Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 13, 2012, 09:12 AM   #1
M0esmac
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK
RAM problems!

Hello,

My Macbook used to be on 24/7, until one day/night...
Usually when I go to sleep, I just turn off my screens brightness and that's it, its on whole night... Then I woke up one day, wanted to get brightness up and MBP just lagged so much, I had to do hard shut down...
And now I have this problem every morning. It lags and hard shut down is needed.

My Mac is: Early 2011, i7 2.7 GHz, 8GB ram, standard 500GB hdd.

My ram is always just 25%-50% full... Max it goes up to 75% but just then when I turn something like Photoshop or Fireworks.

I think is wayyyyy to early for this Macbook to do things like that...

Any ideas?

Thanks
__________________
H.A.T.E.R.S: Having Anger Towards Everyone Reaching Success.

Last edited by M0esmac; Nov 6, 2012 at 11:05 AM.
M0esmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 09:25 AM   #2
Dolorian
macrumors 65816
 
Dolorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Don't you let the computer go to sleep per the Energy Saver settings? Why do you need to set the brightness up and down?
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" i5 2.5GHz
Google Nexus 7 32GB
Samsung Galaxy S3
Dolorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 09:32 AM   #3
M0esmac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evoken View Post
Don't you let the computer go to sleep per the Energy Saver settings? Why do you need to set the brightness up and down?
Mhm... I just checked energy settings and my 'Put hard disks to sleep when possible' was checked...

By the way, I need computer accessible 24/7, I can't really wait for it to get up for sleep etc.

Here's my settings:

Thumb resize.

I like to control my screen, that's why everything is never... Btw, I don't think this is the problems solver here.
__________________
H.A.T.E.R.S: Having Anger Towards Everyone Reaching Success.
M0esmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 09:39 AM   #4
Queen6
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Behind the Great FireWall and happier for it
Check the free space on the HD it may be running low, if so it will result in the Mac running very slow
Queen6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 09:42 AM   #5
Dolorian
macrumors 65816
 
Dolorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Not sure what may be happening, some suggestions:

- Repair disk permissions, then shut down the computer and turn it on again.
- Check to see if there is a firmware update for your computer that you have yet to install.
- Check for and install every software update. Shut down (not restart) your computer and turn it own again.

Lastly, what software do you have running normally? It is possible that one of them may be causing this issue.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Queen6 View Post
Check the free space on the HD it may be running low, if so it will result in the Mac running very slow
This too.
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" i5 2.5GHz
Google Nexus 7 32GB
Samsung Galaxy S3
Dolorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 10:00 AM   #6
marsmissions
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Washington, US
Quote:
Originally Posted by M0esmac View Post
Mhm... I just checked energy settings and my 'Put hard disks to sleep when possible' was checked...

By the way, I need computer accessible 24/7, I can't really wait for it to get up for sleep etc.

Here's my settings:

Thumb resize.

I like to control my screen, that's why everything is never... Btw, I don't think this is the problems solver here.
Oh? You can't wait half a second for your laptop to wake up?

Lol.
__________________
Blog | Twitter
marsmissions is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 10:07 AM   #7
Dolorian
macrumors 65816
 
Dolorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by marsmissions View Post
Oh? You can't wait half a second for your laptop to wake up?

Lol.
Indeed and it takes about the same time or more to hold the brightness key to turn it up so that he can see the screen.
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" i5 2.5GHz
Google Nexus 7 32GB
Samsung Galaxy S3
Dolorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 10:10 AM   #8
iThinkergoiMac
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Terra
Not sure why you don't want your display to automatically sleep. You say you like to control it, but that's what the sliders are for. So if sleeping the display after 15 minutes is too quick, maybe 2 hours would be better. The display also won't sleep if it's being actively used (like a full-screen movie). Mine sleeps after 30 minutes on power, and I have the upper-right corner set to turn off all the screens on the computer.

FWIW, you are shortening the life of you monitor. Even though the backlight is off, the pixels are still active. You seem concerned with time; a hot corner for turning off your display is much faster. And, I do agree, what makes the couple seconds it takes for your Mac to resume from sleep so impossible to work with? I don't sleep my computer at night either, but that's when it clones itself to my backup drive...

As to the lagging issues: is all your software up to date? Look in Activity Monitor, do you have any processes taking up a lot of your CPU cycles? How full is your internal HDD?
__________________
13" 2009 MBP, 2.26 GHz C2D, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HDD; 2.2 GHz C2D MB, 6 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD; 32 GB iPod Touch 3G
-FWIW, my handle is iThink_ergo_iMac. There seems to be some confusion on this issue.-
iThinkergoiMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 10:12 AM   #9
SchuettS
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by marsmissions View Post
Oh? You can't wait half a second for your laptop to wake up?

Lol.
He likes to control his screen.. I wonder if he means he uses a program like logmein and controls the screen from another device? and can't control it if it is asleep???
SchuettS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 10:14 AM   #10
M0esmac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by marsmissions View Post
Oh? You can't wait half a second for your laptop to wake up?

Lol.
You don't even know what job I'm working, so you should shut up here.

I need to start instantly when I'm on it, not wake up from sleep, then everything lags because I need to open certain app quickly etc.

When it was working properly it was 1 second and it's done, I can do my work.
Now with this bullcrap, it takes almost 2-5 minutes. Shut down, then till it starts, then I open applications which I need.

I'm asking your help to make as it was, not to make fun of nothing.


Quote:
Originally Posted by iThinkergoiMac View Post

As to the lagging issues: is all your software up to date? Look in Activity Monitor, do you have any processes taking up a lot of your CPU cycles? How full is your internal HDD?

All updates up to date. I can't even look at Activity Monitor after night, it would take hour or so to do that.

HDD is full about 70%.
__________________
H.A.T.E.R.S: Having Anger Towards Everyone Reaching Success.
M0esmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 10:17 AM   #11
iThinkergoiMac
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by M0esmac View Post
I'm asking your help to make as it was, not to make fun of nothing.
No one is making fun, your requirements just seem odd. You shouldn't be surprised that there are questions. Also, as I pointed out, you seem to be picking the slow way of doing it anyway, so your pressing need for time seems incongruous.

Have you tried any of the suggestions?
__________________
13" 2009 MBP, 2.26 GHz C2D, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HDD; 2.2 GHz C2D MB, 6 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD; 32 GB iPod Touch 3G
-FWIW, my handle is iThink_ergo_iMac. There seems to be some confusion on this issue.-
iThinkergoiMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 10:21 AM   #12
M0esmac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by iThinkergoiMac View Post
No one is making fun, your requirements just seem odd. You shouldn't be surprised that there are questions. Also, as I pointed out, you seem to be picking the slow way of doing it anyway, so your pressing need for time seems incongruous.

Have you tried any of the suggestions?
Havent done Repair Disk Permissions as I don't have time to do that.

By the way all the computer performance is down... Now even the ScreenFlow lags while I'm editing... Safari lags if I have 2-3 tabs and one of them is with Flash like YouTube.
__________________
H.A.T.E.R.S: Having Anger Towards Everyone Reaching Success.
M0esmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 10:25 AM   #13
Dolorian
macrumors 65816
 
Dolorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by M0esmac View Post
Havent done Repair Disk Permissions as I don't have time to do that.
You can just leave it running in the background.
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" i5 2.5GHz
Google Nexus 7 32GB
Samsung Galaxy S3
Dolorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 10:27 AM   #14
M0esmac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evoken View Post
You can just leave it running in the background.
I did that year ago, had to shut down with button. Don't want it again.
__________________
H.A.T.E.R.S: Having Anger Towards Everyone Reaching Success.
M0esmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 10:30 AM   #15
marsmissions
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Washington, US
You're obviously trolling us.
__________________
Blog | Twitter
marsmissions is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 10:34 AM   #16
iThinkergoiMac
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by M0esmac View Post
I did that year ago, had to shut down with button. Don't want it again.
Never had an issue like that myself. Just because it did it once doesn't mean it will again.

So, you've made sure that all your software is up to date? You've made sure your HDD is not full? You've checked Activity Monitor for runaway processes?
__________________
13" 2009 MBP, 2.26 GHz C2D, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HDD; 2.2 GHz C2D MB, 6 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD; 32 GB iPod Touch 3G
-FWIW, my handle is iThink_ergo_iMac. There seems to be some confusion on this issue.-
iThinkergoiMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 10:43 AM   #17
M0esmac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by iThinkergoiMac View Post

So, you've made sure that all your software is up to date? You've made sure your HDD is not full? You've checked Activity Monitor for runaway processes?
Did everything like you said.

Thumb resize.
__________________
H.A.T.E.R.S: Having Anger Towards Everyone Reaching Success.
M0esmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 11:16 AM   #18
iThinkergoiMac
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Terra
Hmm, this is beginning to look like a tough nut to crack. Your CPU usage looks fine. Your memory usage isn't overly bad, though maybe a little high. Certainly not enough to cause the kind of lag you're experiencing. Are you running Lion or Mountain Lion?
__________________
13" 2009 MBP, 2.26 GHz C2D, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HDD; 2.2 GHz C2D MB, 6 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD; 32 GB iPod Touch 3G
-FWIW, my handle is iThink_ergo_iMac. There seems to be some confusion on this issue.-
iThinkergoiMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 11:38 AM   #19
Sital
macrumors 65816
 
Sital's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New England
Quote:
Originally Posted by M0esmac View Post
By the way, I need computer accessible 24/7, I can't really wait for it to get up for sleep etc.
If it's really that critical for your system to be instantly accessible 24/7, you definitely need to have a backup system at the ready. That way you could spend time troubleshooting your problem or at least be able to verify/repair the disk and permissions.
__________________
"I'd rather good people trust me than bad people fear me."
Sital is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 11:43 AM   #20
MaxPower72
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Chicago, Illinois, Crooks County
That's Macbook abuse!
get an SSD so the boot timeis reduced under 10 seconds and your MBP can sleep...
__________________
Macbook Pro 15.4" i7 Quad. 2.7 Ghz. 16 Gb RAM, SSD Samsung 830 1 Tb Raid 0
Macbook Pro 13.3" Core 2 Duo 2.4 Ghz. 8 GB RAM, 250 Gb HDD
iPod Touch 4 gen 64 GB iPhone 4S 16 GB
My iWife
MaxPower72 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 11:57 AM   #21
NutsNGum
macrumors 68030
 
NutsNGum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by marsmissions View Post
You're obviously trolling us.
Seconded, times one million.

The OP is clearly talking out of his arse.
NutsNGum is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 12:00 PM   #22
AZREOSpecialist
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by M0esmac View Post
Hello,

My Macbook used to be on 24/7, until one day/night...
Usually when I go to sleep, I just turn off my screens brightness and that's it, its on whole night... Then I woke up one day, wanted to get brightness up and MBP just lagged so much, I had to do hard shut down...
And now I have this problem every morning. It lags and hard shut down is needed.

My Mac is: Early 2011, i7 2.7 GHz, 8GB ram, standard 500GB hdd.

My ram is always just 25%-50% full... Max it goes up to 75% but just then when I turn something like Photoshop or Fireworks.

I think is wayyyyy to early for this Macbook to do things like that...

Any ideas?

Thanks
My suggestion is to sell it.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro Quad Xeon W3580 @ 3.3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB RAID 5/RocketRAID 4320, Corsair P256 SSD Boot Drive, EVGA GTX-285
2012 MacBook Pro Retina 2.6 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD
AZREOSpecialist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2012, 02:42 PM   #23
M0esmac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by iThinkergoiMac View Post
Hmm, this is beginning to look like a tough nut to crack. Your CPU usage looks fine. Your memory usage isn't overly bad, though maybe a little high. Certainly not enough to cause the kind of lag you're experiencing. Are you running Lion or Mountain Lion?
Its Mountain Lion.

First three months - perfect. It was even faster after Lion.
__________________
H.A.T.E.R.S: Having Anger Towards Everyone Reaching Success.
M0esmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 11:08 AM   #24
M0esmac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK
Hello everyone... Renamed the thread just that you can see what problems I have already and what pain in the a** I have also...

After I browse 3-4 hours. No matter what I do - its the same every day.



Some suggestions please?
__________________
H.A.T.E.R.S: Having Anger Towards Everyone Reaching Success.
M0esmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 11:24 AM   #25
cookiesnfooty
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Harrogate
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by M0esmac View Post
Hello everyone... Renamed the thread just that you can see what problems I have already and what pain in the a** I have also...

After I browse 3-4 hours. No matter what I do - its the same every day.

Image

Some suggestions please?
What have you got open on safari? Have you tried installing click2flash (assuming this is flash building the usage), seems to be a browser issue from RAM usage.
__________________
Iphone 5s 64GB Silver, Macbook pro 2011 16GB RAM & 1.02TB SSD RAID.
Apple OS X 10.9.3 & Windows 8.1 Virtual Machine

"I miss you Steve"....
cookiesnfooty is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM problems with nMP Captain Click Mac Pro 24 Mar 25, 2014 08:54 PM
Problems of upgrading RAM mikethebook Mac mini 4 Dec 7, 2013 03:32 PM
Macbook Pro problems with RAM?! FMcgee Mac Basics and Help 1 Jun 30, 2013 06:48 PM
problems + SSD/RAM upgrade BlueInGreene MacBook Pro 5 Sep 6, 2012 10:11 AM
RAM Problems 2011 iMac ghsNick iMac 15 Jul 12, 2012 11:09 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC