Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 6, 2012, 05:58 PM   #26
brianbunge
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by JAT View Post
Just like Flash, my advice is to stay with a stable version if you find it. It's not like they are rolling out cool new features every quarter.

----------


Should be. Plenty of ways to get the video in a proper format for iPad/streaming, EyeTV even offers some automatic conversion ability. I haven't used it myself, but I know some do.
My biggest issue is getting the content to TV's in other rooms. I'm in a townhouse so there's no way to run cabling throughout the unit to get an antenna signal to multiple rooms/DVR's. Otherwise I'd probably just buy Tivo units for each room. But if I can make this work with what I've got then that would be perfect. Then I'd just need to purchase an antenna and a couple of HDHomeRuns...
brianbunge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 06:03 PM   #27
JAT
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mpls, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianbunge View Post
My biggest issue is getting the content to TV's in other rooms. I'm in a townhouse so there's no way to run cabling throughout the unit to get an antenna signal to multiple rooms/DVR's. Otherwise I'd probably just buy Tivo units for each room. But if I can make this work with what I've got then that would be perfect. Then I'd just need to purchase an antenna and a couple of HDHomeRuns...
Well, you said Airplay. So then you just need a compatible format to send, hence my comment.

But...does this place have prewiring for cable? You could make use of that for an antenna. I find Tivo much less of a hassle than EyeTV, I have both.
__________________
-- Spiky
JAT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 06:06 PM   #28
brianbunge
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by JAT View Post
Well, you said Airplay. So then you just need a compatible format to send, hence my comment.

But...does this place have prewiring for cable? You could make use of that for an antenna. I find Tivo much less of a hassle than EyeTV, I have both.
Yes, it's already pre-wired for cable, but I cannot install an external antenna. So I'd have to use something inside the living room or one of the bedrooms upstairs. Since U-verse sends the signal from the single DVR out to the distribution panel outside the unit maybe it would work ok with sending the antenna signal to the other two rooms as well. I'd just have to try it out and see I guess.
brianbunge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 01:57 AM   #29
rbrian
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
It seems like what you're asking for is Sky+, or Freesat+

Sky boxes may not work in Germany, I believe they need a phone line connection, but Freesat+ boxes should be fine. I had a Humax FoxSat HDR for a while, until I moved to a flat with no dish but a good aerial. Then I got a Humax Freeview+ box. They're not cheap, and the software is a little clunky, but functional. You can even plug in an external hard drive and use a basic file explorer to archive your recordings (SD only). You can then play them back using VLC on your Mac, should you want to.
__________________
2011 Mac mini; iPad mini retina 128GB; iPhone 6 128GB; Apple TV3
rbrian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 03:44 AM   #30
SpinalTap
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Birmingham, UK
Setting aside the EyeTV issue...

...for switching between German and UK television channels, I use NetShade on my Mac Mini for watching otherwise 'blocked' content from other territories (although it doesn't work for watching Formula 1 on RTL for some reason).

http://www.raynersoftware.com/netshade/
__________________
My Mac can go all the way up to XI
SpinalTap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 06:17 AM   #31
EvilC5
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hanover MD
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianbunge View Post
My biggest issue is getting the content to TV's in other rooms. I'm in a townhouse so there's no way to run cabling throughout the unit to get an antenna signal to multiple rooms/DVR's. Otherwise I'd probably just buy Tivo units for each room. But if I can make this work with what I've got then that would be perfect. Then I'd just need to purchase an antenna and a couple of HDHomeRuns...
this was more or less my reason when I started this whole thing only i just didnt want to have to pay for additional cable boxes.

I was able to stream live tv to my ipad, then airplay to my tv in different rooms. Then when streaming live tv broke, I started looking for other options.

I set up my basement with HDMI over cat6, and ran 2 100 foot cables from my living room into my utility area in my basement then across to my tv which got live tv to my basement only had to watch what was on upstairs which created issues. then with 10.8 and airplay mirroring, i can stream from my office where I have the cable box and EyeTV located now to any of my ATV2/3's which is a pretty good 90 percent solution, and im not just limited to itunes formatted media, i can do mkv's and such. plus I have a mini in my basement as well in case I want to transfer a movie down there to get DTS.
__________________
24" iMac 2.8ghz, 17" MBP, 2.66 Mac Mini Server
2 i5 Mac Mini's, 15 inch MBP i7 2.66
2 160GB TV's 5 TV2. 16GB ipad2 white
iPhone 4, 4s, and 5.....the ihome!
EvilC5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Mini recording -- USB 2.0 interfaces with USB 3.0 ports RT81 Mac mini 16 Jun 1, 2014 10:30 AM
iPad Mini: Display Recording on iPad Mini Seaburyking95 iPad 0 Aug 1, 2013 11:52 AM
What do you use for DAW recording and playback on Mac mini? kristenanne77 Mac mini 4 Jan 4, 2013 11:54 AM
Mac Mini for Recording electricdreams Mac mini 1 Jan 3, 2013 12:27 AM
Yamaha MG206c USB to Mac Mini (Live Recording) frostbyte32 Digital Audio 2 Oct 1, 2012 07:00 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC