if the MBA is causing the issue? On my network, I have a Cisco EA2700 and EA4500 and haven't had any problems. Do you have an iPad, iPhone, or other Airplay-enabled Mac product to test Airplay individually? Best would be another Mac laptop, and test it via ethernet and wifi.
It was almost certainly a multicast issue with the E2000. I have since replaced it with an Airport Extreme (for various reasons) and it seems ok.
__________________
[Removed for not complying with forum signature rules]
Sean Dempsey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 05:32 AM   #12
terilea
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Unhappy Mac Air WIFI issues

Im having a problem with my wifi, we recently had our router change but the name stayed the same, im unable to get my computer to understand the difference, i deleted the previous name but my interent still wont work.

On the Acer, windows, i just deleted and reloaded the wifi network.

the one stange thing is i do recieve my emails? but i cant go on Safari
terilea is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airplay : wifi only or ethernet ? FrenchPB Apple TV and Home Theater 8 Nov 4, 2013 08:32 AM
Can't Find Network Devices? (And AirPlay) Hrothgar MacBook Pro 3 Feb 18, 2013 03:41 PM
Airplay Problem- Can't mix wired ethernet and wifi devices? same subnet, same network Sean Dempsey OS X 3 Aug 7, 2012 01:27 PM
Some apps and/or routes.VPN through WiFi and others through wired Ethernet? unfrostedpoptar Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 0 Jul 28, 2012 06:10 PM
Increase Available WiFi Bandwidth - Turn the WiFi on Wired Devices Off? silverjam Mac Basics and Help 0 Jun 14, 2012 08:19 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC