Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 11, 2012, 07:11 AM   #1
bolisaf
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Mountain Lion has long boot time between apple logo and desktop

hi!

i've had mountain lion since it came out and quite happy with it.

but since about a week or 2 during bootup, after the spinning wheel stops turning and the mouse shows up in the upper left hand corner, it hangs there for about 10-15 seconds before the desktop shows up.
during this time i can use the mouse, but all that shows is the apple logo..

now i've made sure that no applications are to be relaunched after restart.. so the question here is: what's it busy doing during between the apple logo and the desktop? and more importantly: how can i fix it back to the way it was? it used to be a fraction of a second between the two, and now it seems to take forever!

ps: i've a macbook pro 2010 i5 8gb (but since it worked fine before, i don't think that has anything to do with it)

thanks in advance,
lars
bolisaf is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 08:57 AM   #2
Xagoth
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Unhappy

[QUOTE=bolisaf;15626838]hi!

but since about a week or 2 during bootup, after the spinning wheel stops turning and the mouse shows up in the upper left hand corner, it hangs there for about 10-15 seconds before the desktop shows up.
during this time i can use the mouse, but all that shows is the apple logo..


Hi.
I'm having that same issue. I did a clean install and after the spinning wheels stops (on apple logo) the mouse cursor appears and i'm able to move him. It takes 10-15 seconds to enter to desktop.

I don't know if this is normal, but i didn't had this issue on SL...

Did you manage to fix this?

Thanks!
Xagoth

(Sorry for my english)
Xagoth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 09:50 AM   #3
Krazy Bill
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Are you restoring apps from your last session? It takes time for OSX to reload your previous state. Also, those startup apps in your account login will take some time to load.

That said, you can check to make sure you have the right disk selected in "start up disk" (found in system preferences).
Krazy Bill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 10:43 AM   #4
Xagoth
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Hi Krazy Bill,

I'm not restoring apps from last session, and i don't have any items in login account.

I tried, everything: reset SMC, reset PRAM, clear install, upgrade install, repair permission, and other stuff that i saw in other forums.

Im writing in this one because i didn't see a post like this, and this is exactly what happens to me: The apple logo (after spinning wheel) and mouse, after ≈10 seconds the desktop with a delayed dock...

Maybe it's a normal issue, but does not looks right. Seems like a unnecessary routine...

Last edited by Xagoth; Nov 6, 2012 at 06:57 PM.
Xagoth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 11:04 AM   #5
NewishMacGuy
macrumors 6502a
 
NewishMacGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
A hybrid or ssd drive update will fix that.
__________________
2010 i3 iMac-21.5 | 2011 uMBP-15 | 2011 uMBP-13 | iBookG4-12 | 2x ATV 1G | 2x iPhone 1G | 2x iPhone 3GS | 2x iPhone 4S | iPhone 5s | 2x iPod 5.5G | iPod Photo | iPod 2G | 2x iPad 3
NewishMacGuy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 11:22 AM   #6
Xagoth
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I understand that, but if that is the solution i prefer to go back to SL, and dump the iCloud

To bad we can take money back from AppStore.

Thanks for your replies!

Last edited by Xagoth; Nov 6, 2012 at 11:29 AM.
Xagoth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 11:48 AM   #7
Krazy Bill
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xagoth View Post
I understand that, but if that is the solution i prefer to go back to SL, and dump the iCloud
Keep in mind SL will only be as good as the life of your current machine. Once it dies, SL can't be installed on anything newer.

I'm on SL but am currently trying to make ML bend to my will. (god help me ).
Krazy Bill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 12:00 PM   #8
Xagoth
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Yes i know. I'm running a MBP 8,1 (2011).

If you want to go to ML think carefully .
Xagoth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 05:56 PM   #9
nyolc8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
same happening here
nyolc8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 05:59 PM   #10
NitroZip
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Apple does this to eventually force you to buy new hardware.
NitroZip is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 06:54 PM   #11
Xagoth
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroZip View Post
Apple does this to eventually force you to buy new hardware.
Unfortunately you might be (are) right...
Xagoth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 07:00 AM   #12
Xagoth
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyolc8 View Post
same happening here
It still happening or you manage to find a fix?
Xagoth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 07:45 AM   #13
nyolc8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
nope, and I have the slow shutdown issue too. In Lion these were fast.
nyolc8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 08:32 AM   #14
Xagoth
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
As for shutdown, i tried this:
https://discussions.apple.com/thread...rt=60&tstart=0

for now it have worked...
Xagoth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 07:29 AM   #15
nyolc8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xagoth View Post
As for shutdown, i tried this:
https://discussions.apple.com/thread...rt=60&tstart=0

for now it have worked...
Thanks! Works nicely for me too
nyolc8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 03:33 PM   #16
planetshaker
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Same here, but: today I changed my SSD from Intel to Samsung and cloned everything on it to the new one. When the new one is in my macbook, I see exactly the same issue. After the Apple logo, the cursor is in the left top corner, additionnally the colourful spinning wheel appears and, most strangely, the fans gets extremely loud. 10-15 seconds later, the desktop is visible and the fans go back down again.

Last edited by planetshaker; Nov 28, 2012 at 03:45 PM.
planetshaker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 04:37 PM   #17
planetshaker
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Hm, strange. I had Google Drive installed. Deleted it and uninstalled the Google Updater, too. Booted in safe mode, did nothing there, shut down, waited 12 seconds, switched my macbook on - and everything works for the last 5 boots. Let's check how long this will work.
planetshaker is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Tags
boot time, mountain lion, slow

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shut down time became too long on Mountain Lion jincheker MacBook Air 13 Oct 28, 2012 02:08 PM
2012 MBA with Mountain Lion installed takes long time to shut down slumpey326 MacBook Air 10 Oct 16, 2012 09:36 PM
How long will it take Apple to ship their MacBooks with Mountain Lion installed? mac.fanatic OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Sep 6, 2012 11:21 AM
How long will Apple bother to support Mountain Lion? Puevlo OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Jul 27, 2012 07:09 AM
Apple logo takes long to show on boot up BNHabs MacBook Air 3 Jun 22, 2012 05:14 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC