Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 4, 2010, 05:03 PM   #26
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by palyons View Post
Rather than deleting the BOOTCAMP partition, created by BootCamp Assistant I chose to format instead
Quote:
Originally Posted by palyons View Post
I actually just used Disk Utility to create the Media partition before I started the installation.
See why I was looking for clarifcation?

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2010, 08:08 PM   #27
palyons
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by balamw View Post
See why I was looking for clarifcation?

B
Right, I get where you're coming from, but all I really meant was that instead of deleting the FAT32(BOOTCAMP) partition I formatted, and also mentioned the BootCamp Utility to avoid confusion, since I'm sure there's a good number of people that wouldn't know how to do the same thing with Disk Utility.
palyons is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2010, 06:12 AM   #28
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by palyons View Post
Right, I get where you're coming from, but all I really meant was that instead of deleting the FAT32(BOOTCAMP) partition I formatted, and also mentioned the BootCamp Utility to avoid confusion, since I'm sure there's a good number of people that wouldn't know how to do the same thing with Disk Utility.
No worries. Thanks for sharing you experience with this surprisingly common issue.

It's just that anyone who doesn't already know what they are doing will not end up where you did by following your original directions. This tends to add confusion rather than avoid it.

In these cases IMHO it is better to omit details rather than make them up, you can always add detail.

B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2011, 11:19 PM   #29
levlumino
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Jakarta,Indonesia
hi all,
i just want to share my problem and how to solve, although this thread was almost 6 months ago.
i have the same exact problem, but i experienced this error after i run Virtual Box and put the dynamic hard drive in my windows partition.
and then i remove the dynamic hard drive in my windows partition and decided to logon using vista.
during booting, i switch using windows partition, and it went restarted on and on.

so i try to find how and try to execute the command that appears in the dialog window.

i just execute the command :
mount -t ntfs -o force /dev/disk0s3 /Volumes

because when i use mount -t ntfs -o force /dev/disk0s3 /Volumes/Untitled,
it show some error.

so here is the result :
Tandhy-MacBook:/ root# mount -t ntfs -o force /dev/disk0s3 /Volumes
kextload: /System/Library/Extensions/ntfs.kext loaded successfully
Tandhy-MacBook:/ root# 63:92: execution error: SystemUIServer got an error: AppleEvent timed out. (-1712)


i can see the volumes mounted in Finder and i can access the file beneath it.
now i want to try log using vista inside it.
levlumino is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2011, 05:01 PM   #30
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by levlumino View Post
i just execute the command :
Code:
mount -t ntfs -o force /dev/disk0s3 /Volumes
This doesn't seem like a good choice. If the system wants to create another mount point for another volume in /Volumes it won't be able to.

If you are mounting it manually, the mount point needs to exist, so you could keep it out of /Volumes altogether and use something like
Code:
mkdir ~/MountPoint
mount -t ntfs -o force /dev/disk0s3 ~/MountPoint
B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 09:34 AM   #31
erieze.lagera
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Cavite, Philippines
Unhappy Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOGGI3 View Post
I've solved my problem. Specifically my problem was this:

I had two partitions as opposed to the one partition GPT was configured to say that I had. I had a 100 MB partition windows 7 created on install plus the 50.5 GB partition. So heres what I did, I used the data from gptsync, as in where the sectors should start and end for each partition, and I used a utility called gdisk, very similar to fdisk, I removed the table for the bootcamp partition, and I created two new ones with the same beginning and end sectors, partition type 0700 for both.

problem solved!!

If anyone needs help resolving this issue and they look to be having the same issue, feel free to contact me via PM, maybe we could even make a video out of it to help others.
I had the same problem like on TOGGI3's, but I can't understand the instruction on his resolution. I'm a newbie on MacOS, can anyone instruct me easily? I'm dying to know how!

Last edited by erieze.lagera; Sep 18, 2012 at 09:35 AM. Reason: Editing subscription.
erieze.lagera is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 06:38 AM   #32
ElectricCoffee
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by erieze.lagera View Post
I had the same problem like on TOGGI3's, but I can't understand the instruction on his resolution. I'm a newbie on MacOS, can anyone instruct me easily? I'm dying to know how!
So, yeah... I have this problem too

I have installed gdisk and I have run the following through the terminal:
Code:
gdisk -l /dev/disk0
this is what I got:
Code:
GPT fdisk (gdisk) version 0.8.5

Partition table scan:
  MBR: hybrid
  BSD: not present
  APM: not present
  GPT: present

Found valid GPT with hybrid MBR; using GPT.
Disk /dev/disk0: 1953525168 sectors, 931.5 GiB
Logical sector size: 512 bytes
Disk identifier (GUID): 147ECF18-4AE8-4BAA-9DA3-F1943134885D
Partition table holds up to 128 entries
First usable sector is 34, last usable sector is 1953525134
Partitions will be aligned on 8-sector boundaries
Total free space is 264621 sectors (129.2 MiB)

Number  Start (sector)    End (sector)  Size       Code  Name
   1              40          409639   200.0 MiB   EF00  EFI System Partition
   2          409640       975018983   464.7 GiB   AF00  Macintosh HD
   3       975282176      1953523711   466.5 GiB   0700  BOOTCAMP
any help on what to do from here?
ElectricCoffee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2013, 11:25 PM   #33
benkenobi
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2009
old thread but here is what needs to be done:
1.use partition inspector that comes with refit to get info on the GPT and MBR tables (they are probably out of sync)
2.use gdisk to manually change the GPT table to match the MBR table.

To use gdisk on main disk do sudo gdisk /dev/disk0. Type ? for list of commands.

So a pair of tables:
Quote:
Current GPT partition table:
# Start LBA End LBA Type
1 40 409639 EFI System (FAT)
2 409640 981876775 Mac OS X HFS+
3 982140928 1953523711 Basic Data

Current MBR partition table:
# A Start LBA End LBA Type
1 1 409639 ee EFI Protective
2 409640 981876775 af Mac OS X HFS+
3 * 981878784 982083583 07 NTFS/HPFS
4 982083584 1953521663 07 NTFS/HPFS
would need to be changed to:

Quote:
Current GPT partition table:
# Start LBA End LBA Type
1 40 409639 EFI System (FAT)
2 409640 981876775 Mac OS X HFS+
3 981878784 982083583 07 Basic Data
4 982083584 1953521663 07 Basic Data

Current MBR partition table:
# A Start LBA End LBA Type
1 1 409639 ee EFI Protective
2 409640 981876775 af Mac OS X HFS+
3 * 981878784 982083583 07 NTFS/HPFS
4 982083584 1953521663 07 NTFS/HPFS

Last edited by benkenobi; Jul 12, 2013 at 06:56 AM.
benkenobi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 06:16 AM   #34
tjkenyon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Now my turn to apologise for bumping the thread.

Recently tried to update my Mac 1.1 to take Mountain Lion - no dice, after trying Jabberwok's walkthrough. The Mac decided not to boot a thing, so I took out the SSD that had his tools on it and went back to Mac OSX Lion.

After a few attempts, my Windows XP (I know!) Bootcamp partition won't boot from the Startup disk, or from holding down Option at bootup. Nor will the Mac boot from a USB stick either.

I've got the GUID and MBR partition tables from gdisk and fdisk respectively - they are as follows:

GUID:
1 - 40 - 409639 EFI
2 - 409640 - 1758222119 Mac 1Tb
3 - 1758484480 - 1953523711 BOOTCAMP

MBR:
1 - 1 - 409639 (Unknown ID)
2 - 40640 - 1757812480 HFS+
3 - 1758484480 - 195039232 Win95 FAT32L
4 - 0 - 0 Unused

I know line 3 on the MBR looks wrong - but that's what it is.

Need help and advice if only to be able to mount the disk and remove some very large 3DS Max files from it.

Sorry - more information to add. BOOTCAMP was set up on my HDD in bay 2, my Mac OS in in bay 1. Until this issue I had no problems whatsoever with this arrangement.

This is an output from Partition Inspector:
*** Report for internal hard disk ***

Current GPT partition table:
# Start LBA End LBA Type
1 40 409639 EFI System (FAT)
2 409640 1952255591 Mac OS X HFS+
3 1952255592 1953525127 Mac OS X Boot

Current MBR partition table:
# A Start LBA End LBA Type
1 1 1953525167 ee EFI Protective

MBR contents:
Boot Code: None

Partition at LBA 40:
Boot Code: None (Non-system disk message)
File System: FAT32
Listed in GPT as partition 1, type EFI System (FAT)

Partition at LBA 409640:
Boot Code: None
File System: HFS Extended (HFS+)
Listed in GPT as partition 2, type Mac OS X HFS+

Partition at LBA 1952255592:
Boot Code: None
File System: HFS Extended (HFS+)
Listed in GPT as partition 3, type Mac OS X Boot

Last edited by tjkenyon; Jul 25, 2013 at 08:38 AM. Reason: Additional information:
tjkenyon is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mavericks security update won't mount EX-FAT drive with my work on it! maigado OS X Mavericks (10.9) 8 Apr 22, 2014 10:44 PM
Boot drive not showing on desktop disasterdrone OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Feb 3, 2014 09:52 PM
Mount Parallels Volume from Boot Camp skallal Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Jan 31, 2014 06:43 PM
Boot problem , not showing hard drive Decembar29 PowerPC Macs 1 Dec 26, 2013 11:06 PM
Fusion Drive and Boot Camp sesnir iMac 26 Sep 14, 2013 01:22 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC