Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 5, 2012, 03:43 PM   #1
elvis12
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
how to increase speed on 5 ghz network

Hi
So I have a new mba, atv2 and an airport extreme. I have created a 5 ghz network for these items only. I must say I was disappointed when using mirroring from my mba to atv while playing a 720p-video. I experienced lagging and some stops nīgo.

Any settings or so to speed this up? Or any way I can check the rate? What are your experiences with 720p-videoes? Would buying an atv3 help?

Thanks
elvis12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 04:43 PM   #2
waw74
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: May 2008
chances are it's the mirroring, and not the network.

mirroring will never give you smooth playback as what you see on your screen. as the video card has to convert the whole image, and send it off to the aTV.


if you alt-click the wifi icon in the OSX title bar, you can see the connect speed. it's under transmit rate, the number is in Kb/s
waw74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 07:06 PM   #3
gcmexico
macrumors 6502a
 
gcmexico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New York City
Same issue with me

I created 2 channels and it seems the 2ghz is way faster than the 5ghz...this is across the board not just mirroring...any suggestion would be great
__________________
Too many Apple devices to list
gcmexico is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 07:10 PM   #4
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Qos.
Mrbobb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 07:33 PM   #5
waw74
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by gcmexico View Post
I created 2 channels and it seems the 2ghz is way faster than the 5ghz...this is across the board not just mirroring...any suggestion would be great
2ghz goes through things (like walls) better than 5, so if there's a wall or two in the way, you could expect to see that.
waw74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 11:44 PM   #6
lostless
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by waw74 View Post
2ghz goes through things (like walls) better than 5, so if there's a wall or two in the way, you could expect to see that.
What he said. 5gz in my home network is faster, but I can barley get it to cover my home. If i just go outside (2 walls), the signal dies quite quickly. To get a bit of extra speed. Put the apple TV on the 2.4Ghz network and your MBA on the 5GHZ or visa versa. The bandwidth will almost double in theory, because they act as 2 separate wireless networks each with its full bandwidth. Its like having 2 wireless data "pipes". When putting everything on the 5Ghz, you share the bandwidth for both. So the data comes out of the mac book air to the router, then back out to the apple TV all using the same wireless "pipe". And the data can only go in 1 direction at a time.
lostless is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 02:31 AM   #7
elvis12
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by lostless View Post
What he said. 5gz in my home network is faster, but I can barley get it to cover my home. If i just go outside (2 walls), the signal dies quite quickly. To get a bit of extra speed. Put the apple TV on the 2.4Ghz network and your MBA on the 5GHZ or visa versa. The bandwidth will almost double in theory, because they act as 2 separate wireless networks each with its full bandwidth. Its like having 2 wireless data "pipes". When putting everything on the 5Ghz, you share the bandwidth for both. So the data comes out of the mac book air to the router, then back out to the apple TV all using the same wireless "pipe". And the data can only go in 1 direction at a time.
Wow, didn't know this! I'll try! Thanks!

Btw, the atv and aextreme are quite close to eachother -- would it help cabling the atv?
elvis12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 03:04 AM   #8
steve-p
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newbury, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis12 View Post
Wow, didn't know this! I'll try! Thanks!

Btw, the atv and aextreme are quite close to eachother -- would it help cabling the atv?
Yes. ATV seems to give much more stable performance on wired connections in my experience. Even 200mbps powerline adapters work great when it's too far or too inconvenient for an ethernet cable. Also it's removing one device from the wireless network which helps free up bandwidth for other wireless devices.
steve-p is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 06:06 PM   #9
JAT
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mpls, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrbobb View Post
Qos.
From an Airport?
__________________
-- Spiky
JAT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 09:06 AM   #10
gcmexico
macrumors 6502a
 
gcmexico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New York City
great suggestions and info

I tried the dual channels... but it was never stable...I decided to go back to automatic setting based on what was posted...working smoothly now no hiccups... put most of my devices on 2ghz....my iMac media center is on the 5gz
thanks guys!
__________________
Too many Apple devices to list
gcmexico is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC