Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 6, 2012, 05:18 PM   #1
Zerozal
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: PA
Strange symbol in status bar: AT&T network

Have any of you seen this symbol in the status bar, or know what it means? I'm on AT&T and have seen "E" for Edge, 3G, 4G, and LTE, but today was the first time I've seen this--looks like an "o". Any ideas?
Attached Images
 
__________________
2009 Mac Pro 2.93 Quad, 12GB RAM, 300GB Velociraptor, 2x 1TB WD Caviar Blacks in RAID 0, ATI 5870, 24" LED Cinema Display, iPhone 6, iPad Air
Zerozal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 05:20 PM   #2
jatt559
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerozal View Post
have any of you seen this symbol in the status bar, or know what it means? I'm on at&t and have seen "e" for edge, 3g, 4g, and lte, but today was the first time i've seen this--looks like an "o". Any ideas?
gprs
jatt559 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 05:21 PM   #3
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: The New World
It's a step below the Edge network, basically, you have no data connection that is worthwhile.
__________________
SandboxGeneral is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 05:24 PM   #4
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
That is sad. Where was that at?
GoCubsGo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 06:41 PM   #5
Zerozal
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: PA
Ah, GPRS. Thanks, that makes sense. Something must be wonky today, because normally it's 4G. Philly suburbs (Montgomery County PA).
__________________
2009 Mac Pro 2.93 Quad, 12GB RAM, 300GB Velociraptor, 2x 1TB WD Caviar Blacks in RAID 0, ATI 5870, 24" LED Cinema Display, iPhone 6, iPad Air
Zerozal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 11:02 PM   #6
xraydoc
macrumors Demi-God
 
xraydoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 192.168.1.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zerozal View Post
Ah, GPRS. Thanks, that makes sense. Something must be wonky today, because normally it's 4G. Philly suburbs (Montgomery County PA).
Yep. 2G symbol.
__________________
3.5GHz i7 27" iMac Surface Pro 3 i5 2.5GHz i5 Mac mini + 27" Thunderbolt display iPhone 6 Plus
xraydoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 11:05 PM   #7
AlphaDogg
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boulder, CO
GPRS delivers something like 2kbps. It's useless.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by xraydoc View Post
Yep. 2G symbol.
Nope, it's actually the G symbol. The 2G symbol is E (for EDGE).
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 6 64GB | iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 8GB
אין חשיש בקולורדו
AlphaDogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 11:08 PM   #8
thejadedmonkey
macrumors 604
 
thejadedmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pa
Send a message via AIM to thejadedmonkey
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zerozal View Post
Ah, GPRS. Thanks, that makes sense. Something must be wonky today, because normally it's 4G. Philly suburbs (Montgomery County PA).
I was in Harleysville, and my girlfriend had the same problem this morning (on Verizon), and I noticed that FioS was slow as... high speed cable!

I just chalked it up to Sandy's effects still reverberating in the area. One of my friends down the road didn't get power back until the night of the 4th, so I wouldn't be surprised if some cell towers are still out too.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaDogg View Post
GPRS delivers something like 2kbps. It's useless.

----------



Nope, it's actually the G symbol. The 2G symbol is E (for EDGE).
Edge is also quite capable for playing World of Warcraft on :P
__________________
MacBook 17" MacBook Pro iPod Nano Apple TV
PS4 Custom Windows 8.1 Desktop WP8.1
"Good judgment comes from experience,
experience comes from bad judgment."
- Mulla Nasrudin
thejadedmonkey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 11:11 PM   #9
AlphaDogg
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boulder, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejadedmonkey View Post
Edge is also quite capable for playing World of Warcraft on :P
EDGE (Enhanced Data rates for GSM Evolution) is pretty good. I used it for a while before I got my 3GS. It was a good day if I was getting 150kbps on that phone
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 6 64GB | iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 8GB
אין חשיש בקולורדו
AlphaDogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 11:32 PM   #10
xraydoc
macrumors Demi-God
 
xraydoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 192.168.1.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaDogg View Post
GPRS delivers something like 2kbps. It's useless.

----------



Nope, it's actually the G symbol. The 2G symbol is E (for EDGE).
Edge is a "2.5G" technology. 1G would be voice-only; no data. You can get data on GPRS, though barely at dial-up speeds. At least this is how I understand it.
__________________
3.5GHz i7 27" iMac Surface Pro 3 i5 2.5GHz i5 Mac mini + 27" Thunderbolt display iPhone 6 Plus
xraydoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 11:51 PM   #11
AlphaDogg
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boulder, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by xraydoc View Post
Edge is a "2.5G" technology. 1G would be voice-only; no data. You can get data on GPRS, though barely at dial-up speeds. At least this is how I understand it.
Hmmm my understanding is different than yours. Wikipedia agrees with you. I'd put more energy into researching this if it wasn't 10pm and I still had stuff to do.
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 6 64GB | iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 8GB
אין חשיש בקולורדו
AlphaDogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 12:12 AM   #12
dictoresno
macrumors 68020
 
dictoresno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NJ
i dont know why apple decided to us the "o" symbol for 2G. why not just use a "G" or "1X" like every other phone since 2001 has done.
__________________
Verizon iPhone 6, 128GB Space Grey
iPad Mini 16GB Black, iPad 1 32 GB Black
iPod Touch 4th Generation 64GB Black
dictoresno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 12:29 AM   #13
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
1xRTT is different from GPRS. Does it use "o" for 1x as well? I can't test it myself; 1x has been eradicated here
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 12:50 AM   #14
xraydoc
macrumors Demi-God
 
xraydoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 192.168.1.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nermal View Post
1xRTT is different from GPRS. Does it use "o" for 1x as well? I can't test it myself; 1x has been eradicated here
It does use "o" for 1xRTT (CDMA). And like GPRS, you can get data on 1xRTT but it's painfully slow.
__________________
3.5GHz i7 27" iMac Surface Pro 3 i5 2.5GHz i5 Mac mini + 27" Thunderbolt display iPhone 6 Plus
xraydoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 04:02 AM   #15
stuaz
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
A very familiar symbol when I am inside with cruddy O2 (UK).
stuaz is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 09:38 AM   #16
hexonxonx
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver Colorado
I get the same thing 24/7 on my 4S on Verizon while I am at home. I basically have to use my 3GS on AT&T to make a call while I am here. 90% of calls drop here on Verizon.

If I don't turn on airplane mode on the 4S while I am at home, the battery will drain in half a day while I have that o.
hexonxonx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 02:20 PM   #17
mattroman246
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Upstate NY
GPRS, fastest of the fast
__________________
13" Macbook Pro, 2.3 GHZ i5, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD
16 GB Space Grey iPhone 6
64 GB iPad Air 2 WiFi
Game Center ID: matthewdanger
mattroman246 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 6

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: What is this symbol in status bar (LockInfo possibly)? HasoMujo Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Oct 11, 2013 10:47 AM
Strange status bar bug Am3r1ca16 iOS 7 5 Jul 29, 2013 04:59 PM
iPhone: What is this status bar symbol? Lend27 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 11 Feb 10, 2013 12:40 PM
Wifi works but symbol doesn't show on status bar LaynieGorilla iPhone 2 Dec 30, 2012 05:08 PM
Strange symbol in my menu bar. jbrown iOS 6 13 Nov 1, 2012 07:54 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC